We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything's just Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The most beautiful memory of Phuket trip comes from this resort we chose.
Stayed 4 nights here with 2 nights in deluxe pool view room, and 2 nights in pool access room.
The deluxe room is large, over 40 more square metres I think, very clean and cozy, with a nice view from the balcony to see the beautiful pool.
The pool access room is just amazing..with direct access to the pool and two chairs by pool side then you never need to look for a chair around the pool among other guests.
The whole resort is quite Thai style, and apparently it is much more attractive than famous chain hotels and modern style hotels. It gives unique experience of Thai, with very nice service and cozy atmosphere to enjoy the vacation.
Provide car renting service in lobby, and according to our experience the price was only USD10 higher than outside but more convenient and safe (only required the copy of passport).
The breakfast has both western and Thai food served, and the green curry and fried rice are just wonderful.
Location is perfect..plenty of restaurants and massage shops around, and only 5 minute walk to Kata beach. Strongly recommend Eight Fold (Thai restaurant) and Horn Grill (Steakhouse), much better than food of Patong with lower price.
Kata palm is too nice than expected and we would like to choose it again on next trip to Phuket.

Room Tip: Try the pool access room, and u will never forget it~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duoduoduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago and had such a great time! They had made swans out of hand towels and sprinkled plumeria blossoms on our bed! So cool! We got one of the pool rooms and we had a private lanai that had a ladder straight into the pool. What's awesome about the pool here is that it snakes around the whole property. So, it was like each room had a private pool!

The room itself was a bit "rustic." The door frame was coming apart and our shower drain clogged up. But, the room was cleaned every day!

We thought check-in was a breeze. They took our passports and had us sit down in the lobby while they processed our reservation. That made us a bit nervous, but it all worked out. The staff was very friendly and helpful! And they have a guest services kiosk where you can arrange tours!

Breakfast was definitely hit/miss. I mean, lasagna for breakfast doesn't usually sound good...However their pineapple fried rice was super yummy with a poached egg on top! Their pastries were not good. But, they had the best potato dishes I've ever had!

For the price, you really can't find such luxury anywhere!

Room Tip: Get a pool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

as a couple we spent 4 nights at this peaceful resort.the rooms were just perfect for us and squeaky clean with Thai style wood furnishings Our room was facing the lovely pool which is just fabulous .We had hired a car at the hotel as it was raining at odd hours and hiring a motor bike would have spoilt our sight seeing.we drove from one end to the other in comfort.Around the resort there are many restaurants night markets and bars not forgetting the street food .Petty complains from others does not change the fact that this is a really 'money value' place for anyone .We would definitely stay there again if we have to go back to Phuket .Laundry services can be found all over the area not forgetting the cheap massage parlours. I suggest the 1 hour Thai massage' which costs around 250/300 baht.The breakfast at the hotel was great different everyday and was prepared well with lots of variety.Lots of tropical fruit.bread.cereals and full english style servings No complains just loved this hotel.although the hotel staff were lacking english skills I dont think its a big issue we were understood each other

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Desertworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We are part of a group of 10 people. Almost all that we've read in previous reviews are true. Dreadful check-in, staff that cannot speak
Basic english and boring, boring breakfasts.

Staff are helpful, pool facilities are great and the hotel is slightly off the main road and thus nice and quiet. Except for the kitchen staff that starts at 6am en make a helluva noise!

Will we return? Yes! It's little things that are irritating. Overall- we will again book here.
Just one thing, the travel costs to Karon, Patongz and Phuket adds up to a tidy sum!w

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Septemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Kata Palm is the typical resort with a beautiful swimming pool and Asian-style rooms. Breakfast was pretty good with a great variety of Asian and continental food. It is very close to the beach, which is quite big and beautiful. They have computers in the lobby and free Internet access in the rooms. The bus service to Patong, Karon or Phuket Town is almost in front of the hotel but it is very slow. There are lots of shops and restaurants but if you are looking for party, this is not your area. There are also different agencies to book your daytrips to Phi Phi islands or other places to snorkel or visit. In general, Phuket is not a very beautiful place; it reminded me to some areas in Spanish Costa del Sol. I recommend Kata Palm if you really want to stay in a quiet area in Phuket but I don't recommend Phuket to anyone who goes to Thailand because there are other places which are not so tourist.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaESpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My friend and I travelled to Phuket in August for some sunshine and relaxation and we chose to stay at Kata and absolutely loved it! Kata is a smaller town about 15mins (driving) South of Patong. We only intended on staying for 7 days but enjoyed it so much we extended and spent 14days in the Kata Palm. The rooms are a great size and the price is unbeatable. We will definitely be back! We stayed in the twin deluxe pool view room and it was perfect for a girly holiday away. I would definitely stay in Kata and at the Kata Palm again. The location was excellent for popping in and out and as 2 girls travelling we never felt unsafe in the area. We spent the days lazing around the pool, at the beach, poking through the stores, massages, facials and also diving trips.If you are looking for a party holiday, Kata is not for you, head to Patong. Kata's location is great as all of the day trips do free pick up from the area. There was enough for us to do for 14 days to keep us entertained but thoroughly relaxed before we flew home. The only negative for the 14days is the level of english spoken by the hotel staff but the staff were very friendly and tried to accomodate once they understood.

ps The restaurant called Mama's was our favourite but Kata Beach Resort and Spa do an amazing Sticky rice with mango!!

- The jewellery shop in Kata is great value compared with Aussie prices

- Jungceylon have facial shops which do really great facials for 300 baht!

all in all, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crit1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Ensimmäinen matkamme Aasiaan. Valitsimme kohteeksemme Phuket Kata Beach ja hotelliksi Kata Palm Resort. Lähdimme matkaan varovaisin odotuksin, olihan Phuketissa sadekausi. Lento Suomesta oli pitkä, mutta kun saavuimme hotelliin kaikki matkarasitukset unohtuivat. Olimme tulleet paratiisiin. Henkilökunta oli todella ystävällistä ja avuliasta. Huoneen saimme heti vaikka kello oli vasta 8 aamulla. Hotelli ylitti kaikki odotuksemme, aivan ihana allasalue ja puutarha täynnä kauniita kukkia ja puita. Hotellissa oli 2 ihanaa allasbaaria, grilliravintola, josta sai pientä ja suurempaakin syötävää. Varsinainen ruokaravintola oli kadun puolella ja siitä jäi erityisesti mieleen buffet illalliset, jotka olivat elämys syödä ulkona tähtitaivaan alla. Huonepalvelua käytimme myös. Nopeaa, ystävällistä ja halpaa. Huoneemme oli premier suite jossa oli kaksi huonetta, yksi makuuhuone, yksi olohuone, baarikeittiö, kaksi kylpyhuonetta, kaksi terassia suoraan altaaseen. Huone oli 90 neliötä ja aivan ihanasti sisustettu. Hotellialue oli erittäin siisti sekä ulkoa että sisältä. Puutarhurit ja siivoojat tekivät koko ajan kovasti töitä. Hotellin allasalue jäi mukavasti rakennusten keskellä. Aurinkotuoleja oli aina riittävästi. Alueelle oli kaksi uima-allasta, joita toinen kiersi koko alueen ja toinen oli normaali allas. Aamiainen oli aivan loistava. Tarjolla oli eurooppalaisia ja thaimaalaisia ruokia, joista osa jäi maistamatta vaikka matkamme kesti kolme viikkoa. Taloudenhoitajamme oli todella hyvä, huone oli puhdas ja siisti, vaikka itse laitoin sängyn, rouva teki sen uudelleen. Puhtaita pyyhkeitä oli riittävästi joka päivä. Lisäksi hän toi meille kukkia maljakkoon. Suosittelen tätä ystävällistä ja hyvää hotellia kaikille. Aikaisemmin käyttämämme eurooppalaiset hotellit ovat todella huonoja tähän hotelliin verrattuina. Ja vaikka oli sadekausi, sadetta ei ollut, paitsi viimeisenä ilta, aurinko paistoi ja oli todella kuuma ja kostea ilma kolme viikkoa.

Room Tip: Huoneemme oli premier suite eli kaksi huonetta, baarikeittiö, kaksi kylpyhuonetta sekä kaksi terassi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#16 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $61 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing