We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstainding In every way”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I don't often return to a place or hotel this one will be an exception . Was gob smacked how stunningly beautiful this place is . Have not got a bad word about the place . From the staff the pool the room /food / spa . Would highly recommend this as a honeymoon resort .
If you have ever been to Jim thompsons house Bangkok just add a swimming pool great food and a spa

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.
Once again, Thank you very much for choosing us and we are looking forward for your next stay !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for Sawasdee Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful you will find in Phuket. Quiet, cozy and great service. Breakfast was excellent. The spa is amazing and the location is great if you want to stay away fron the craziness of Patong, within walking distance of restaurants, the beach (they also have a shuttle), and shops.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you very much for choosing us and we are looking forward for your next stay !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of the month. The price I paid was too much compared to what you get. Breakfast was included daily in the rates and there was a wide selection of food so I can't complain about that.

The room was well equipped but incredibly small. The balcony porch area was cute but not really somewhere you can relax with privacy. If you want privacy, this ain't the resort to stay at. The beds were comfortable. The shower took ages for hot water to come along. Rooms were clean but need some serious maintenance to make it a better stay considering what you pay for.

The pool was a good size and service at the pool bar was fine as well. I would feel sorry for those staying in the pool view rooms as their porch balcony is part of the pool area for all guests to use. As mentioned earlier, there's a serious lack of privacy in this resort.

Throughout my entire stay I have to say the best part was the customer service I received from housekeeping. Service at the front desk and restaurant was disappointing. Housekeeping on the other hand went beyond my expectations each time they serviced my room in the arvo as well as in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

OMG I love Sawadee Village. The gardens and pathways are amazing, the staff so helpful and friendly, the Baray spa pure bliss! the breakfast fabulous, the pool gorgeous! the beautiful swing wooden chairs are awesome to read a book or just relax. I loved my stay here and didnt want to leave! Great location and I ate most nights at the restaurant as I was out most of day enjoying the area. I was a solo traveller and I felt so safe and happy at Sawasdee and Kata and bascially Phuket itself. Im coming back and I cant wait! Thank you soooooo much x ps The mosquitos didnt bite or annoy me but they dont annoy me in NZ either..oh and btw the gardens and pathways at night ...stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer888053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you had a pleasant staying here and we hope to see you and can't wait to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

very good hotel for affordable price made our honeymoon... its like the pictures and more never wanted to leave.... thanks.................................................................................

Room Tip: only the baray villa
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meepmeep7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be nice to hear that your have a great time and honeymoon trip here with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Staying for 3 nights at Sawasdee Village Resort. Like other contributors I am impressed by the service standard of staff and attention to detail in day to day running of hotel by management. Excellent breakfasts with flexible hours, free wi-fi, spacious tree filled grounds that are a world away from the hustle and bustle of nearby street. Rooms are small and beds way too large - I'm 188cm and my wife and I need to text to find each other so not a criticism. One criticism: welcoming drink was a glass of warm, sugary cordial. I like my travelling companions declined it. A beer or cocktail would have been far more cordial.

The hotel fails my 5 star test due to public and private rooms being tired. Perhaps dated may be better description. Peeling paint, scuffed floors, broken light fittings, tell the age of the hotel. I guessed 15 years but duty manager told me 13 so I'm close. It is time for major refurbishment if the hotel wants to remain competitive with many newer and similarly price establishments in Kata Beach.

Duty manager kindly showed me a 5yo Bayar Spa Villa also part of the resort. At 104sq m these are true apartments. Separate lounge room, mega bedroom with domed ceiling, stand alone bath, foot bath that pulls out from bed, private jacuzzi, private gated pool that opens to main pool fronting all villas. These are true 5 star and priced accordingly.

As the saying goes - you get what you pay for. I would recommend this resort if the tariff you are paying feels right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Over four years of traveling, I have never written a review - however, I read them a LOT and this hotel was so great I signed up for a tripadvisor account! We had a absolutely lovely time here - the place is beautiful, the people are beyond friendly and also got a great deal! The spa is also amazing and the food (breakfast included) was awesome! I will say the rooms are a bit small if you aren't getting the highest-end room. Yes, there are a few mosquitoes but you are in the tropics!! If you really want them to get rid of any bug, you're going to be inhaling some serious chemicals so lets just deal with them :) Stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor - that would be very nice to hear you do this review special for us and you enjoyed spending your time with us in Sawasdee Village. We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
23.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $72 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing