We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in low season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to see the Kata Palm Resort's pool is really as in the pictures. So the large pool with its river and plants is definitely the highlight at Kata Palm. Our room was a bit older and a little bit dark, but otherwise ok. WiFi was working pretty well in the room. Our roome was at he backof the hotel, so it was quite a walk to the entrance. The breakfast had more or less the usual choice with maybe the odd extra. We never tried the restaurant. It's around 10 minutes walk to the beach, but there is a shuttle three times a day. The hotel has some loungers only for hotel guests on the beach, but you have to book ahead for those and I imagine in peak saison it will be a bit a hassle to get one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel in June 2013 and it was a very nice experience. First of all, we were very pleased to see that the hotel looks exactly like in the gallery photos on the internet. The room was very nice and the cleaning was made daily. Moreover, the stuff is very polite and nice and they are very preoccupied in order to make their guests comfortable. The pool is very clean and the hotel garden makes one feel like being in the jungle. Food was very good and the hotel offers both thai and european dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 22 nights and love the hotel and my husband celebrated his birthday and Pauline from the front desk came to our room with a birthday cake and sang happy birthday what a nice touch, in fact she was helpful all the time. The only time we went to the beach it was blowing a gale so we went back to the resort with there two big pools and plenty of lounges to use. Both of the pools have swim up bars and great iced coffee. We used the restaurant a lot near the pools and they are very happy to bring the meals to your lounges I thought the meals very cheap and the staff happy. They have a kids pool, but the spa is in the big pool so watch the kiddies.
They were doing up the resort when we were there our room was down the end so that did not bother us, anyway they down tools at 5pm. Also pick a room on the top floor if you are a light sleeper, there is a mini fridge,kettle and they replace the tea and coffee everyday and you get two bottles of water a day. The wifi and TV need to improve but they have Australian Network so that was a plus, as for the air-con lucky they are upgrading these as the compressor needs servicing.
Just outside there are plenty of restaurants and supermarkets, the mobile cocktail bars
with music are great.

Room Tip: A room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just stayed at Kata Palm for 2 nights, and given we paid 45 euro/night for a double room including breakfast & wifi, we found it to be excellent value. We were there during low season so the hotel and town felt nice and quiet, but the hotel seemed pretty full judging by the number of towels hanging off balconies. The hotel is not on the beach, but does offer a free shuttle and is only about a 4/ 5-10min walk. They have 30 loungers on the beach on a first come first served basis - needless to say we were never up in time to get them but paid 3 euros for 2 loungers on the beach elsewhere very easily.

The rooms are set along 3 sides of an amazing pool complex, with the reception making up the 4th side of the rectangle. There are 4 pools, 1 is a 'river' you can float along, and 2 swim up bars. There are also shallow pools for kids so the main pools stay relatively adult only. We were always able to get a sun lounger.

Our room was at the far end away from reception, on the 4th floor. There were renovation works happening in the same block but on the 1st floor nearer reception, and we could never hear anything when we were in our room. The room was huge, clean, firm double bed, balcony, nice bathroom. There were some marks on the walls and the towels could do with being replaced, but it was clean and for 45 euro/night I wouldn't argue. They also give you extra beach / pool towels. Wifi was free, fast and reliable. I'd recommend a room at the far end away from reception as it will be quieter and is away from the kids pool.

Downsides were not bad, just things which could be improved.
1) the staff on check in (and at the front desk generally) were pretty indifferent and couldn't do much to help e.g. when we arrived to check in the reception just ignored us for 5mins then looked up and said "yes?", or when we asked if they could suggest a dive shop in the town they looked blank and said 'no'. But there was a tour desk in the lobby who tried to help without selling, and who arranged airport transfers very reliably and at a fair price.
2) the food was average - orange juice very fake / sweet, coffee not fresh, chips cold. But you can eat out and get great food near by.

In short, well worth 45 euro/night in low season.

Room Tip: far end away from reception is quieter. Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool, maybe not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is a beautiful resort in a great location. Stunning rooms and fantastic spa. However the food was not up to standard and highly priced. The staff battle with English. And in a case of an emergency they werent very helpful. The manager was very good though and dealt with issues fast.

Room Tip: A room with a verander to the pool is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

They disabled our key card to the room on the LAST DAY at 11:00 AM. Very rude!!! read for details

On walking in the hotel has a very dark design and lights. It was raining that day so it made the ambiance more depressing. The lobby is small and crowded with people waiting with their bags. The first impression was oh wrong choice of hotel. I felt we are in a hospital environment or nursing home with lot of depression rather than a 4 star resort! The beach is not across the road as the majority of hotels. We stayed in a pool view room and paid 45 Australian + tax on a last minute deal however next time I wouldn't pay that much. So in high season, when the price is in hundred, look for somewhere else.

There is renovation going on and as a result there were constant noise in the room the whole day. By noise I mean a really loud noise where the sound of the digger seems on top of your head. I complained to the manger and asked for an upgrade away from the noise if possible with the nicest pleasee could someone say and the answer was to pay an additional 100$. I was like are you serious we just came from the Movempick which cost us a bit over 100$. Anyway, it was useless so decided to move on.

Mosquito is a major issue.

Breakfast ok. Above average to good.

Swimming pool is the nicest thing about this hotel. In fact to be fair the pool could be amazing. However, the service and atmosphere is not helping.

They had live music at the restaurant outside which helped release the frustration. However, the food is below average. Please note that I had Thai food and I'm not complaining about western food. Their thai dishes was lacking of taste.

Up to here I was saying to myself the location of this hotel is nice. Kata major shopping etc.. is within walking distance so maybe I will say it is an average stay. Until the last day of my stay (the day we were checking out). After coming back from the breakfast, we packed our bags and found we have heaps of time yet. So we decided to go for a last swim until 11:00 am come back for a shower and check out.

**At 11:00 am we went back to the room to find out the key card is disabled. THIS IS EXTREMELY RUDE, inappropriate, not professional and disappointing. IF YOU WANT MONEY FOR LATE CHECK OUT come and take it but don't be rude to customers.

Anyway, I had to walk all wet with my short on up to the reception. She took the card of me and said she will send someone. Later someone showed with a card who swiped the card on the door and left ! so we were left with no card to turn on the lights. So I had to go back to the reception demand my card. Had to wait for them to go inside somewhere put access on the card again and hand it back to me in a very rude way. (Please note it is at that time 11:30 am).

To this end, I wouldn't stay in this hotel again if they pay me! The rudeness at check out is just too much.

Room Tip: Pool access room if within let's say 50$ go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is noisy with several people crammed into one room next to us. Walls are paper thin.
The people were very nice on check-in and upgraded us to the pool access.
They were doing improvements and the workout room was unavailable due to plastering ceilings. Would have been nice to know they were working on the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWDITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#16 of 55 in Kata Beach
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#27 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $65 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing