We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 5 nights her in the Ocean Wing, in a suite right on the cliff. We really had our own "butler", and he and the team were absolutely brilliant. They are such lovely people; quietly attentive and helpful. The bed in this particular suite (Bougogne) was incredibly hard, but we survived.
Unfortunately it rained every day, but we didn't mind staying at the resort. They were happy to drop us off in Kata in the mini bus, and we usually made our own way back up the hill which was about a 15 minute walk.
A minor disappointment was the breakfast buffet, which I don't think was up to the standard of the rest of the resort, although the breakfast room was right on the cliff, so views were magnificent, which made up for the shortfall in quality and variety.
Kata Noi beach could be accessed directly from the resort, although lots of steps and quite a climb. As the weather was inclement, the beach was practically empty, but nevertheless beautiful. We did swim in the rain, amongst roaring surf, but it was a bit scary! The restaurant is of course, well known and much acclaimed so really one didn't have to leave this idyllic piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean Wing is separate to the main hotel, and children not allowed (under 11).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsusanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    152
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
138
588
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Mom tri's Villa Royale is on a fantastic spot on Kata Beach, the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are a bit old, the decor is IKEA, the bed is extremely hard and the bathroom a bit bare. Apityreally since the service is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmanuelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to book this resort for the last six nights of our honeymoon based on fantastic recommendations on the tripadvisor forums. We had been here on a previous visit to Phuket, but only for dinner at Mom Tri's Kitchen.

The staff were all very helpful. It is a beautiful resort. The views from our Beach Wing Suite were spectacular. We rarely left the resort for our whole stay, except for one trip to Phi Phi Island, three dinners in Kata and a visit to Simon Cabaret.

We, of course, had a few dinners at the Kitchen, and they were amazing. We mostly ate lunch by the pool. It was a fabulous, relaxing stay.

Our only hesitation in booking this resort was the walk to/from Kata (we are not the type of people who can just stay at the resort the whole time), but even the uphill walk back to the resort was very easy.

I would not hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stelle-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Way above our expectations, lived up to the photos and description in the brochure. Gorgeous view of the sea and the beach from our room. Spacious rooms with an over sized bed and a separate seating area. The bathroom was fab with a great powerful shower cubicle, wide sunken bath and great toiletries supplied.
The breakfast was buffet style, you could eat as much as you wanted, they cooked eggs to order for you. We had dinner here twice, both times the food was plentiful and tasty. As a romantic touch the lady always gets a red rose at the end of the meal. The iced face-clothes are an inspiration, especially after spicy food. The romantic setting overlooking the sea is fabulous at sunset.
The free Thai massage we received at the hotel spa was good, although if youve never had one before they are a little different from the oil rub downs we get in the UK. However if you want other spa/beauty treatments its a little pricey at the hotel, you get way more for your money in the town.
The staff make this place a cut above, they cant do enough for you and always with a smile on their faces and the customary hands clasped in front of them at the end of any conversation.
The beach is accessed down some stone steps, quite steep and a bit of effort if youre very unfit, however the effort is worth it for a quiet beach and free sunbeds and parasols. The sea is very choppy here though due to dangerous undercurrents, so it was fine for paddling, or surfing but the red flags stayed up the whole week stayed to stop you from swimming.
There is every shop, restaurant, tailor, massage parlour and trip organiser you could wish for in the little town about a mile down the road, beware it is on a steep hill, so get a taxi or tuk tuk back up (fixed price of 200 Thai Baht).
There is free wifi wherever you are in the hotel, whether you are in your own room or the beach bar, restaurant etc. There are 3 pools here, non of them were busy, in fact we had them mainly to ourselves most days.
The only downside I can think of with this hotel is the amount of steps, therefore its not suitable for the less mobile or unfit guests. You have to walk down steps, then up again to get anywhere in this complex. They could do with better lighting too as I managed to fall down them on our first night out.
This was our first time to Thailand and based on this location wont be our last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

beautiful grounds and rooms. had 2 adjoining rooms, both with spacious sitting areas and bathrooms. each had its own terrace with seating and outdoor shower overlooking the ocean. There are loads of steps to access these rooms but that helps for them to be private. although the sandy beach is not directly in front of the hotel, access to the beach is not far but with steps. Problem during our stay was the strong current warranting red flags. Therefore, we opted for a day trip to nearby islands but you can still enjoy the pool/view. our children had a blast searching for sand crabs along the beach after dark. the restaurant was nice with a nice view but although food was good, it was not outstanding, especially considering the bill. the breakfast was fantastic with loads of delicious options. it is recommended that a better variety and description of day trips be offered - a range from more private tours to larger tour groups would better cater to a variety of clients. overall, hotel is lovely and definitely recommended!

Room Tip: beach front rooms 11 and 12 are the located at the end of the row of beach front rooms and are the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joejoette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We got a great rate when booking this place with Andaman Sky Adventures, it was the first stop in an amazing month-long holiday taking in what we felt were the best places on the whole coast-line, all of which went like clockwork. We also got good rates and extra services, plus free upgrades and free stop offs to snorkel on our transfers, great job done, thanks to them for that. The location at Mom Tris is absolutely divine and the view from anywhere at this resort is picturesque. The restaurant (aka Mom Tri's Kitchen) is superb and I highly recommend it. We tried both the international and the Thai menu and I would recommend the Thai menu anyday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellaisanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Mom Tri's Villa Royale was recommended to me, by a really lovely lady that I once shared a flight from Baku to London with. She had told me that it was her No.1 favourite holiday hotel/destination. So I asked her to write down the name for me, so I would remember it when I next planned a holiday with my long-term girlfriend. So last month, we finally decided to 'tie the proverbial knot' and we decided to take our honeymoon at Mom Tri's Villa Royale. We travelled out on the Friday 17th September for just the 1 week, but only because my wife had used up all of her available vacation days. It was early in the season and the hotel wasn't too busy, so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We stayed in one of the Ocean Wing Suites, which was just brilliant. We had the best time of our lives. The hotel & it's coastal location can only be described as beautiful! It was just so relaxing to be there. The food served in Mom Tri's Kitchen Restaurant was exceptionally good, so we decided not to eat anywhere else in the evenings. There was a private path to take you down to Kata Noi beach which was beautiful to walk along. I did notice that a lot of jetsam & flotsam would get washed in by the tide, but the people tending the beach did a very good job of keeping it clean during the week that we were there. But the thing that made our honeymoon week so very special was the hotel staff. They were utterly brilliant, and I could go on all week about how well they looked after us. So it goes without saying that we will be returning to Mom Tri's in either 2014 or 2015 for at least 10 days this time. I really like the climate in September so we wouldn't consider going in December or January, but each to their own. We holidayed in Phuket about 18 years ago, which was fantastic, but I enjoyed this holiday a lot more! So I offer my deepest thanks to the staff & the management of Mom Tri's Villa Royale. A genuinely wonderful week, that will not be forgotten for many years to come!

Room Tip: Email the hotel and enquire about a package deals for the individual suites. We were given complimen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing