We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We initially booked this because the Shore was booked out, after seeing both (and the enormous price difference) I would hands down recommend Mom Tris it is just so much more special.
We stayed in te Ocean wing which was utterly fantastic, despite the hotel being busy it really felt like we were the only guests there, a feeling which was accentuated by the amazing staff, more attentive than a certain 7 star establishment I could mention!
The sun-beds down by the rocks are spectacular, and despite the complete seclusion, the staff still managed to find us every day to bring down iced water and cold towels!
The hotel was so nice that every time we ventured out of it we just wanted to go back (very unusual for us), add to that the fantastic atmosphere and food in Mom Tris Kitchen, and we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean Wing rooms are beautifully secluded and romantic, quite a few steps to the main house though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcorish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    153
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
142
594
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Check in was good. Someone came and carried our very heavy bags to the room, which was great as there are a lot of steps. We stayed in a beach side villa- whichwas the cheaper of the rooms, but still amazing and I loved the location of the room. We had a balcony with a viewof Kata Noi beach.
The room was huge! And the bed in this room was massive! seemed bigger then a king to me.
This wasour 3rd trip to Phuket and this bed was by far the best night sleep ive had. The bed was still typically firm- but not as hard as the others ive encountered- and the room temprature was also perfect so this allowed a lovely comfy night sleep.
Turn down service was lovely.
Cleaners were fantastic- they would take note of when we were at breakfast and ensure our room was spotless by the time we got back which was great.
Breakfast was nice and with lovely views.
The short walk to the beach was fantastic. Kata Noi is by far the best beach ive seen in Phuket- clean, no hawkers and not crowded. The water is amazing.
Unfortunately, Ive got one disapointment and that was Mom's Kitchen. While the view was amazing, the food and the service did not live up to the reviews ive read and its meant to be "award winning" my partner decided to treat himself to a lobster which ended up being about $60, (expensive for Thailand also) and it was dry and hardy anything served with it. I had duck which again was dry and left me hungry. Luckily I got an entre which was nice. Id recommend to go down to Kata and eat in one of the little places there, they dont look like much but they are cheap and yummy and we did not get sick from them at all- which I know concerns a lot of people.
This was our 2 night spoil while we were on the trip- and I wish I could have stayed a little longer. Id stay again- but probably not have dinner here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WATAQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place prides itself on 'treating guests like royalty'.

When we arrived from our 6+ hours of travelling, we were told to sit while they photocopied our passports. That was fine, standard practice. Then they gave us 'guest registration forms' to fill in with name, DOB, nationality, passport number - most of which they'd just attained from our passports. The only additional things they got from this form were our flight numbers (neither of which they needed by this stage, as we were staying elsewhere in Phuket after that) and our home address and email (they already had our email, and why would they need our home address?). I have no idea why they needed BOTH of us to fill these out (the details are exactly the same, bar the first name), I'd hate to think what happens when a family with lots of small children checks in - could be a long check-in!

Who wants to fill out another form after going through immigration in a foreign airport...? We had similar issues when we went for massages - surely their systems are integrated so they can print off a form with our details - and have us check-box and sign it.

The massage was good, though not the best we had in Phuket.

The Internet was top notch - our room had its own broadband modem, so no issues with the speed.

The room was 65m2 - almost the size of our house! Huge bathroom and private balcony.

Breakfast was very good, best breakfast buffet I've ever had. They do fresh juices, omelette, scrambled egg, and probably a whole bunch more right there in front of you if you ask them to.

Dinner was ok - about what you'd expect for that kind of money. Not the best food we had in Phuket (we had some amazing food in Patong) but the atmosphere was very good.

The in-room fruit bowl was a bit boring - mostly their local apples, an orange, bananas and couple of interesting fruits. Most westerners (which I'm going to assume are the majority of their clientèle) get apples and oranges at home - and to be honest they're alot better tasting than the tropical ones. No mangostien or rambutan, though they had these at breakfast.

Their in-room hot drinks were pretty poor too - dilmah green tea was about as local as it got. Nothing without caffeine.

My main problem with this place was the bathroom. The waste in the bath didn't work very well, it would drain very slowly, and stop occasionally. It would take about an hour to empty a full tub. And by then all the sediment had dropped out onto the bottom of the bath, so it looked disgusting, not very appetising for a second bath. It took forever to fill, too - the pressure isn't great (though good sized bath, great for 2 people).

The sink waste was similarly problematic - wouldn't stay shut, so it was impossible to fill the sink with water.

The shower mixer was pretty bad - it had a rainshower califont fixed overhead, and a normal hand-califont on a hose. There was a splitter to pick between the two, but it was permanently on both. Also the mixer was at the back of the shower, so you'd get soaked with cold water by the rainshower head when you turned it on.

They called us 20 mins after we got back from a romantic meal at their restaurant to organise a shuttle for the next morning. I'm not sure how you can call yourself a honeymoon hotspot when you call your guests at the time that's most likely to interrupt the most enjoyable activity on a honeymoon.

The taxi they booked to take us to our next place was a nice minivan - but the guy's English was terrible, and he was blatently one of the obnoxious guys from the street that made a living screaming at tourists. He asked us several times if we wanted to swing by 'the souvenir shop' or 'big buddha', obviously so he could get his cut. Then he asked us what we paid the hotel for this taxi ride, I'm guessing so he could charge them top dollar. Not exactly the high class chauffeur we were expecting (and nowhere near as good as the nice chap that picked us up from the airport in the company van, cold towels and water waiting).

The cleaners were great - they slipped in and cleaned the room at 7pm when we were having dinner. All we did was leave the sign on the door - they saw it, cleaned the room, and were out before we got back. Fantastic!

The saltwater pool was good - it's nice not having that chlorine smell after swimming, and the crabs on the surrounding rocks gave us a bit of entertainment (I know, easily amused...).

Overall we have mixed feeelings - it was nice, but I don't think it was as good as it should have been for the 19,900 Baht we paid for 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, a dinner, a massage each, and airport transfers. We were certainly not treated like royalty.

Room Tip: We were in 21. Not sure about the other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kata_noi, Public Relations Manager at Mom Tri's Villa Royale, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Brad H,

Congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for choosing Mom Tri’s Villa Royale’s ‘Summer Package’ including transfers, massages and dinner, for your honeymoon.

We regret that we were not able to address all your concerns while you were here so that we could exceed your expectations and to a calibre we pride ourselves on.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and in your direct feedback you did mention the dinner was sensational. I would like to add besides having a good internet connection the wireless is complimentary. Your feedback about our discreet and efficient housekeeping staff was appreciated and passed on to the staff.

Your comments about the fruit have been noted and we will add more local fruit varieties dependent on the season. Also your point about a caffeine-free tea is very good and we will add an herbal tea to our selection.

We would like to sincerely apologise about the issues with the plumbing and again wish we had known in time to solve this during your stay. We do routinely carry out renovations and maintenance on the rooms but sometimes we miss something if it is not brought to our attention. We have instructed our maintenance and housekeeping staff to be more thorough in checking all room facilities to prevent this in the future.

After reading your comments about the front desk calling you about your shuttle we have created a new policy that we will not call guests after 18:00hrs. We would like to sincerely apologies for this lack of good judgment and we appreciate your very candid comments.

Your experience with the taxi driver is deplorable, we agree. Our front desk manager has personally spoken to him letting him know why we will no longer be using his services due to his behaviour.

We are a small boutique hotel and do sincerely care about each and every guest enjoying their stay here. True our spa does not have a computer, the check in process is not entirely systematic, we even still use traditional room keys.

However we do offer sincere, personal service and genuinely care about the happiness of our guests. ML Tri Devakul, a Thai royal also known as Mom Tri, is still the sole owner of this property that was once his private home. The staff, many whom have worked for Mom Tri for over 10 years and in some cases 20 years, are extremely loyal, are happy to work here and dedicated to their jobs, which is providing the best service possible so that guest at Mom Tri’s have an amazing holiday.

Again thank you for the comments as they have helped us improve our property and service to an even higher level.

We hope you will give us another change for a romantic holiday and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Sylvie Y
PR Manager
Mom Tri's Villa Royale / Mom Tri's Kitchen
Mom Tri's VR Gallery (art gallery)

pr@villaroyalephuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Our husband and I were greeted and delt with in a superior manor throughout our stay at the mom tri. Pool, breakfast and room were amazing!
They had gorgeous bath, shower and bed. Great turn down service..
If u are looking for something special and romantic then this is the place!
I would return in a heart beat if I could.

Enjoy

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in one of the villas. This Is a beautiful mini resort. Our villa was stunning, overlooking the ocean with large windows, beautiful furniture and a luxurious bathroom with a jaccusi and a separate shower. The estate is set fairly high above the ocean so you get an eagle eye view and the sound of the waves crashing into the shore below is distant and doesn't distract during the night. There is access to a private beach, a beautiful infinity pool and a sea salt bath pool which was unfortunately not filled when we stayed. There restaurant is superb, I would go as far as saying it is fine dining with a wide selection of delicious meals for dinner and a huge selection of breakfast options.

Location is ok - with transport being so cheap in Thailand, a taxi ride into the central area doesn't cost much.

Overall this is an up market property, it is relatively expensive but you get luxury, comfort, tranquility and a delicious restaurant to dine at. Excellent stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank k3bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a holiday there for a week. Lovely place to stay, and quite place,if you want to relax from noise. The room was excellent, service was amazing.This is one of the perfect place where we had stayed.The beach is near, just need to go with downstairs. When we stayed mostly was rainy,but had some sunny days. Really good relaxing spa.
Food was good,had really nice choice of it.In the evening had dinner, with a very good menu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kier8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 7 nights at VR mid July 2012 my husband chose Mom Tri VR based on TripAdvisor comments and it didn't disappoint, our room was very spacious and the the over sized bed was fantastic and super comfortable pillows so comfy. The bathroom was great with a large bath tub and a separate shower. The staff were fantastic and very friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice to relax and unwind especially after the walk down to the pool area, ( but its worth the walk).
The housekeeping was fantastic and the attention to detail with the little treats in the afternoon and the evening. The Restaurant food was delicious ..Mom Tri Villa Royale is a very special place to stay.. I would highly recommend VR and the price suits, you get your privacy , your relaxation and the service you pay for ..Something you have to do once and experience ..for that special break away a home away from home ....

Room Tip: Room 35 fantastic Views and very quiet , 3 flights of stairs to the room is something to consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing