We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise on the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise on the hill”
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Mom Tri in early sept.
We arrived at the Villa and were instantly impressed!
We were greeted with a cocktail and a aloa smelling cooling off towl, very nice too!
The room we had was out of this world. A bed the size of two doubles stuck together, the bath was big enough for two and the balcony gave us an amazing view of Kata Noi beach.
You have a choice of 3 pools here which are all beautiful and a fantastic bathing area with a bar.
I would agree that the resort is not ideal for kids as its a very relaxed place + there are no amenities for them.
Food at the Villa is superb, quite expensive compared to the town but still very worth it. + this is probably the only place you'll get a good glass of wine.

Pros- very relaxing, clean and excellent service.

Cons- none!

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    153
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
142
594
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed at a beach wing suit for 3 nights. Originally, they were planning on giving us room number 8 which I objected to because it was too close to the pool and bar and I wanted to be more isolated. They then moved us to room number 10 which was much better. The hotel is nested in a lush green side of the hill over viewing the see. It was quiet and you dont see too many guests (no children or elderly) which has its benefits. I thought the gourds and the service could have been much better. The pool at times had a lot of tree failings on the water so not that inviting. The ground especially the narrow path to the beach could use much more improvements. Lack of lights, rails, and worn out stairs are to name a few. I also saw a lot of garbage on this path and on the side (plastic bags, soda cans, plastic plates, etc) which I was surprised they were not cleaned by the hotel and the trash looked old so they had to be there for a while. With such small location, it shouldn't be that hard to make sure the grounds are clean. Also, there were some constructions going on in front of the pool area but not that visible or loud and also the spa is getting few rooms and reception being added to it. Also, take plenty of bug repellent with you if you dont was to be bitten.
The room was nice and spacious though we thought that the bed was a bit hard and the towels a bit worn out. The housekeeping had decorated our bed with rose pedals for our wedding anniversary and fixed a bath for us before arrival which we though was really nice of them. Overall, it was a nice stay, quiet and relaxing but we were expecting much more. Phuket would have been a disappointment if it wasn't for the day tour that we took to Phi Phil Islands. We booked a tour in Patong at one of the tour stands using Anda Varee tour. The published rate is 2800 baht per person but make sure to bargain on this just like the rest of stuff. I was able to get it for 1200 per person which less than half. If you do get this company, try to get Lucy for your tour guide. He is the load feminine guy but he made the entire tour so fun. He is a character and everyone thought made the tour so much better. Last stop on the tour was a 2 hour relaxation stop at Khai island. This island is the most beautiful place I have ever been to and I have been to many nice beaches (cancun, hawaii, miami,). We walked around and found a quiet spot away from the tourists. The sand was white white white and the water crystal clear turquoise with tropical fish swimming all around you. There were no waves what so ever and it felt like being in a huge infinity pool. simply amazing so I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — secluded
  • Disliked — more attention to details/service/cleaness of the grounds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Our first trip to Thailand, and when we entered Mom Tri's Villa Royale we felt we had entered a tropical dreamworld. The crashing surf is the soundtrack. Beyond the rocks, to the south, curves Kata Noi beach, just steps away. The grounds are magical, with pebbled and tiled paths and steps leading down, around, and through lush greenery, past koi ponds and waterfalls, lanterns, sculpture and shrines Orchids sprout from walls.
Our flight arrived early, but we were welcomed with cool drinks and jasmine garlands, and could freely use a temporary room until our own was ready. We used this time to have our massages. Their massage prices much higher than in town, so this part of the package was no bargain. Our room in the Beach Wing blew us away. We entered to soft music, orchids, wine, and tropical fruit basket. We especially enjoyed our private balcony with bed-sized lounge, and the picturesque salt water pool.
The breakfast buffet was excellent.
My few complaints: Staff was efficiently helpful, but not quite warm and friendly. We weren't given much help planning excursions; just shown a binder with a few tours (priced much higher than in town). We were given just two bottles of water a day and told we would pay for any more we used; a miserly policy for a hotel of this class.
The biggest disappointment was our dinner in the restaurant. The service and ambience were A plus, but the food was C minus at best. The dishes on the menu seemed unimaginative. My seafood was tough, overfried, and oversalted. We ate better meals in town for much less money. If you want an elegant, romantic meal that also tastes good, you'd best go somewhere else.

  • Liked — the rooms themselves, the grounds, and the view
  • Disliked — desk staff could have been warmer and more helpful. Spa services, laundry, tours, meals grossly overpriced for the area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City & SF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This was the second visit to Villa Royale and I must admit that I don't want to stay anywhere else. We've stayed at several other properties in Phuket, and seen several parts of the island; Villa Royale has the goods. If you are like us and enjoy feeling like you are a guest at a private villa, being catered to, then you will love Villa Royale. The Kata Noi beach is one of the best on the island. It is secluded, natural and beautiful. Villa Royale sits overlooking Kata Noi and each of the unique villas has everything you'd need. It's an excellent property to explore. The staff is very attentive, friendly but not overwhelming. They all seem to know us and our personal needs, and are genuinely warm people. The property is beautiful, quiet and secluded, but there are many local restaurants and shops. Speaking of restaurants, Mom Tri's is easily the best food and views on Phuket. Many of the guests come back year after year, which tells you more than anything else about Villa Royale. Highly recommend this place for romantics, and those who want the best in an unpretentious property.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Abunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This is a lovely boutique hotel nestled in lush gardens on a hill between Kata Beach (busy) and Kata Noi beach (quiet). As the hotel hugs the hill, there are LOTS of steps with no lift access. It is not suited to disabled travellers or those who have problems going up or down stairways. Also, being an environmentally conscious hotel of sorts, most of the public areas like reception, restaurant and breakfast areas are not air conditioned.

Our package was a 7 night stay including two dinners and two 1 hour massages per person plus breakfast and transfers, and at that time equated to approximately AUD250 per night.

With only 26 rooms all of them being suites, it is best suited for people seeking a quiet, relaxing time away or a romantic honeymoon. If activities and resort-style facilities are your thing, this is perhaps not so suitable. The room we stayed in was apparently the smallest available but for two people it was huge! The bed itself is larger than king size, and quality fixtures and furnishings are used throughout. There is a large balcony and outdoor shower, but the latter did not appear to be used frequently nor did it look particularly inviting. The views are SUPERB. Nothing but tranquility and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore.

There are three smallish swimming pools, gym, free internet and a library. Apart from that, there's not much else in terms of facilities.

Staff were friendly and personable without being 'overly-nice' (for want of a better word - please excuse my limited vocabulary), which can sometimes feel a bit contrived. They were also willing to help with enquiries - a nice touch was the breakfast staff, who remembered our hot drink of choice every morning.

The Mom Tri's name is recognised specifically for the quality of its restaurants and specifically the world-class wine list. We only tried the food at Mom Tri's kitchen, which is the hotel's restaurant. The food is very, very good, and they certainly don't water the flavours or spices down... the curries are spicy and punchy, just like any good Thai curry should be. Its a bit expensive for lunch, but fortunately there's the Katathani resort on Kata Noi beach which is a 5 minute walk down some stairs which serves up good food at cheaper prices.

The adjacent bar is a nice place to kick back at night after a hard day's holidaying. The breakfast was a bit of a let down though, I guess we were expecting the sheer variety that we had at the Marriott in Bangkok but I suppose this was a reflection of the size of the hotel. Less people = less variety. Still, the basics were there - a selection of hot dishes and a friendly guy cooking up some great omelettes.

The hotel is within walking distance to the second part of Kata Town (I noticed that Kata Town has two distinct zones accessible on the same road, however there's a 500m stretch where its a bit of a void). The resident driver will take you to the second zone, but no further. For any further travel, you have no choice but to use a taxi. 400 baht is the going rate to Patong, expect to pay 350 baht for the return trip by Tuk Tuk. When bargaining make sure you say between Kata and Kata Noi, before Katathani resort.

Overall, we had a memorable stay in Mom Tri's. At the same time, this possibly wasn't the best hotel for us as we prefer more facilities and more activities - this is not a criticism of the hotel itself. But or what it is and the price we paid, it represents superb value for money.

  • Liked — Luxury, peace, attentive staff, the views, food.
  • Disliked — Relatively remote location, no shuttle service to town, not much in terms of resort facilities.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mugwump_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing