We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are things to improve” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Flora Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There are things to improve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent just one night, We thought that for the price was a good deal. We paid 1035 bath (26 Euro more or less) and the room was big, the bathroom was clean everything in good shape. The breakfast included, could have been better, but for one day was fine. What went on my nervs, was that the door-window from our balcony was falling out twice as i tried to open it!!! This was so dangerous.. me holding the heavy glass door and the wind was so strong , It could really cause a serious accident. My husband called some people they tried to fixed it but the next morning was the same story. This was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    146
    65
    30
    22
See reviews for
98
164
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the front desk personal to the butlers every staff member is gracious and welcoming. Everyone tries to please, and goes above and beyond expectations. The accommodations are superb. Each unit has It's own plunge pool and is a separate building, assuring privacy. The value for the money is excellent. All in all perfect place! Will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miklos220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-April and enjoyed our stay.

We stayed at a total of 7 hotels while in Thailand and found the overall service standards are way below North America. When comparing this hotel to the others in Thailand, it was on par, but nowhere near what we're used to back home. Don't expect service staff in this hotel (or any other in Thailand) to go out of their way for you. On the rare occasion it does happen, consider it a blessing!

The location is great with a short walk to the beach. The rooms were big but in need of an overhaul. Everything is old and well used, but we can't complain for the price we paid.

The pools were nice and clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We ate lunch at the pool one day and although overpriced, we enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and to those who are looking for basic comforts at a good price. If you're looking for the "perfect" hotel, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor. So many stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Allthough the location is just a few minutes near the beach, we didnt liked our stay. In fact, it was horrible. During our trip through Thailand, we stayed two separate nights in this hotel. Receptionstaff speaks very bad english and not that friendly at all. Our room was moldy, humid and fairly old. Matresses are covered with plastic covers which made the bed very sweaty and sheets had some stains. The pool is fairly large but not well maintained. After this first night, we decided to spent the 2nd night elsewhere.
During the checkoutprocess, they charged us for 1 bottle of water from the minibar which we didnt used (the plastic seal was "gone" but the bottle was still unopened. They really made a fuss about 25 bath which we eventually payed to get rid of this discussion.

My advice: go spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed there for 6 nights from the 15th April 2013, I found that the resort is in a very good position with regards the beach, shops etc. The lower pool was fantastic. Very cool under the waterfalls.
My room was average. There was a problem with the key stand for the power. Also my bathroom had some damage in the ceiling.
I found the staff generally very good and helpful. The beds were hard & I like that.
For the price it is good value.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but mainly for the position of the hotel. There were too many mosquitoes in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biszzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's all about the location with Serene Resort. The location is just perfect - so close to the beach and restaurants/shops. Definitely value for money on this one.

Our room with pool view was in the old block and it was ok, it could definitely do with a bit of revamp. The bed was great though, really big and comfortable. I really struggled through every breakfast, didn't enjoy it at all. It just seemed too uniteresting, same every day. I'm happy stayed for "only" 7 nights.

The pool area was nice, clean and never too busy. The staff by the pool were really friendly and so were the housekeepers and the guys by the taxi stand. Unfortunately cannot say the same about the reception staff, some of them spoke a very poor English.

We were happy we stayed here in the end and not in one of the 4* hotels (which we were checking before booking Serene) as we saw how far away and up the hill they are.
I really wish I could write a really good review but the the hotel is lacking something.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conejitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good value for money. We were happy with our 2 rooms. Clean rooms, lovely setting. Small balcony didn't bother us at all. Beds a little hard but we were so happy, busy and tired we slept like logs regardless. Setting looks just like the internet pictures. Breakfast was good. Enjoyed the smiling omelette/ egg station cook. Quiet, hard working staff that I enjoyed talking to. Reception staff not very helpful or friendly. Bar, kitchen and grounds staff were friendly and helpful. If you need beautiful dresses, suits or clothes made please support the local tailor at the entrance. Friendly family business. You can also order all your taxi's at the entrance. The bar and restaurant are a must to visit at least once in your stay. Lovely pools and deck chairs. Very convienient location. 2 minute walk to beach and right in the middle of many shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
#6 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Property: Chanalai Flora Resort
Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing