We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special for the soul.”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something special for the soul.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about Sawasdee Village is amazing; from the hospitality extended to us from all the staff right down to the intricate architecture and designs that make the place. As an artist, it was amazing to see so much put into such a cosy place, making it seem surreal as though we were in our own mini palace. Both the Garden and Villas are truly amazing. We're the kind of travelers who like to experience rich culture so this is definitly a very amazing place to relax and unwind; an extravagant treat for the soul!

Getting around was alright, considering they have a free hourly shuttle service to Kata Beach and taxi/tuk tuk drivers don't try to rip you off if you need to get around, there's a price list chart so you can check the market rates before you hop on.

Highly recommend to anyone who would want peace and quiet instead of shopping and exploring. Well, that's what we went there for and Sawasdee Village is the perfect place; words are truly not enough to describe how amazing it is. You'll need to be there and experience it for yourself! Definitly going back again!!!

Room Tip: We did request for rooms that had privacy and we have no complaints! (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuriTse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us - that would be our honor to serve you our hospitality service, and we can't wait to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    315
    105
    37
    21
See reviews for
149
731
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff and the hotel surroundings are perfect, the staff are polite and always greet with a smile. Breakfast is plentiful and has a wide range of choices and goes on till half 10 which is nicer than most places which finish earlier. The only downfall I found was the room is quite dark and does not receive much light, but this is a minor problem, Mosquitos are also quite a problem but the hotel does well with spraying the rooms regularly and providing free mosquito spray.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your candid review on TripAdvisor and your kind understanding of the mosquito regarding to our tropical surrounding. We do hope to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sawasdee was one of the best hotels my partner and I stayed at in Thailand. The private villa bedrooms, the great breakfast buffet and Thai restaurant all the way to the beautiful pool area, Sawasdee really did a great job at making us feel the Thai service. It was luxurious and while it was within walking distance to the beach and nightlife, it still felt secluded like we were in the jungle. Didn't love the mosquitos but Sawasdee provided spray if you forgot yours and tiger balm if the spray didn't work/wore off. I'm not sure we would go back to Phuket but Sawasdee could lure us back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be very appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us. We would love to have you with us again and looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

After being stingy with our hotels throughout Asia, we splurged on a 2 night stay at Sawasdee Village. This place was amazing! from the moment you walk down their tropical pathway to the reception, i knew we were in for a treat! the front desk has good english and are more than helpful with check in, check out, and arranging airport transfer (about an hour, 900B for an outside taxi). they even give you a nice little picture keepsake!

the grounds are absolutely beautiful! a mix of thai and moroccan flair, with tropical foliage, lanterns, wooden walking platforms, and giant birdcage like swinging lounge chairs. even the walkway to the restaurant is suspended over a beautiful koi pond. but the centerpiece is the pool! i never hang out at hotel pools, but nearly spent our entire daylight hours lounging by this tropical paradise! swim up bar, tropical plants and water fountains surround the pool. it is by far one of the best pools i've ever seen.

the included breakfast was a spectacular buffet of asian and western food, and plenty of it! the coffee is strong and did i mention Nutella? they have a jar of it, and for people like us who don't treat ourselves to sweets, this was an awesome treat for us!

the rooms were absolutely charming and romantic! with a sheer, gold speckled mosquito net draped over the bed (you don't need it, but they caution that mosquitos are frequent in thailand), it made us feel like royalty. in room PC's, free wifi throughout, fresh fruit, 4 free water bottles per day, large soaps, coffee and/or tea, mini fridge, closet safe, umbrella's, good toilet paper, rain shower, cute little patio porch....i could go on and on! and the beds were dreamily comfortable! so if we pay 17 US dollar/night lodging, we get just that. BUT if we pay 100 US/night, we get the Sawasdee Village. it's nice to have a more reserved crowd of people instead of bunking with the heavy drunk crowds of patong beach.

btw....they spray for mosquitos every night and they play a very tranquil, low key music throughout the grounds. as for location, it is a short walk to kata beach or they have a shuttle that leaves every hour from the hotel to the beach. also within 5 minute walk to plenty of shopping, dining, and everything else!

it was beautiful, amazing and if we weren't middle class Americans, we would be happy to stay here forever!

Room Tip: i don't think it matters! they all seem perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trav_eler31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and we absolutley loved it. A great hotel because it had great staff, lovely pool and surroundings and room was brilliant too. The staff were so attentive and polite, nothing is too much trouble.The free shuttle to the beach was convenient and the breakfast had a wide selection of well prepared food. We ate in the restaurant one night, it was a little more expensive than other local restaurats but worth it for a treat as the food, atmosphere and service was superior. We visited the spa twice and both times, there was a wide coice of treatments and it was a relaxing experience and we got a discount as we were staying at the hotel. Would definetly say here again! Can't wait to go back, definetly one of the best holidays I have been on.

Room Tip: Some rooms are next to the pool and others are in a seperate area, so depends what you want, seperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ty2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be very nice to hear that you have a great time with us and definitely come back - we can't wait to welcome you back.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to this place on a whim and it was very nice. We went mostly based on how it looked in the pics, a mix of Thai and Moroccan (?) But very nice decor in any event. The staff are very nice and speak good english, very helpful. Off the bat I was kind of suprised it was wedged on a busy street in what kind of what looks like a dumpy area, but once you go inside the main entrance, it envelopes you in the property. Lots of little places to sit and hangout, in the public areas, they are big on swings so there are a bunch. Very cool 'library' with couches that are swings and pillows all over...very cool. The pool was nice, saltwater, and one of the highlights of the stay. For the actual room, I found it a bit small for what I was expecting, but a king bed, comfortable and rain shower big enough for two. Hot water was lacking the first day, but by the second after I said something it was fixed soon after. I would be apprehensive about staying there more than a long weekend for the room size. But you arent going to spend much in it anyways. Restaurant was great! Great breakfast with US, Europe, and Asian foods on the buffet. And the lunch and dinner menus were great tasting and reasonably priced. And once again, the restaurant ambiance was very cool! One of my favorite little things, with any coffee you get, they give you four, yes 4, types of sugar to choose from! I loved it! I would like to go there for a long weekend and never leave the property, wish there was one in Singapore! About 15min walk from the beach, or they have a shuttle we didnt use. Recommend for couples for 2-4days.

Room Tip: The ones on the back of the property are quieter, all have sitting areas outside them, there are sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ1221294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your long weekend.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful gardens with a tranquil ambience. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Food was lovely with a stunning setting and spa treatment were really good too.
The only thing is the rooms were quite small and dark but forgivable because everything else was stunning!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OrianaErbenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you are satisfied with our garden and service. We hope to welcome you back for you next holiday.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing