We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom Tris Villa Royale, Kata - lovely stay as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been several times at Mom tris and have never been disappointed. The beach win suites are a bit dated but they are large and we do like the charm of the rooms with their huge L shaped sofa and slightly "Thai Style" rather than the contemporary style of their newer wings. Its the bathrooms that really do need a bit of attention. The service was really good as always with friendly welcoming staff. Its good having the smaller beach just down the steep steps and a plus point is just being able to sign for your bed. We loved the salt water rock pool. A nice boutique smaller hotel suited to couples who want to relax in a higher up location but right on the beach if you can mange the steps. Great views and good access to Kata and its restaurants when you wnat some life. We will continue to return to this little gem in busy Phuket.

Room Tip: You need to decide if you wnat a new contemprary style or older thai style with loads more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 943 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay... How can you go wrong? Private beach access, free beach lounge chair rentals, nice sized room, comfortable bed, beautiful view from the balcony, amazing breakfast with juices made to order and omelets cooked to order. Great bar with happy hour and live music. Friendly staff with a great greeting service: drinks, flowers, and wet towel to freshen up. The only con was the mosquitoes were pretty bad here and the water pressure in the shower and the temperature would get very hot and then very cold. I put in a complaint to the owner and she said she would look into it. The pools were beautiful as well, the main pool has a bar next to it. The complimentary shuttle service was also great and the staff at the front desk called for ferry times and restaurant information without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotterCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Mom Tri's Villa Royale was a wonderful place to stay. All staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. Breakfast was superb with a huge array of choices. Happy hour at the bar was delightful - particularly with the jazz entertainment. Dining in the restaurant was a magnificent experience with exceptional food and service. You must have a Thai massage in the pampering spa. Views from our room and around the resort were amazing. The afternoon treats were delicious.

Room Tip: The ocean view room was fantastic and great for a relaxing get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Mom Tri's for three nights at the end of August. We were so glad we chose it as it was such a special place. Just sitting on our balcony watching the surfers at Kata Noi below us was so relaxing. It was such an oasis after a day of sight seeing. The service was excellent, from the helpful front desk to the high standard of housekeeping.

Only criticism was the breakfasts weren't great. There were wasps throughout the jams and pastries which the staff didn't seem to have a problem with. It would also have been good to know earlier that there was a staff function one night and the restaurant was closing early. They still let us eat there, unlike other people who were turned away, but we were definitely rushed through the meal.

In saying that, we had a longer dinner another night and it was beautiful. I agree with other reviewers that the Thai menu is the way to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our holiday in phuket was our first holiday in Thailand.
Our stay at Mom Tri's Villa Royale was just amazing, we were so impressed by the rooms, the service, the food, everything about it was so special and made our honeymoon that much better.
Thank you SO MUCH for making our honeymoon an unforgettable experience.
Kind Regards
Shelley & Douglas Orchison

Room Tip: Everything about Mom Tri's was so special, i think all the rooms would be so amazing, it was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was our second visit to Mom Tri and this hotel is exactly what we want from a holiday. My wife and I enjoy a quiet and relaxing beach holiday and mom Tri provides this. Let's start with the staff: reception, pool bar, restaurant, cleaners, gardeners are always friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The hotel is on a slight hill on the right hand side of Kata Noi overlooking this beach. All beaches in Phuket are great and Kata Noi lives up to the standard while not as busy. mom tri is not directly on the beach but a well designed garden path will give you access to it in less than a minute. the loungers on the beach are complimentary for guests. We stayed at the Beach Wing and highly recommend it. The room is spacious, well maintained and has a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. The hotel is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Overall good value for money whether it's your first visit to Phuket or if you are returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Mom Tri's and had both executive rooms and Villa accommodation during our stay. Both were excellently appointed but the villa had more space and was slightly more private with its own plunge pool. Food in the restaurant was top notch and the beachside location made it a fantastic place for late evening food and drink.

Close proximity to many other restaurants and bars so you didnt need to get a taxi.

We had the executive airport pick up, which was very nice with cool towels , water and newspapers plus a lovely e class Mercedes ride to the hotel, which took 45 minutes.

Would definitely say go and stay here for a few nights if you are visiting the area, or if you can afford to holiday in Mom Tris, then don't waste time thinking about it....just do it

Room Tip: Get an executive room on a high floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
847 reviews
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $175 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing