We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oldie but a goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Adelaide
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An oldie but a goodie”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were delighted with our large room and the wonderful pools with beautiful tropical plants around them onto which our balcony looked. Breakfast had a big selection of Asian and Western dishes but quality was only fair. All staff were very helpful. Location is great - not far from the beach and plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Hotel is set back from the road which is nice. Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant did not live up to the standard set by the ret of the hotel. All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if stairs are a problem request a ground floor or 1st floor room which has a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    516
    202
    58
    41
See reviews for
312
521
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Aust
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is fantastic value for money in low season.

CHECK-IN: We arrived at approx 10am and were greeted warmly by the Guest Relations Manager (Pauline). We were first told our request for interconnecting rooms could not be done, but Pauline went away and came back with the good news that yes, we could have interconnecting rooms after all. Rooms were not ready as check in is not until 2pm so we were given pool towels and invited to enjoy the beautiful pool until our rooms were ready.

ROOM: We booked superior pool view and were given rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking one end of the 1st swimming pool. The rooms are starting to show their age but I absolutely loved the room from the moment we walked in - it was traditional thai style with a beautiful big balcony overlooking the gorgeous gardens. This hotel truly is a tropical oasis. I could sit on my bed and look out through the glass sliding doors and the plethora of palms made me feel like I was living in the jungle. Room was clean and bathroom was clean so all good.

BREAKFAST: Average, okay, mediocre, but at the price we paid, we didn't expect 5-star so it's all good. Coffee was excellent. Bacon was terrible. I know it's common practice, but I didn't like that there was certain areas of the buffet which contained the breads and pastries that was left uncovered for the flies to feast. Same for the fruit section.

STAFF: All the staff we came into contact with were nice. Kudos to Pauline (Guest Relations Manager) as she really went out of her way to welcome us.

LOCATION: Excellent. Very short walk to Kata Beach or you can catch the free shuttle. Close to restaurants and shops.

I would definitely stay here again when in Kata as it is a lovely hotel, albeit a little rough around the edges, but definitely value for money in low season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenwayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked for 1 night and stayed for 3. We chose this hotel after I got sunstroke in Patong and wanted a quieter location to relax and stay cool for a few days. The Kata Palm Resort & Spa was perfect. There was construction while we were there but we requested a room move and it wasn't an issue after that. The food was great, the rooms were spacious and beautiful and the pool was exactly what the doctor ordered.

Great value for the money and the location was good (short walk to the beach, right nears shops and restaurants) - I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the this hotel in June 2013. We have travelled to Patong in 2011 and returned and decided this time we would spend 5 nights in Kata Beach and 7 nights in Patong. This hotel was everything we expected.

Our room was spacious and we really loved the thai decor in the room. We had a large balcony which overlooked the stunning tropical pool areas that flows endlessly from one end of the complex to the end. We had a spa bath and were provided with toiletries. We found umbrellas in the cupboard in the room which were very handy for the rain.

The buffet breakfast was extensive and offered both western and Asian choices. Eggs are cooked on demand and we found the staff very helpful.

The pool area is well maintained and the tropical gardens surrounding the pool were lovely. We certainly enjoyed the swim up bar and it is just a great place to relax and unwind.

The hotel lobby has dramatic ceilings and the staff made us feel very welcome. Nothing was ever a problem and they were always willing to help.

There is about a 10 minute walk to the beach as you cannot get direct access across the road due to Club Med. Do not let this put you off as there is plenty of shops to pass by and keep you entertained.

Kata Beach is quieter than Patong Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aussie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourimbah, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a great stay in this resort with my fiance. Highlight for the pool and surroundings, just amazing! Walking distance to the beach, buffet breakfast was varied with western choices and thai food, they cook eggs of your like to order and pancakes! Beautiful thai style decor in the room, very comfy bed and big room.
The only flaws was that the room was a bit dark and the wifi didn't work very well, but too be honest none of these interfered in our happiness :0). It was actually good to be out of contact for a few days.
Have to mention as well this. On our last day my partner forgot his hat somewhere close to the reception. Few days later when we were back in phuket (unfortunately in another resort) we thought we might check there if they had kept the hat for us. And they did! Really appreciated this! Thank's Kata Palm Resort and staff to make our time in Thailand ever more enjoyable

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor with the balcony facing the big pool and we really like it! Ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked Kata Palm after my parents had stayed there in 2011. For $50 per night per room we were very impressed. We had 2 rooms (Deluxe) a twin and a double (family of 4 with 2 teenagers), they were connected by double doors on the balcony which was a great idea.
Main Pool was a lot of fun as it wound around with pool access rooms off it. We were really happy with our large, spacious rooms and were glad we had not bothered with the pool access rooms (not very private)
Breakfast was good, eggs to cooked to order however you like them, and to be included in the room price was very good.
Staff were friendly but not great at English. Location was good, set back from the main road but only a short walk to the beach and lots of restaurants/shops either side.
Overall very good value but due to the pricing it attracts large groups which is only an issue at Breakfast time.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are ample, we were on the 3rd floor, can be noisy as all floors are tiled and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is located close to most of the tourist destinations and tours we had planned so it was a great area to be based in. Unfortunately we turned up to this hotel without a reservation so there was only 1 night of accommodation available for our group of 4. The hotel lobby is gorgeous with traditionally decorated furniture and artwork. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the pool, a little on the smaller side but big enough for two people. The staff were nice and the wifi worked well in the rooms. The breakfast area downstairs was very busy and had a huge selection of fresh fruits, cooked food & continental breakfast options. I would definitely return, with a booking, in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alycia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing