We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel staff were all very friendly and professional. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

We had a pool view room, the only thing I didnt like was how small the balcony was but there is enough room for a clothes rack, table and 2 chairs.

Great value for money, would reccomend it to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 604 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after christmas. They speak very bad english in the reception and there was many missunderstandings during our stay. The room had a bad smell, very hard beds and that extra bed or sofa that looks very nice on the photos was old and dirthy. One of the pools was covered because they were preparing for new years eve dinner. This hotel has had it´dsbest before days long ago.

Many of the the restaurangs in Kata are "steakhouses" because the tourists want to have food they know. A lot of tourists and a crowded beach. We was to Kata last time 9 years ago and now you hardly can feel that you are in Thailand anymore. Many, many russians and swedish tourists.

Room Tip: Don´t stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sivlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at youth hostels that were nicer than this place. It was by far one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. From the moment we checked in the staff and service were disorganized and inattentive - they put us in the wrong room and we had to argue for a larger room with 2 beds like we had specific in our reservation, they tried to force us into paying for a new years eve party as part of the check in process saying it was part of the "rate", and they wouldn't even do so much as help call us a taxi when we checked out - the people that worked there were almost like zombies.

The actual hotel facility was embarrassing - totally disgusting. There was actual dog poop on the pool grounds that wasn't cleaned up for days, the sheets were stained, and the mattresses were lined in crinkly plastic so that every time you got on the bed it sounded like you were crinkling a plastic bag (class, I know). The bathrooms were designed with glass doors on the main bathroom, then glass doors on the toilet room so that there was essentially no privacy, and there was almost no hot water for 3 days - barely lukewarm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just got back from Kata Beach where we stayed for 13 nights at Serene Resort. We booked the room early on August via Trivago website and got a VERY good price (403 eur/13 nights/2 persons). And that's all I'm willing to pay on a hotel like Serene Resort, I must say. We had difficulties from the beginning with contacting the hotel. It took about 2 or 3 emails until I got a confirmation and the staff's English skills are very poor. I tried to book a pick-up service from the airport and after 4 emails I got the confirmation, but when we arrived to the airport there were no taxi to pick us up. And no explanations from the staff either.

Our first room was on the ground floor, full of mosquitos and smelled like mould. The paint was peeling out the walls and it seems that the whole room was somehow damp. The next morning we managed to change the room to the other building and to the 2nd floor. That room was quite ok for us until we found out that there were a lot of small ants somewhere behind the furniture. I noticed that when I left an opened bag of potato chips on the table in the evening. Next morning the table and the bag was full of disgusting little things. That explains why the the hotel has forbidden to bring any fruits to the room...

Serene Resort has a very nice pool area with 2 separate pools but on our 3rd day they started to build a cover on top of the bigger pool due to the Christmas gala dinner which took place on the pool area. That was very disappointing as we were not informed on that and to be honest, the pool area was the best thing in this hotel. The bigger pool stayed covered until the New Year's Eve gala dinner, i.e. the whole week! And they started to took the covering down right after the New Year's gala dinner which was in the middle of the night. All the noise and the banging lasts up around 3 in the morning.

The hotel location is good and the rooms are quite the average. Housekeeping started the cleaning around 8 o'clock every morning and no matter if you had put the "Don't disturb" sign on the door knob, they still knock on the door and come in... We had breakfast two times in the hotel and that wasn't very impressive. No cold cuts, no cheese. That's why we ended up enjoying our breakfast in the city. Especially the Danish Bakery offered very good breakfast for a reasonable price.

The hotel staff is the weakest link in Serene Resort. No smiles, no "hello" no "goodbye", that's not what you are expecting when visiting Thailand and Thai-people. Their English language skills are so poor that you can't communicate with them at all. They can handle the check-in, check-out and invoicing, but that's all. Any other questions were too difficult for them.

And the hotel towel system was quite strange. I couldn't understand the system at all. We got a card which allowed us to take max 3 towels to the pool. Sometimes they took the card when we took the towels, sometimes I had to sign something to have the towels. When we returned the towels, nobody signed anything, they just gave the card back. Sometimes when we asked for the towels they asked us the old towels which we had returned 2 days ago... I was quite sure that they will charge us the "unreturned" towels when we checked out, but fortunately that didn't happen.

In a nutshell, good location, poor staff. I would never pay the list price for this hotel. And be aware of the young guy at the tailor's shop next to the hotel entry. He can be VERY persistent and VERY unpleasant when he finally understands that you don't want to buy a suit...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a compfortable stay at the Serene Resort in September, the room was clean, the beds were hard but compfy. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the restaurant was reasonable in price and taste. The swim up bar was great! also reasonable in price which is great. The only negatives were that the Shampoo looked as if it had been used, and there was what looked like an old cat poo on the roof by our balcony.... Would certainly recommend this hotel, its really reasonable in price and is close to the beach and shopping in Kata.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms above the foyer and were able to connect to the wifi which staff said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights in dec 2012. We first got a very nice room, but there were a connecting room. The worst I have ever experienced! We heard everything the neighbor said. It was like staying in the same room. We asked for another room, and it changed my opinion. The good things: location is perfect, nice pool areas, ok breakfast, nice rooms if avoiding connecting. Negative things: low wather pressure in the shower.
Kata beach is very crowded. To much tourists now. I really can't recommend Kata beach. It's to busy! Little Kata is ruined.

Room Tip: Avoid connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirkeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Two weeks Novemberg 2012. Basic budget hotel. Nice location. Nice two pools including bars.
Standard breakfast. Same setting every morning. No mangos. Fans did not work.
Free WiFi at poolside covering also balconies.
Room 4304.
Repairin of cieling not finished, plaster residues on the walls.
Thin outdoor had to be broken in the past. Repairin of the door lock poor.
Waterpressure too low for a nice shower.
Noisy air conditioning.
Working minibar, not expensive.
The way from lift to the room ugly. Rusty metalsteps, moldy walls, water droping to your neck, dangled black pipelines. Like backyard.

Room Tip: Avoid building 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapsaM189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#25 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $64 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing