We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A month in Thailand and 14 hotels later, this was certainly the poorest. The rooms were dated, the staff unpleasant at checkin amd an infestation of bugs in the room and the pool area was very shabby. All in all very disappointed? Provided with vouchers for a welcome drink on arrival for use at the bar which turned out to be a non alcoholic cocktail. Moved on after 2 days to another hotel. Will not be booking into this hotel unless a major revamp.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank derrykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 600 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited12th November, took the 50 min tour which was well worth the money. Half way round, the mahout asked if wanted him to take some photos towhich we said yes. He got off, told my partner tositon the neck of the elephant nod took some photos. He then surprised us by walking off and continued taking photos and videos for the remainder of the trip -around 25 min leaving just the 2 of us riding alone. Fabulous photos and well recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank iwanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The place is not too bad. Close to the everything and only 7mins to the beach. The only minus point is the pressure of the toilet flush and the floor seems to be moist all the times. The air con is working perfectly alright.

Room Tip: try to book the room at the lower level. Not all buildings have lift. For taxi service, book thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yawn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week, wish it could've been longer. Walk to beach in 5min, 2 good pools if you're not that energetic. Staff were friendly and helpful, check in/out a breeze, room rates very reasonable. A good choice in Kata

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There is the most unfriendly place that I have ever stayed. The room was ok, just ok. The pool was disgusting... worst than public pool... sand on the bottom, dark and dirty water. UNFRIENDLY STAFF!!! The housekeeper got in the room when was DO NOT DISTURB on the door. I went to front desk to complain and there the front desk staff argued with me. She said that I was lying. When I tried to upgrade my booking because I booked online. So... I moved early to another hotel. The new hotel was nice, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank diveramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed one night in july 2012. Room was on the lowest floor and quite basic. Two pools in different floors and pool bar were ok. Good breakfast.

We were travelling with 2 yrs old child and there was a road just outside the hotel yard. This was a little problem with baby buggy while there was no sidewalk and there was a lot of traffic.

Good and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henkka1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Serene Resort is a nice small hotel near Kata Beach.

Stayed here last October 2010. Booked for 2 rooms through Asiatravel.

Our flight from Singapore was delayed, and arrived close to midnight. We had a hard time getting a cab charging reasonably for taking us to our hotel.(If you will be arriving late at night in Phuket, get the hotel transport to pick you up. It's far more convenient and depending on your negotiating skills, prove to be cheaper than haggling with the cab drivers.)

The cab driver seemed to never heard of the hotel and kept calling someone on the phone, presumably asking where it was in Kata.

Surprisingly, a hotel staff was in the reception area when we arrived. They seemed to be waiting for us. And we were informed of our Phi-phi tour pickup early in the morning (booked thru Asiatravel as well).

The rooms were small and simple, but clean and looked nice. It has a private balcony with the view of the pool below. But the rooms were hot even with the aircon on (in the other room, aircon broke down altogether). We saw an aircon maintenance personnel doing repairs in the morning. Some renovation works were also ongoing dowstairs.

We loved their breakfast, lot of choices, good spread, great ambiance, cheerful restaurant staff.

We had a great time at the pool. After being in the sun and sand for too long, the pool was a welcome treat.

Kata beach was about 5 mins walk, a very nice beach and not too crowded (downside: the beach was littered by trash in the evening). Saw a lot of restaurants and convenience stores in the vicinity as well.

Liked Best : quiet, breakfast food, the pool and it's location (very near from the beach)
Like Least : charging too much for a 2 hour late checkout request.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butt3rcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 55 in Kata Beach
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#24 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $63 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing