We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Boathouse stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Another great Boathouse stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had the opportunity to return to Boathouse again this year and I have to stay from the welcome drink on arrival ,the magnificent food ,the great rooms with ocean view ,the fantastic staff and the private beach lounges on a great beach with umbrellas that seemed to multiply as the sun moved, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again next year

Room Tip: we tried the suite last year but this year had a superior room with sea view. It is smaller but as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    207
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
194
408
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Boathouse is on a gorgeous beach with many restaurants, shops, and inexpensive authentic massage parlors on the same street. The hotel beach is guarded by security guards that insure that the beach in front of the hotel is only for hotel guests, so it isn't crowded. They have fantastic service with beach butlers that bring you water, food & drink menus, rotate sun umbrellas, and brush the sand off of your chair when ever you get up! The rooms are clean and modern, but there is no bath tub. Only walk in shower. The food is very good, but can be expensive depending on what you order. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy99502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Boathouse is right on the beach. Very good restaurants. The staff, excellent, from reception, to the restaurants, the beach boys........always smiling, ever helpful. They really made the stay .
We had room 210 ,seaview up a flight of stairs. The plus was that we had a sitting area outside our room , however , the area is public and there is a big built up deck where there are a few sofas to sit on. As it was low season, there were not much people using the deck but if you value your privacy, then you would have to keep your curtains drawn. Because of this deck, you would have to walk out to the edge to see the sea. Can't really see the sea if you are in the room. The reason why i did not give the Boathouse top rating is because of the bathroom, small, they have used a sliding door to maximize the space. Wifi was working well . They were good at providing drinking water on the beach, a plus for that. The people upstairs were pulling their chairs around the room and unfortunately the chairs did not have stickers on the bottom of the legs, to dampen the noise, luckily they did not do it late at night. We stayed from 29th May to2 nd June.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the third floor if you want to see the sea. It has a tiny balcony with 2 chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Boathouse is a tasteful and understated hotel located on a main road leading to all the restaurants, bars, and tourist shops in Kata. Amazingly, despite the busy streets nearby, we didn’t hear any of the noise once we were inside. We had a ground-floor room with a private patio just steps from the beach, which was perfect for hitting the beach during the day and sitting outside listening to the sound of the waves at night. The Boathouse therefore offers the best of both worlds: easy access to all the excitements of Kata on the outside and an oasis of tranquility on the inside.

As expected, both the hotel and the adjoining beach club were lovely, but it was really the service that made it such an enjoyable stay. Our room was well maintained, and housekeeping left a bowl of fresh fruit and a different origami animal on the dresser each day - small gestures that added a nice personal touch. The beach area was spacious and quiet (admittedly, it was the off-season), and the staff were quick to provide us with towels, water, and an umbrella. I only noticed at the end of our stay that they have several well-stocked shelves of trashy beach reading in a variety of languages, which I would definitely have taken advantage of if I had seen it earlier! I sustained a head injury while out on the water, and a staff member rushed me to a doctor and waited patiently with me while I got treated, which was a great comfort in an otherwise stressful situation. Overall, the staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable; it felt like we were truly their guests rather than just nameless faces occupying a room. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floatinggoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had an absolutely great time at the Boathouse. Leading up to our trip, we were told that Phuket beaches are very crowded and full. To our great surprise, the beach in front of the Boathouse was not full at all and maintained to high standard. The Boathouse has dedicated chairs for the guests along with water and sun umbrellas. We had a room that faced the ocean patio, which was a very lovely place to hang out in the evening and watch the sun set. Breakfast in the morning was delicious had a good mix of local and familiar foods. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Just to illustrate how great the staff were, we had a minor surfing injury on the beach and the staff found us a local clinic and drove us there right away. The driver waited patiently for us to finish the checkup and took us back. I cannot thank the staff enough for truly caring and helping us out.

I will hopefully be back very soon to stay at the Boathouse again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Boathouse is spectacular. This must be the ultimate Phuket escape, in a breathtaking location overlooking Kata beach, just minutes from the island’s popular, Patong beach. Ideal for families, groups of friends and couples, guest can choose to hang out in the pool at the beach club or ride waves on the beach.

We celebrated my husband’s surprise 40th birthday over a long weekend and left the Boathouse with memories to cherish forever. The hotel staff are all amazing and incredibly accommodating - via email they helped me plan every detail of my husband’s special weekend. From a private dinner party, to “Martinis and Manicures” by the poolside, while husbands attempted game of golf, the sky was the limit and I was never out of options.

The evenings are the best. You can absorb the cinematic views of the sunset from your hotel balcony or at any of their restaurants – which by the way is one of the best places to dine in Phuket. This is my second time back to the Boathouse and my experience was only better than the first. This place redefines getting away from it all, and a place to reconnect with the world; a stay here is transformative. We’ll be back to visit again in no time.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach facing but the suites are must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril_Sullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Boathouse definitely is one of the better hotels, they have a very good location to the beach which is always clean. There is a really nice lounge area an a small swimming pool by the beach. The beach chair / day bed is free to use and would always be prepared by the service crew. Slight problem with the wifi but the problem was resolved.

kata is rather quite at night, restaurants/pubs/bar are always empty. the place to go for nightlife would be definitely be patong.

Room Tip: High floors greater privacy, great to have a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing