We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Kata Palm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our stay in Kata Palm”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

we stayed on July 2014.
room was very nice, breakfast was good.
the hotel is big which might not be liked by everyone.
we stayed at the end of it (3rd floor) so quite a long walk till the entrance.
location is good in kata area.
free and good wifi.
distance from airport - an hour
distance from most locations - 20-30 minutes

Room Tip: facing pool + not far from reception/dining room rooms with pool access will be much more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you were happy with your stay here and hopefully to see you again.

Best regards,
Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    528
    209
    58
    42
See reviews for
322
531
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The place and the room was of good standard, everything went as per expectations. The management and stuff did what was needed to be done, our room was clean everyday, the bedding was okay. The towels however need to be replced after sometime as some looked to be à little old.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zukisani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments sharing here, we will see about our linen as mention, we hope you had enjoyed your stay here and will visit us again next time.

Have a nice day!
Best regards,

Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

20 of us just spent 8 days here and had a ball. Staff were friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us where the drivers stayed with you all day for no extra charge and got you back to the hotel. Cost was about $1.50 per person. Beds were hard but surprisingly comfortable. Pools were great and buffet breakfast had a great mix of local and western food. Explore the streets and enjoy the local restaurants and shops. Great surf beach 2 minutes walk. If you want to be out of Patong but only a 15minute ride away this is the place to stay. Great view of the mountains out the back.
Only downside was Wifi was slow and poolside bar service was a bit slow.
Great value for money we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a great view of the pool and you can see the mountains when you open the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you and all of your party had the great time with us. We hope you will visit us again next time. When you have planned, please feel free to let us know.

Best regards,
Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A 45 min trip from airport. The room we had was on the 3rd floor and right at the back of the hotel. The beds were hard but that was fine, and the rooms were pretty good. Wifi was 50/50 and was really slow. The pools were excellent but the bar was extremely slow. It took at least 15 min to get a coke and even longer for alcohol. The food at the hotel was good but took a long time. The staff seemed to be very slow but were very polite and helpful. Don't go to the buffet out the front the food is horrible and expensive. The free massage was great and i suggest getting them from around kata. Kata itself is a good place to shop. Try going further away from main roads to find cheaper products u want to buy. The beaches are good but the water is hot and not refreshing. There is a surf bar near the beach and i recommend going there. There is a surf rider which is great fun. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, it's an instructive comments for us to improve our services.

Best regards,

Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minutes walk along busy, dirty roads to get to the beach. There are no views and Kata is generally an ugly area to stay in, it's a $20 cab or tuktuk to Patong. There is nothing to do in the Kata area, shopping is very average and more expensive than Patong.

The hotel itself is awful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were left waiting in the lobby for hours. The staff are not helpful and prefer to sit on their phones and text instead of assist you. I had a second floor room that was dark and very far away from reception. The breakfast was very disappointing compared to other Thai hotels I've stayed at - unless you are happy with eggs and toast there is nothing else western. The room service was horrible, avoid the spaghetti bolognaise and rock hard garlic bread.

There is a tiny fridge in the room filled with mini bar items. I moved one of the beers into the fridge door to make room for a water bottle, and the hotel charged my room for drinking it. Just because it was in the door, 10cm from it's original place.

The beds are rock hard and horrible, they didn't sweep up all the sand off the floor and didn't wash the towels. Do not stay here, it is a horrible excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chloe0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback to let us know, it would be great if you could give us more details so that we can source it out for our improving.

Best regards,
Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Came from a gorgeous hotel on a secluded island and this was a rude shock. Not only is it set back from the beach, we walk along a stinky walled road to get to and from it. You enter a tiny reception which is always busy and full of people and luggage. The staff were friendly and capable long long walk to our rooms which were spacious and Thai themed. The view onto the pool was nice and green. Breakfast included was the usual and all as expected. Not great not totally awful.
The beds were rock hard! Do not open your balcony door or you will be invaded by mosquitoes. Lots of signs saying what not to do. Cheap and cheerful is how you could describe it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LouieMcGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that your room allocation was too far and the bed is too hard. Please let us know, our team certainly will assist to meet your requirements.

With warm regards,
Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room we had was on the fourth floor with partial pool view. The room was spacious and always kept clean. Breakfast was great - more like a brunch with the choices available.

We loved the pool, but only swam in it once because we got sick after the first swim and we wonder if the pool is chlorinated enough?

We did find it hard to make most of the staff understand what we wanted with very few speaking any English, (except for some of the Management team) but they were always friendly and ever ready to help when they did understand what we wanted.

Management went out of their way to present me with a birthday cake at dinner and I was pleasantly surprised when we got up to the room to find they had decorated the bed beautifully. Very nice touch! Thank you!

We would definitely go back to Kata Palm Resort. The only negative is the mosquitos that kept us up at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozlor17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKATAPALM, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback and nice photos here. We will share it among our staff members.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a nice day!
Best regards,

Vichai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing