We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband took me here for 4 nights and two nights at Sala further North for my 34th birthday and we had a stunning time. Superb location and the rooms are so beautifully decorated in local style. We got such a warm welcome and the 'feel' is truly holiday and escape. We couldn't swim due to the red flag but still enjoyed the three pools and walks on the intimate non-crowded beach. The breakfasts were not as five-star as they should have been until Mom-Tri himself showed up then things did a complete 360. We have a few suggestions for improvement and a feedback form should be available but still rate this experience as very good plus half. Our suggestions are that they improve on the detergant type toiletries, change the cheap plastic bin in the bathroom and their soapy-tasting complimentary water in the rooms. They were very sweet to give me a little birthday cake which would have been perfect without the fake cream topping but perhaps they have to use this due to the heat...We experienced a tropical storm and blackout during dinner at Mom Tri's kitchen but it was part of the fun and service and food was six-star so made up for it. The package we had was also great value for money which included a spa experience my husband and I will be talking about for many years to come!

Room Tip: Definitely choose sea-facing villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    152
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
137
588
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 8 days at Mom Tris Villa Royale in August 2013, and we were totally blown away by the experience. We had throughly researched the hotel before booking it, but we were still taken aback by our stay at the hotel. THe staff were incredibly helpful with everything, nothing was too much for them to do. I got sick with a bacterial infection, and the hotel staff were so caring and considerate, that on the 3rd day they organized for me to see a doctor. Ying (one of the staff members at reception) was amazing - she was so helpful adn so caring and with that attitude - our stay there was blissful.
The rooms are massive and elegantly decorated. We coudl here there sound of the ocean below even with our doors closed - what a peaceful sound. When we arrived, we found a massive fruit basket in our room with all the exotic thai fruits included. What a treat!
At four pm everyday, the chef prepares the "cake of the day" and the staff bring it to each and every room with the newspaper - what a treat - and what a lovely touch.
The spa was heavenly - the therapists were magical!
The location of the resort is wonderful as well because it is far enough from chaos that can occur at night - but close enough that you can walk into town to join the chaos should you want to.
We had such a lovely time there -i would def go back to this hotel should we ever return to Kata Noi.
I am a fussy traveller and i can honestly say that I cannot fault this hotel or its staff in the slightest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiSewpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

All of the staff were so lovely , welcoming us:)
We stayed room "Ocean Wing Bordeaux" at 4 days here. The room was nice with great view of the ocean. (in the heat of the sun, it would be perfect, it was rainy season...)
This room was separate from Villa Royale, so it looks private house. But in the rain I can't be bothered to go to the Villa for breakfast.
And Mom Tri's Kitchen was great view with nice food.
You can walk to Kata beach, there are many restaurant but need to hike up the hill to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0C0R0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my parents stayed here for 6 nights from July 19-25 recently, making it our fourth trip to the resort in two years. The initial wow factor from the earlier visits are starting to wane, and you'll see why.

Pros:
- Stunning setting with sound of crashing waves all day and night. This is the wow factor that never fails to disappoint.
-Dramatic view everywhere around this local-run, boutique resort.
- Kata Noi is a lovely beach and Momtri Villa Royale has lounge chairs that you can take for free all day.

Cons:
- As this hotel isn't internationally managed, you can see signs of wear and tear with the furniture used, and housekeeping is superficial at best.
- Bed sheets and towels are spotless clean inside the room, but look more closer the details certainly left something to be desired. Ants all over the minibar area, Illy coffee machine was not properly emptied of used capsules when we checked into the suite (started to have molds), dead ants floating in the water compartment of the Illy espresso machine (yuck!), wall behind toilet bowl totally uncleaned for weeks if not months, wood plank wall in bathroom had months old dust piling up and yet it's left uncleaned (clearly visible if you're sitting on the toilet bowl). All in all without more details, I'd say that the standard of housekeeping needs to be improved tremendously.
- Breakfast: choices left something to be desired. A bit more Asian choices would be great.
- Staff: mixed bag. Some are excellent and others look unhappy or as if they are just going through the motions.
- Great restaurant on premise for lunch and dinner, but the menu is now monotonous after several visits.

In all, still a great place to stay for the price, but if you're accustomed to staying in international hotel chains where upkeeping and staff service consistency are way up there, then you'll not get them here.



In all,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bangkok_GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Mom Tris Royal Villas in early June for 8 days in the pool villa, to celebrate my husbands birthday. The resort could not do enough for us, including 3 birthday cakes and flowers. There was a birthday cake for him at breakfast and when we returned to our room, the bed had been made up with flowers and a beautiful swan made of towels, looked amazing, There was also a large cake for him on the coffee table. In the evening, we dined at mom tris kitchen, as we did every evening and a special table was organized for us, after the meal, another birthday cake was presented to him. When we got back to our room an arrangement red roses were left for him, How special was he!. I wanted a special day for him and Mom Tris delivered.

The pool room, is far the best room, but all rooms looked lovely, we had our own little oasis overlooking the beach, it was quiet and just the sounds of the waves below us, to lull us into a sense of serenity.

The staff were all amazing, with every person, showing us a great deal of attention. There wasn't a single person who didn't go out of there way to please us.

The grounds are kept beautiful and clean, this is not a hotel with a modern minimalistic look, it has a traditional look. immaculately maintained.

Every afternoon small cakes or slices and a newspaper where delivered to our room. In the evening when we were having our evening meal, staff came in and tidied the room, turned the bed down and left more flowers, this happened every night of our stay.

I was unfortunately bit by a dog the previous week in Khao lak, and the hotel arranged all my taxis to the Phuket International Hospital for my treatment and rabies vaccines. The staff at reception always asked how I was on my return.

We would certainly return again to Mom Tris , This is a little oasis on the edge of the rocks at Kata Noi, with spectacular views. I am not too keen on Phuket, but Mom Tris would be the only reason we would return.

Room Tip: Pool Suite was amazing, with your own little pool overlooking the ocean, most expensive but in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I have known Mom Tri's Villa Royale for over 10 years as a diner, but this is the first time I have stayed here. Having first visited Kata in 1984 and having visited it over 20 times since, I have witnessed the indiscriminate development of the area into an ugly mess. The Villa Royale stands out as a sanctuary of peace where guests are cosseted. The service is exemplary at all levels (the staff has that wonderful blend of professionalism and informality which if carried out well is really what a hotel guest likes), and the owner (who has developed his private residence into this boutique hotel within a beautiful sea and garden setting) takes a very personal interest in ensuring that guests are looked after perfectly. The "basic" Beach View Suites are enormous, with views over Kata Noi beach, very comfortable, and designed in traditional Thai style, a welcome relief from the current trend for minimalist interiors in hotels. Breakfasts in the Music Room are sumptuous, with a glorious view of the Kata Noi bay. Dinners are delightful with both a Thai and a Western menu. And if your back needs sorting out the Spa masseurs will do the trick. The Summer Package is excellent value. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I there something like perfection???
Mom tri is getting close... Location on quiet Kata beach, right above the sea.. Breathtaking views of the green blue sea.
Amazing rooms, service quick and always with a smile, orchids and flowers in the room each day.. A little afternoon surprise snack..
Breakfast is good with a decent selection and fresh top quality espresso...
Three smallish pools, never busy, peacefull bliss.
The restaurant I have reviewed separately . It is top notch!!
Very fast free, all over wifi!! Compliments!

Only negatives: a lot of steps ( to work those calories off.), no private beach (public beach is about 50 steps down...). Airco could have been a bit colder...

We will certainly return...

Room Tip: We were in site 17 which is pretty but also high up..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMMIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing