We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury rooms in a too busy town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury rooms in a too busy town”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Only stayed one night due to price , around 120 pounds plus extra 20 quid for child's bed, the room was lovely, good bath great shower and comfy bed,pool was a good size for me too much greenery around which often fell in the water.didnt eat there as missed breakfast .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    522
    205
    58
    41
See reviews for
315
524
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
342 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We didn't really know what to expect from this hotel. It looked nice on the pictures but at the same time a bit old and there was a possibility that it would be a bit worn. Anyway when we arrived the check-in went smooth and we were shown to our room. We got a really nice room on the ground floor with a porch facing the kids pool so it was only for our daughter to run outside and jump into the pool. The room was fresh and it was big enough for three persons. The bathroom was also fresh and it felt like it must have been renovated quiet recently. The pool area is very good and pretty big with one kids pool, one large pool and also one pool connecting with the pool access rooms. There's also a small playground and a playroom where the kids can spend some time. The location is good and you will have a 5-10 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel offers 30 free sunbeds at the beach per day which otherwise cost 200 THB down at the beach. There's a free shuttle bus to the beach departing every hour in the morning. There are many restaurants and shops nearby, you basically just walk outside from the hotel to find yourself in the middle of Kata. The breakfast is good and there are a lot of things to choose from. The staff is helpful but the English is a bit limited. There are also a restaurant by the pool where you can eat lunch and the price level is actually pretty good, especially for being a hotel.
Overall this is a very good hotel which I can recommend. It's perfect when travelling with kids due to the large and various pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are nice due to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The resort is just a few minutes walk from the beach. Location is good - lot of eating places and small shops around. The rooms are comfortable, a bit small though. They upgraded us on our arrival which was quite nice of them.the balcony of the room opened on the swimming pool and had a nice cozy feel to it. The pool itself meanders through the property. Overall good stay, the breakfast was a let down.
If your purpose of traveling to Phuket is partying primarily, then better location would be patong beach area. Kata is a small quiet beach, lively surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnehaArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights with 2 children ages 2 and 3 and my mother in law, we had interconnecting rooms which were joined via a door on the balcony, great for our situation but not sure how this would be for families with young children needing more than one room. Overall the hotel was good but not great. The pool is lovely and the toddler pool was ideal. The food in the resort is average, breakfast was hit and miss, as was the room service. The room was clean when we arrived but when you are there for 6 nights it would be nice if they changed the sheet at least once! The child's cot was not great and if I had know this I would have been better off taking my own. They gym was a waste of time as none of the cardio equipment worked properly and the weights were ancient, but I loved this as an excuse to skip a couple of workouts! Location wise this hotel is great, beach is about a 5 minute walk, there are plenty of restaurants around the resort to choose from and lots of shopping near by. A special mention the the head concierge/ porter, I have forgotten his name but he was by far the friendliest most helpful or them all! Overall I would say this hotel is good value for money, if you can find a great rate then you will be happy, but you need to remember you get what you pay for, you will be happy if you are here on a budget!

Room Tip: Make sure you buy a can of Baygon from 7-11, the mosquitoes will be in your room every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with out two sons and my parents over Christmas. Even though it's the busy season the staff was very accommodating. The location is right on a Main Street in Kata. The woman at the tour desk is incredibly helpful and gave some excellent recommendations for restaurants, tours, spas and cooking class. The pool and buffet breakfast are nice too. Overall good value considering it is the peak season.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank amzngrace917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great hotel.

Accommodates families fantastically well. We were a convoy of around 20 people, both friends and family, and it was the perfect location for our reunion. Some of us are english and some australian so it was a meet in the middle location for us all.

Staff were fantastic. Not so good English but you can't really expect that in Thailand.

Buffet breakfasts were great - chef would cook you up some fresh poached eggs in a morning which was brilliant. It is a continental buffet style breakfast so there was some strange foods but continental is never 100% to a persons taste anyway. Definitely something there for everyone.

Great location - 5 min walk from the beach and away from local bars and restaurants. Beach was beautiful and local food was great.

Can get a tuk tuk (I think that's what they were called) to Bangalore Road which is freakin crazy!! So much fun!!

Can book trips locally too which pick you up directly from hotel - Phi Phi island is phenomenal. Do not miss that if your in the area!!!

Pool is gorgeous at hotel with a bar serving cocktails that you can swim or walk up to. They put the cost on your tab so you don't need to carry money with you around the pool!

Low cost and bedrooms are really great! Seriously I would recommend this place to anyone I truly had the time of my life here :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHunt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at Kata Palm with our 2 year old boy for 3 days in October...It was the best resort in our entire Thailand trip.
The decor was rich, lovely spacious rooms, neat & clean linen, good WiFi, breakfast was big and awesome, Kata beach was walk-able though the resort had shuttle services...and the best being The Pool...Resort was perfect for us, very glad we chose these hotel and would definitely love to return one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception, else you will end up walking a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RemyaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 57 in Kata Beach
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 57 in Kata Beach
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing