We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like royalty here , super luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

thanks to the staff at Villa Royale for the friendliest and most attentive service, and thanks to Jan from andaman aventures for getting us our fabulous room ! Room doesnt even begin to describe it : we had a large terrace with jacuzzi, livingroom + bedroom, and a bathroom that can be called bathing quarters :)
The hotel has a very dramatic location, built on a cliff edge which marks the end of Kata noi beach.
there are 3 swimming pools, we liked the saltwater pool with waterfall best. A steep little staircase takes you to the beach, which is just like a postcard : clear & warm waters, a lot of fish ( at least by the cliffs ). It wasnt the cheapest place we stayed at, but it was undoubtedly the best, EASILY worth the extra dollars. Will come here again for sure !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 923 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and it really was pretty much faultless. Within the first day the staff know our names. The service was excellent, beautiful rooms. Lovely grounds, great pools. I wouldn't stay in the 2 pool access rooms they have...very very public. We had a great room on the beach wing ( i think it was room 21) and that was very private with the best access to the pool. My only comment would be that Mom Tris restaurant was good but not fabulous. I'd eat there one night, but wouldn't make a habit of it.

The other thing is the beach. It's absolutely the best in Phuket. Free of hawkers and one of the few without a storm drain (read sewer pipe). And there is a fantastic beach bar at the other end from Mom Tris. Cheap, quiet and so relaxed. Go there every day.

If you're going to go to Phuket, stay here. If we ever go back to Phuket (and this was my 4th visit) stay here. Beats Banyan Tree in every way.

Room Tip: Beach Wing, stay on a room closest to the pool at the end.. i think room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights March 2014, Very nice place, our room looked down at the beach and was absolutely beautiful, our room was huge and we felt the "WOW" effect. The beach and water were fantastic. Couldn't stay out of the water, it was the perfect temp. We ate her just one night, the first night and wouldn't eat here again, the duck was tough and the food was below average I thought for such a nice place, go down to town area and you will find a lot of great places to eat. The other thing I didn't like about the restaurant was that the waiter stand about 3 ft away from you and watch you eat, if you are done with anything they sweep it from your table in a hurry, so hold on to your plate if you put your fork down, LOL, I kept thinking to myself, "SERIOUSLY" why are they watching me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days - the lovely room (one of couple of Penthouse rooms). Not the most expensive but absolutely great. Nice balcony etc. Great views (some reviews had me worried about this). Overall hotel has a few little things that make it less than perfect but really nothing to worry about (it is Thailand and not London or Paris). Highly recommend staying here. Lovely food too - enjoyed breakfast and couple of evening meals - my wife had excellent room service one evening. Pools were a bit average - hit the beach instead !! (private path to free beach loungers / umbrellas). Additional comment not related to Hotel : Hire a moped and get around (unless you have a really good reason not too).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hard to fault this hotel although the food is distinctly average (have they changed their kitchen staff lately I wonder). It's a short, hilly walk to town though with all the restaurants and shops you'll need so that's not an issue for me. Our room was lovely, the only downside was the 'regionised' DVD player that prevented us from ploughing through the new GOT as planned. Not really a hardship though is it. Kata Noi beach to the south is beautiful. The best well used beach I've seen in years. No rubbish, clear warm water and plenty of people to watch. Snorkelling in the rocks next to the hotel was wonderful with plenty of stunning fish to spot. Tip: there's a lovely little beach restaurant at the other end of the beach for drinks and Thai food. We returned there day after day for lunch.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JonSWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was the highlight of our great fun Andaman Sky tour of the region, the last stop of the 3 destinations we covered (we also went to Lanta and Ao Nang). We probably should have stuck to 2 destinations rather than 3 as we did not really have enough time in each place to relax, but relaxation wasn’t top of our agenda, we were after seeing and doing a lot on holiday.
Top marks to the resort for great food and a lovely room, plus very friendly and responsive service.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I didn’t know that my friends and I were going to go into a 3 country tour in Asia. I was just informed that we were set to do another adventure abroad and had less time to prepare for our accommodation booking and transportation in Phuket. Thank goodness the Mom Tri’s Villa Royale was able to give us rooms on the last minute. We didn’t regret having stayed there considering the place is a bit pricy. We got our money’s worth and were able to enjoy every bit of the hotel. It offered luxurious bath tubs and Jacuzzis. A relaxing place to stay, although this is not the place for you if you’re expecting a pool party.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuSheryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,136 reviews
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $212 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing