We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our seventh visit to the Boathouse at Kata Beach was another very pleasant experience -- primarily due to the friendly and helpful staff. It begins with Marie-Laure, the general manager, and includes everyone with whom we came into contact. We have observed that Kata Beach is getting more crowded each year that we have gone but the Boathouse remains an oasis of calm and quiet despite the large crowds around it. The Christmas Day lunch was outstanding -- excellent food and lots of activities for our grandsons (5 & 7). Our only regrets and not being able to stay longer.

Room Tip: We prefer the beachfront rooms -- a little more expensive but still quiet and provide easy access to...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davefromFlagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for The Boathouse Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 808 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a special place. Arrived at 5:30pm to watch the sunset. Great service and the food was amazing. The view was spectacular. While a little pricey it was well worth it. The kids menu was great and not expensive at all. My only regret is not having the lobster as it looked amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank alsandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Whilst in the centre of Phuket, on Kata Beach, it is a tranquil retreat. The beach club is funky and modern, and the staff attend to your every need. If you are there on a Sunday, there Sunday Lobster Buffet is fantastic. My teenage chilldren attended the cooking school, and I have never tasted a Massaman curry that good any where.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We was originally booked one week at this hotel, then extended one more week and finally extended another (our last..) week. The islands we take next time! Nice beach club, very familiar atmosphere, top quality of service, staff & food. Our place in Kata also next time.

Room Tip: First level, beach view is the best
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is one of the few hotels you can find directly on the beach. One of the only ones, with private beach chairs, and a beach area that is not crowded beyond belief. If you can ditch out a couple extra bucks per night, this hotel is DEFINITELY worth it. The rooms itself are superb, from being very clean, to modern touch, appropriate size and amenities. We stayed in the deluxe beach view rooms, and it was perfect. Literally opened our screen doors walked less than 1 min and i'm at the beach. Cant stress enough, if you are visiting phuket area, kata beach and specifically Boat House is a MUST! The staff there across the board is very attentive, helfpul and very serviceable. The front desk, takes care of every need you have, every question you have and they are more than willing to go above and beyond. The best are the gentlemen taking care of your needs on the beach. They do a marvelous job of making you feel like you are "special" and you are on a "special" vacation. They are constantly making sure you cup of water is filled, filled with COLD water. They dust of sand of your beach chairs while you are getting a dip in the water, so you come back to a nice sand less chair, they go around with fresh fruits in the afternoon, they make sure other people dont crowd around your beach chairs, they make sure the umbrella is pointed in the right direction if you dont want to be under the sun too much as it can get pretty hot. They do this all with a smile on their face and willingness (atleast they show that) which is a huge deal. This place also has amazing, highly reviewed restaurant. Food is great of course and staff is even better. This place is remerakable but i think the staff is what makes this place stick out and give that extra special touch. I truly hope management takes care of their staff, as the staff is what makes this place a special place. Also want to add in Kai, gentlemen serving at the restaurant, truly a gifted and special person at his job. Very attentive, considerate and professional. Truly a valuable asset to that side of the business. When we return, this would be our place to stay without a doubt. You will not regret if you chose this place, truly a 5 star place with amazing staff.

Room Tip: Gotta do the deluxe beach view. Cant go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoPoDb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 days with small kid at Boathouse which was just fine. The Boathouse Grill Restaurant was good option as well.

The kid's pool is a little small, also the one on adjacent Re Ka Ta Beach club which is adjacent and complimentary to hotel guests.

Would we stay again? Hmm, there was nothing to point out that was not good, but also nothing that was exceeding expectations, so probably not.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect, the only problem we have is that it's not close to patong but the place end the stuff is above all, the beach is so close, few steps from the hotel and shops and restorants are very close also. We will happy to come back next time we will there

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $212 - $1,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing