We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Boathhouse never loses its magic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Boathhouse never loses its magic!”
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The first time I stayed at the Boathouse was in 1993, back then there were only two hotels on the beach and a handful of tourists. I have since stayed another 3 times but each time even though the beach has become very crowded the hotel and own private beach still remain as good today as it was then.

The food is exceptional and there are not many hotels you can enjoy your meals right next to the beach. The staff are excellent and if you want to relax and stay where it is peaceful and quiet then the boathouse is the place to stay.

I love it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    205
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
194
405
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

No wonder the hotel name indicates it belongs to a member of the Royal Family. I was treated like a king. Run by one of the most exeprient hotel manager in Thailand, the place is works near to perfection. The warm atmosphere makes you feel at home. The location could not be better. It share the same beach with Club Med. At the restaurant, do not miss the lobster ravioli. A must taste specialty. And much more...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We spent a wonderfully relaxing week at Mom Tri's boathouse in September. It is one of only two hotels that have direct beachfront access, all the other Kata hotels are inland. As a result there are sunbeds outside the front (with cold drinking water and fruit delivered as you relax) and from the terrace and restaurant you have a view of the beach. The hotel is relatively small (about 35 rooms) and the staff were exceptional, they knew our names and tea order by the second morning and were extremely helpful when my wife had a minor accident that needed a first aid kit. The management has created a real 'family' feeling within the hotel. There were inter department football matches on the beach in the afternoon with many of the other staff members entusiastically cheering on their chosen team.

Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. We had dinner in the hotel on two occasions and both meals were superb, not cheap as you will pay European prices but the menu was inventive with a mix of Thai and Western dishes. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Kata town but adjacent to the hotel are the only ones that are on the beach. We tried all three for lunch/dinner and enjoyed them all. There is also the Reggae bar, a great place for a sundowner or late evening drink.

Our room was spacious with a lovely view of the sea from the balcony. There is free wi fi throughout the hotel.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Mom Tri's and hope to return there someday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MugoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Can only echo others on the how nice this hotel was .Had a beautiful view from room overlooking the jaccusi and out onto the beach. Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day. Can't comment on the restaurants as there is such a wealth of bars and good restaurants close by at very good prices we never ate at the hotel.
The pool was very nice and we often had it to ourselves as people were all on the beach.
The staff were all friendly and helpfull and nothing was a problem.
The road immediately out the front is quite busy with no pavement so be wary but no real problem. The only thing I would suggest is a bell for reception because half the time when you want to pick up your key in the evening the staff are in the back office and don't notice you.
Definately worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank househusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for your compliments! We will get a bell at reception as you suggested. Thanks for mentioning it to us.
We hope you and your wife will visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR manager Mom Tri’s Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Boathouse sits right on west facing Kata Beach and the terrace overlooking the Andaman Sea with dreaming Pu Island framed by the headlands has got to be one of Thailand's most romantic spots to dine. It's not just a beautiful boutique resorts with a fabulous restaurant, but more of an institution. Frankly there is nowhere else quite like it and any visit to Phuket would be missing something unique and important if you don't pay a visit

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBondTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

A compact boutique hotel with a beautifully sculpted facade, slap bang on the sands of the intimate and almost private Kata beach, in southern Phuket.
Lovely rooms, with great views of the deep blue Andaman Sea, with a perfectly circular island about 2 km into the sea that has been plonked there as the perfect prop, and the persistent melody of gentle waves that lap against the hotel's walls at high tide.
Gracious staff, who speak enough English to reassure you that they have understood what you want/need.
Amazing food and a great selection of wine for which they have won innumerable awards.
It's not the most luxurious resort I have stayed in, but after a few days there you begin to feel a proprietary kinship with the sands, the trees, the sea, the staff, hell even the neighbourhood restaurants, as if you're visiting your own beach house.
To me that's as close to perfection a resort can get.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Dear Sennaboy,
Thank you for writing such a poetic review of our hotel. You have captured the atmosphere of our hotel so well. All our Guests love our location; it is quite perfect indeed. We are very fortunate to be on such a lovely beach and to have Koh Pu (Crab Island) right in front of us.
This year in August we have won the Wine Spectator Award again as the only restaurant in Phuket. It is nice to get that international recognition!
We hope you and your wife will have a chance to visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Lisa Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is a review of the hotel's RESTAURANT ONLY.

Wine experts will remember this place mentioned in wine review magazines, where it is praised for its surprisingly wide selection. This is true. It's also true that the wine captain, hired at the lowest level in the kitchen and gradually moved up through the ranks, has impeccable taste and an incredible nose for identifying the wines available on the menu. I have heard that a wealthy local often bets him that he cannot identify a wine from the restaurant by taste and bouquet alone... but the guest has yet to win the bet.

A great selection, however, does not imply a correspondingly great price-- unless "great" means only 'big', not 'pleasing'. A wine expert, former winery owner, I brought there refused to order, saying that he wouldn't honor the place by buying at those prices. A "grocery store US$10 bottle of wine, for US$100... and correspondingly high prices up and down the menu", is how he described Mom Tri's Boathouse wine list.

Service, with the tiny fault that the wine list and lunch menu are brought WITHOUT the regular drinks menu, is beyond reproach. They are Thai, but speak English wonderfully and understand Western attitudes. They are wonderfully helpful and attentive, though at one point it was difficult to get any waiter's attention.

It's also worth noting what's MISSING because of the wait-staff's attention to atmosphere and comfort. Almost all restaurants in Thailand permit local walkabout souvenir salesmen, including shockingly underage children selling flowers, to wander unobstructed through the dining area, pestering every guest who'd rather be left alone thankyouverymuch. There are laws against these salesmen entering a restaurant unless bidden to do so by a patron, yet almost all restaurants still permit this offense. Mom Tri's boathouse does an excellent job at preventing these annoying salesmen from entering to pester guests.

Fair warning, though-- if you're a guest of their hotel, simply going out onto the sandy beach will invite CONSTANT (at least once every three to five minutes) attention from salespeople cruising up and down the beach, selling bricabrac, grass mats, rental beachchairs, food, hats, parasailing and other option tours, massages, and cheap plastic jewelry. STAY ON THE GROUNDS 'til you're ready to rush into the water...and take heed of the red flags in summertime, as Phuket loses a tourist every week in the turbulent west-shore summer waters.

The location is likewise lovely, like the staff. Large open window/doors along the beachside porch allow fresh sea breezes to cool you off, while ceiling fans flutter uselessly 'til the breezes go on breaktime, when the fans are obligated to pick up where the breezes left off.

The food, though... WHAT A TRAGEDY. Fire the chef. Seriously. The chef is as uninspired as a grammar school cafeteria worker. The ingredients are wonderfully fresh-- do NOT fault the restaurant's buyer-- but fire the chef immediately, for being an uninspired, uninterested dolt....and charging offensively high prices despite being so ... useless in the kitchen.

Some examples: Most dishes are accompanied by... thin McDonald's-like french fries, with ketchup that SAYS it's "Heinz" (a famous, trusted American brand) but tastes like sugarwater, the Thai style ketchup. FRENCH FRIES??!! Another potato disaster is the "crushed potatoes" accompanying the BBQ pork chop: it's pure boiled potato, shredded and entirely without spice or garnish, pressed into what can only be described as a CAT FOOD CAN shape and dumped on the plate. The "BBQ" sauce is watery tomato sauce, with none of the taste one associates with a barbecue sauce. The "club sandwich", though it's wonderfully fresh, is so small and uninspired that it should appear on a children's menu at Denny's, rather than buried under french fries and a 280 baht pricetag.

The breadbowl was uncharacteristically imaginative, with a wide variety of unusual breads. It was accompanied by butter, though, which I can only guess the chef has never tasted: it was so salty that I wondered if it had been dragged through the surf, and designed to assassinate patrons with heart problems.

For every item on the food menu, I felt either the undeniable image of a hairnetted, grandmotherly, minimum-wage school cafeteria worker behind its creation, or at best, the feeling that this is something I would have thrown together in 5 minutes in my own kitchen if I were rushed to make myself a quick lunch with fresh ingredients.

A US$5 glass of "orange juice" was not orange juice; it was the same tangerine juice I could have gotten down the street in a sidewalk cafe for US$0.70 or by the liter in the supermarket for US$0.70.

The only item I found with an element of elegance was a dessert item described as "fruit salad with a scoop of lemon sherbet". I'd seen another guest with what appeared to be a fair-sized bowl of fresh fruit slices, so I mistakenly ordered this waste of space. It was a large plate made "busy" by glazing gthe plate with a tictactoe pattern of raspberry sauce painted on it (to hide the tiiiininess of the actual food), with a teeny-tiny crunchy cup in the center. The "fruit salad" component, smaller than a tablespoon full of finely diced apple and some lonely tropical fruit bits, hid timidly in the bottom of the cup. The fruit was no doubt afraid of the comparatively big, big world around it. The "scoop" of lemon sherbet, though tolerably tasty, was only about two tablespoons in size.

A man shouldn't struggle with losing his temper, in a fresh sea breeze surrounded by kind staff... but DAMN, PEOPLE! Fire the chef, unless you were expecting anorexic pygmies to sit at my table. Style and setting are not an excuse for overcharging AND starving AND boring your patrons.

Shouldn't paying far, far more than normal for your food ensure some kind of heightened QUALITY? At Mom Tri's Boathouse, it does not. Far, far from it! Stay at the hotel, sure-- but eat elsewhere if you don't want to be reduced to tears by a spectacularly unimaginative, unskilled chef and an unashamed, unearned assault on your wallet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sethness-in-phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Seth,
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with your extensive feedback. Though it wasn't unanimously complimentary, your well-written review was read with attention by our team. We do listen to comments from guests and when viable implement changes as suggested.
Also we thank you for giving us this opportunity to announce the appointment of Thailand’s only Maître Cuisinier de France Chef Jean-Noël Lumineu as the Boathouse Wine & Grill’s executive chef from the 1st November. For over 25 years Chef Lumineau was renowned as executive chef at the Gault-Millau (16/20) and Michelin-star rated Château- Hôtel Le Prieuré in the Loire Valley in the province of Anjou, France. He earned his distinction as Maître Cuisinier de France, an elite group of the most famous chefs in the world, more than 13 years ago.

Our wine director, Georges Ciret, has a 30 plus year career as sommelier, wine director and consultant for some of the most prestigious hotels in the world. Our wine list offers over 800 different labels and Georges assured me that our medium and prestige wines are in fact lower priced than in restaurants in London, New York or Paris. Petrus, Château Latour, Romanée-Conti and Comte Georges de Vogué are wines you will not find available at many restaurants or even in specialized wine shops in Thailand.

And yes…. some of our wines are more expensive than you‘d expect. Thailand’s high import tax and duties account for the comparatively high price of wines in Thailand. If, like in Hong Kong recently, those duties and tax are abolished, or at least reduced from about 400% to a lower percentage, our wine list will reflect those changes as well.

Our superb F&B manager Khun Pinyo, the man with the nose started working at the Boathouse on the 10th October 1991. He has been with the Boathouse for over 20 years now. He has done more wine training courses and wine studies in his free time than anybody I know. Not an easy thing to do when you work in the hospitality industry with 60 plus-hour work weeks. But he is talented and dedicated and an integral part of our Boathouse team.

Again thank for writing such a detailed review.

Best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager Mom Tri's Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing