We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Kata Palm In february.
Good location , right In the center of Kata.
Abouth 5 minutes walk to very nice Kata beach.
Kata Palm has 30 free sunbeds at midle of the beach, and you get tickets In reception 8.30 in the morning.
It,s a very big hotel, with big Pool aerea.
We had deluxe room, 47 square meters,and a good size balcony.
Be aware of , you can hear everything from the bathroom, because of a kind of wall/window you can open , and it is NOT sound proof.
In the midle of Kata center, but very quiet.
Breakfast was very good, and never empty.
Taxi cost to airport is 1000 bath, operated by the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good hotel with good location to beach, restaurants and shopping. Only a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel arranges shuttlebus transfer to and from the beach. Nice poolarea. The breakfast is okey with a good variety of choices. Though, I could live without the chinese background music that was on all the time during breakfast!! The rooms are okey, but with very thin walls so you could hear everything outside the room at night when people came home late, or walking in the room above.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomten67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Kata beach resort for 4 nights and had a fantastic time. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, with a balcony over looking the central pool area.

There are 2 pools, one which snakes round the gardens in the middle of the resort.

The breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice!

The hotel was only a 10 minute walk from kata beach, or there was a free shuttle bus. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. We went to Patong for an evening and it took about 30 mins and the taxis organised by the hotel as very reasonable.

I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Funinthesun123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Only stayed one night due to price , around 120 pounds plus extra 20 quid for child's bed, the room was lovely, good bath great shower and comfy bed,pool was a good size for me too much greenery around which often fell in the water.didnt eat there as missed breakfast .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We didn't really know what to expect from this hotel. It looked nice on the pictures but at the same time a bit old and there was a possibility that it would be a bit worn. Anyway when we arrived the check-in went smooth and we were shown to our room. We got a really nice room on the ground floor with a porch facing the kids pool so it was only for our daughter to run outside and jump into the pool. The room was fresh and it was big enough for three persons. The bathroom was also fresh and it felt like it must have been renovated quiet recently. The pool area is very good and pretty big with one kids pool, one large pool and also one pool connecting with the pool access rooms. There's also a small playground and a playroom where the kids can spend some time. The location is good and you will have a 5-10 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel offers 30 free sunbeds at the beach per day which otherwise cost 200 THB down at the beach. There's a free shuttle bus to the beach departing every hour in the morning. There are many restaurants and shops nearby, you basically just walk outside from the hotel to find yourself in the middle of Kata. The breakfast is good and there are a lot of things to choose from. The staff is helpful but the English is a bit limited. There are also a restaurant by the pool where you can eat lunch and the price level is actually pretty good, especially for being a hotel.
Overall this is a very good hotel which I can recommend. It's perfect when travelling with kids due to the large and various pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are nice due to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The resort is just a few minutes walk from the beach. Location is good - lot of eating places and small shops around. The rooms are comfortable, a bit small though. They upgraded us on our arrival which was quite nice of them.the balcony of the room opened on the swimming pool and had a nice cozy feel to it. The pool itself meanders through the property. Overall good stay, the breakfast was a let down.
If your purpose of traveling to Phuket is partying primarily, then better location would be patong beach area. Kata is a small quiet beach, lively surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnehaArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights with 2 children ages 2 and 3 and my mother in law, we had interconnecting rooms which were joined via a door on the balcony, great for our situation but not sure how this would be for families with young children needing more than one room. Overall the hotel was good but not great. The pool is lovely and the toddler pool was ideal. The food in the resort is average, breakfast was hit and miss, as was the room service. The room was clean when we arrived but when you are there for 6 nights it would be nice if they changed the sheet at least once! The child's cot was not great and if I had know this I would have been better off taking my own. They gym was a waste of time as none of the cardio equipment worked properly and the weights were ancient, but I loved this as an excuse to skip a couple of workouts! Location wise this hotel is great, beach is about a 5 minute walk, there are plenty of restaurants around the resort to choose from and lots of shopping near by. A special mention the the head concierge/ porter, I have forgotten his name but he was by far the friendliest most helpful or them all! Overall I would say this hotel is good value for money, if you can find a great rate then you will be happy, but you need to remember you get what you pay for, you will be happy if you are here on a budget!

Room Tip: Make sure you buy a can of Baygon from 7-11, the mosquitoes will be in your room every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metadee Resort and Villas
Metadee Resort and Villas
#13 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $69 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing