We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Moss Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money and Great Location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked Kata Palm after my parents had stayed there in 2011. For $50 per night per room we were very impressed. We had 2 rooms (Deluxe) a twin and a double (family of 4 with 2 teenagers), they were connected by double doors on the balcony which was a great idea.
Main Pool was a lot of fun as it wound around with pool access rooms off it. We were really happy with our large, spacious rooms and were glad we had not bothered with the pool access rooms (not very private)
Breakfast was good, eggs to cooked to order however you like them, and to be included in the room price was very good.
Staff were friendly but not great at English. Location was good, set back from the main road but only a short walk to the beach and lots of restaurants/shops either side.
Overall very good value but due to the pricing it attracts large groups which is only an issue at Breakfast time.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are ample, we were on the 3rd floor, can be noisy as all floors are tiled and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    528
    209
    58
    42
See reviews for
322
531
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is located close to most of the tourist destinations and tours we had planned so it was a great area to be based in. Unfortunately we turned up to this hotel without a reservation so there was only 1 night of accommodation available for our group of 4. The hotel lobby is gorgeous with traditionally decorated furniture and artwork. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the pool, a little on the smaller side but big enough for two people. The staff were nice and the wifi worked well in the rooms. The breakfast area downstairs was very busy and had a huge selection of fresh fruits, cooked food & continental breakfast options. I would definitely return, with a booking, in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alycia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location of Kata Palm Resort is one of the reason's I chose to stay there, it's a very short stroll to the beach and has plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance. I have holidayed in Kata a couple of times before and like Kata beach in this season for surfing. However I made a really poor room choice...more on this: We stayed in July 2013, 2 adults and 2 kids, I booked the Grand Deluxe room to give us a separate area for the kids sleeping. However the room was so dark and claustrophobic that we looked into a room change after our first night. There is no natural light in the entry room that has the daybed area, it opens to the bedroom which is also fairly dark. This is because of the walled outside bathroom that limits the natural light, the outside bath was surrounded by an algae-filled former fish pond and we couldn't use this area because of mosquitos (apart from the former fish pond not the Hotel's fault, but just added to our trapped feeling). The only alternative rooms available were the direct Pool access, which we didn't want because of safety concerns with our boys. We stuck with the room for about 5 nights then moved to another hotel (Centara Kata, to a one bed apartment with big light filled rooms and free of charge day beds made up for the kids).

With a better room, I'd consider staying at Kata Palm Resort again, the pools were lovely, the breakfast was fair, it's a decent 3+ standard hotel, and I found the staff and management pleasant and helpful. Including when we checked out early and they arranged a refund on our advanced purchase booking (less a one night early departure penalty). however the charge of 500 BHT per kid for each daybed is I think a bit steep, if you have two or more kids paying for another adjoining room isn't much more (in low season).

Room Tip: I don't recommend the Grand Deluxe rooms, dark and bunker-like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaybelle6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the resort for 7 days and it was great. We have everything we needed right at the resort. Clean room, friendly staff, great pool. The only thing I would say is the tourist information desk in the foyer did not offer the best prices nor the best offers.

Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sons2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just stayed for 16 nights with twin 3 year olds. Walking distance to shops, beach, restaurants etc, however we often just stayed at the amazing pool for the kids (and us of course) through the day and ate out at night. Rooms are fine, not 5 star but neither is the price. Staff were fantastic, especially Pauline who met us, gave our kids gifts, and checked each few days that we were enjoying ourselves. Very nice Pauline! There is some work going on around the resort but nothing to bother us. Overall, great stay, great value, I would return there for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

While this hotel is supposed to be 4 star, the decor left much to be desired (although I believe the hotel is in the process of refurbishment). The room was quite dark and gloomy with inadequate lighting, but the beds were comfortable and the facilities adequate. The hinges on the shower door were terribly rusted and a second shower head dripped cold water while having a hot shower, but it was otherwise clean and functional.

Breakfast was not particularly exciting, but it hit the spot and the staff were exceptionally accommodating.

Over all, it was a great option to base ourselves while exploring the rest of Phuket and Kata beach is definitely my favourite place - far more intimate and cosy compared to Patong and Karon beaches.

Despite the need of an upgrade, I would definitely return to Kata Palm Resort. The friendliness of the staff made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3days .Beautiful hotel surrounded by swimming pools and greenery! Excellent staff good service always smiling and offered help. 5mins walk to Kata beach
Only food for room service not much choices. Will be back again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing