We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Allthough the location is just a few minutes near the beach, we didnt liked our stay. In fact, it was horrible. During our trip through Thailand, we stayed two separate nights in this hotel. Receptionstaff speaks very bad english and not that friendly at all. Our room was moldy, humid and fairly old. Matresses are covered with plastic covers which made the bed very sweaty and sheets had some stains. The pool is fairly large but not well maintained. After this first night, we decided to spent the 2nd night elsewhere.
During the checkoutprocess, they charged us for 1 bottle of water from the minibar which we didnt used (the plastic seal was "gone" but the bottle was still unopened. They really made a fuss about 25 bath which we eventually payed to get rid of this discussion.

My advice: go spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 663 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed there for 6 nights from the 15th April 2013, I found that the resort is in a very good position with regards the beach, shops etc. The lower pool was fantastic. Very cool under the waterfalls.
My room was average. There was a problem with the key stand for the power. Also my bathroom had some damage in the ceiling.
I found the staff generally very good and helpful. The beds were hard & I like that.
For the price it is good value.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but mainly for the position of the hotel. There were too many mosquitoes in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biszzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's all about the location with Serene Resort. The location is just perfect - so close to the beach and restaurants/shops. Definitely value for money on this one.

Our room with pool view was in the old block and it was ok, it could definitely do with a bit of revamp. The bed was great though, really big and comfortable. I really struggled through every breakfast, didn't enjoy it at all. It just seemed too uniteresting, same every day. I'm happy stayed for "only" 7 nights.

The pool area was nice, clean and never too busy. The staff by the pool were really friendly and so were the housekeepers and the guys by the taxi stand. Unfortunately cannot say the same about the reception staff, some of them spoke a very poor English.

We were happy we stayed here in the end and not in one of the 4* hotels (which we were checking before booking Serene) as we saw how far away and up the hill they are.
I really wish I could write a really good review but the the hotel is lacking something.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conejitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good value for money. We were happy with our 2 rooms. Clean rooms, lovely setting. Small balcony didn't bother us at all. Beds a little hard but we were so happy, busy and tired we slept like logs regardless. Setting looks just like the internet pictures. Breakfast was good. Enjoyed the smiling omelette/ egg station cook. Quiet, hard working staff that I enjoyed talking to. Reception staff not very helpful or friendly. Bar, kitchen and grounds staff were friendly and helpful. If you need beautiful dresses, suits or clothes made please support the local tailor at the entrance. Friendly family business. You can also order all your taxi's at the entrance. The bar and restaurant are a must to visit at least once in your stay. Lovely pools and deck chairs. Very convienient location. 2 minute walk to beach and right in the middle of many shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel staff were all very friendly and professional. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

We had a pool view room, the only thing I didnt like was how small the balcony was but there is enough room for a clothes rack, table and 2 chairs.

Great value for money, would reccomend it to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after christmas. They speak very bad english in the reception and there was many missunderstandings during our stay. The room had a bad smell, very hard beds and that extra bed or sofa that looks very nice on the photos was old and dirthy. One of the pools was covered because they were preparing for new years eve dinner. This hotel has had it´dsbest before days long ago.

Many of the the restaurangs in Kata are "steakhouses" because the tourists want to have food they know. A lot of tourists and a crowded beach. We was to Kata last time 9 years ago and now you hardly can feel that you are in Thailand anymore. Many, many russians and swedish tourists.

Room Tip: Don´t stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sivlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at youth hostels that were nicer than this place. It was by far one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. From the moment we checked in the staff and service were disorganized and inattentive - they put us in the wrong room and we had to argue for a larger room with 2 beds like we had specific in our reservation, they tried to force us into paying for a new years eve party as part of the check in process saying it was part of the "rate", and they wouldn't even do so much as help call us a taxi when we checked out - the people that worked there were almost like zombies.

The actual hotel facility was embarrassing - totally disgusting. There was actual dog poop on the pool grounds that wasn't cleaned up for days, the sheets were stained, and the mattresses were lined in crinkly plastic so that every time you got on the bed it sounded like you were crinkling a plastic bag (class, I know). The bathrooms were designed with glass doors on the main bathroom, then glass doors on the toilet room so that there was essentially no privacy, and there was almost no hot water for 3 days - barely lukewarm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $39 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing