We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place the room was very nice friendly staff very well kept something's need some attention but bit of an upgrade but really had a nice stay. Loved swimming in the pool it is very close to everything we walked everywhere lots of nice restaurants in walking distance

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValmaiOakhurstQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

All in all a good experience thanks to the efforts of the staff. They are extremely helpful and friendly that it is a pleasure to seem them daily. Had to switch rooms due to noisy a/c and again because they moved us to twin beds...third time lucky. Room is very good and is close enough to the lobby that we are able to tap into wi-fi without having to go downstairs. Not impressed by TV..has no worthy news channel and five HBO channels all showing the same thing in various states of poor reception. Pool is clean and warm but closes too early. Breakfast is good but they start to pack it up a little too early. Close to beach ( five minute walk ) and some good restaurants. Worth the price and would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlowlyinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent just one night, We thought that for the price was a good deal. We paid 1035 bath (26 Euro more or less) and the room was big, the bathroom was clean everything in good shape. The breakfast included, could have been better, but for one day was fine. What went on my nervs, was that the door-window from our balcony was falling out twice as i tried to open it!!! This was so dangerous.. me holding the heavy glass door and the wind was so strong , It could really cause a serious accident. My husband called some people they tried to fixed it but the next morning was the same story. This was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the front desk personal to the butlers every staff member is gracious and welcoming. Everyone tries to please, and goes above and beyond expectations. The accommodations are superb. Each unit has It's own plunge pool and is a separate building, assuring privacy. The value for the money is excellent. All in all perfect place! Will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miklos220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-April and enjoyed our stay.

We stayed at a total of 7 hotels while in Thailand and found the overall service standards are way below North America. When comparing this hotel to the others in Thailand, it was on par, but nowhere near what we're used to back home. Don't expect service staff in this hotel (or any other in Thailand) to go out of their way for you. On the rare occasion it does happen, consider it a blessing!

The location is great with a short walk to the beach. The rooms were big but in need of an overhaul. Everything is old and well used, but we can't complain for the price we paid.

The pools were nice and clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We ate lunch at the pool one day and although overpriced, we enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and to those who are looking for basic comforts at a good price. If you're looking for the "perfect" hotel, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor. So many stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Allthough the location is just a few minutes near the beach, we didnt liked our stay. In fact, it was horrible. During our trip through Thailand, we stayed two separate nights in this hotel. Receptionstaff speaks very bad english and not that friendly at all. Our room was moldy, humid and fairly old. Matresses are covered with plastic covers which made the bed very sweaty and sheets had some stains. The pool is fairly large but not well maintained. After this first night, we decided to spent the 2nd night elsewhere.
During the checkoutprocess, they charged us for 1 bottle of water from the minibar which we didnt used (the plastic seal was "gone" but the bottle was still unopened. They really made a fuss about 25 bath which we eventually payed to get rid of this discussion.

My advice: go spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed there for 6 nights from the 15th April 2013, I found that the resort is in a very good position with regards the beach, shops etc. The lower pool was fantastic. Very cool under the waterfalls.
My room was average. There was a problem with the key stand for the power. Also my bathroom had some damage in the ceiling.
I found the staff generally very good and helpful. The beds were hard & I like that.
For the price it is good value.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but mainly for the position of the hotel. There were too many mosquitoes in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biszzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#16 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#26 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchidacea Resort
Orchidacea Resort
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $60 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing