We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chanalai Flora Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This resort is at the end of Kata beach and is handy to walk to shopping, beach, taxis and restaurants. The staff are quite friendly. We had booked a superior room but got upgraded without being told to a deluxe room which was very large. The deluxe rooms were in a new building but the downside to them is that there is no hot water in that building, which we were not told until about the fifth or sixth time we asked someone to come and look at our hot water. We requested to be changed into a superior room so we could have hot water but those rooms only had lukewarm water and no pressure. Our room had a view of the concrete wall of the neighbouring building, when we asked to get a room with a view since there was no hot water they said no because we had been upgraded. Breakfast buffet was ok - toast, cereals and Asian stle foods. The two pools were nice and the resort was quiet. Would recommend this hotel but not for those wanting hot water!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    158
    73
    32
    23
See reviews for
106
177
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like it was a good hotel 5 years ago but it looks like time and bad Profit has taken its toll. We asked them to call a tour company for us and they charged us for the call, the pool is randomly cleaned and When done not well enough. Bathrooms are old with old and stained towels, matrasses are plastic covered, the staff not helpful and at times look like they would rather surf the internet or be somewhere else than help. This hotel has major issues and should look over this. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassychum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst QLD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place the room was very nice friendly staff very well kept something's need some attention but bit of an upgrade but really had a nice stay. Loved swimming in the pool it is very close to everything we walked everywhere lots of nice restaurants in walking distance

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValmaiOakhurstQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

All in all a good experience thanks to the efforts of the staff. They are extremely helpful and friendly that it is a pleasure to seem them daily. Had to switch rooms due to noisy a/c and again because they moved us to twin beds...third time lucky. Room is very good and is close enough to the lobby that we are able to tap into wi-fi without having to go downstairs. Not impressed by TV..has no worthy news channel and five HBO channels all showing the same thing in various states of poor reception. Pool is clean and warm but closes too early. Breakfast is good but they start to pack it up a little too early. Close to beach ( five minute walk ) and some good restaurants. Worth the price and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowlyinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent just one night, We thought that for the price was a good deal. We paid 1035 bath (26 Euro more or less) and the room was big, the bathroom was clean everything in good shape. The breakfast included, could have been better, but for one day was fine. What went on my nervs, was that the door-window from our balcony was falling out twice as i tried to open it!!! This was so dangerous.. me holding the heavy glass door and the wind was so strong , It could really cause a serious accident. My husband called some people they tried to fixed it but the next morning was the same story. This was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the front desk personal to the butlers every staff member is gracious and welcoming. Everyone tries to please, and goes above and beyond expectations. The accommodations are superb. Each unit has It's own plunge pool and is a separate building, assuring privacy. The value for the money is excellent. All in all perfect place! Will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miklos220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-April and enjoyed our stay.

We stayed at a total of 7 hotels while in Thailand and found the overall service standards are way below North America. When comparing this hotel to the others in Thailand, it was on par, but nowhere near what we're used to back home. Don't expect service staff in this hotel (or any other in Thailand) to go out of their way for you. On the rare occasion it does happen, consider it a blessing!

The location is great with a short walk to the beach. The rooms were big but in need of an overhaul. Everything is old and well used, but we can't complain for the price we paid.

The pools were nice and clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We ate lunch at the pool one day and although overpriced, we enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and to those who are looking for basic comforts at a good price. If you're looking for the "perfect" hotel, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor. So many stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Property: Chanalai Flora Resort
Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing