We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best bar in Kata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse by Montara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boathouse by Montara
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best bar in Kata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Boathouse was recommended to us as the best bar and restaurant in Phuket. We had a big family celebration so we thought it was the perfect occasion to try it out. Being low season there were only a few people dining but it's a wonderful location overlooking Kata beach with palm trees and patio doors to shield the wind. The staff were delightful, friendly and could not have been more attentive. Just five cocktails came to £35 so I realised this wasn't the place for dinner with three young children unless money is no object. It's a shame it's very overpriced menu does not cater for those of us on a budget. I am sure the food is good but if I wanted London prices I would stay in London. Maybe more guests would try it if they brought down their costs a little.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    181
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
172
356
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Boathouse is greatly located on quieter Kata Beach. Hotel staff were amazingly helpful, especially with assisting us in sorting our flight debacle and lovely to our 3 year old. We stayed in their Penthouse which was huge! Cleaned twice a day and wifi. All you need for a relaxing holiday. Breakfast was next door at Re Ka Ta Beach club, right on Kata Beach, was wonderful and yum! Also the club facilities was included. Refreshing to have access to both a beach and a pool. The Spa service was also as wonderful.

The only negative thing I could say was their beds were a little too firm but hey, it's a small compromise for the treasure this hotel.

We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned for 5 nights in Boathouse, this hotel was refurbished I think about 2 years ago, and my wife and I really enjoyed our time there. The staff are the standouts here and made our stay just fantastic. The rooms are Ok sized, the bathroom is large and very nice shower, fresh fruit was delivered every day to our room, every night they came a turned down our bed. My wife was unwell and the staff at breakfast asked about her and made a special breakfast for me to take to our room, then later that morning a basket of flowers and a get well card arrived, ever had that before. It was hard to fault the staff at the hotel all seemed great. This hotel has its own part of the beach which in not normal for Phuket so as you stepped on the beach a staff member would setup a desk chairs for you with two towels, cold water and we even got fresh fruit. The pool as small but as the hotel does not have many rooms it was fine, had giant floating things in it to sit on in the pool too. Breakfast was great; you chose off a menu your hot dish while you eat from the cold buffet section, freshly squeezed fruit juice, espresso coffee.
Only real issue is the cost, we paid about $220NZ through booking.com on special but as we are back on Phuket in March checked on room rates then at nearly $500Nz is too much but we would love to stay there again and may do in off peak times.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not look out at the sea, some are called eluxe seaview these 5 all connect to a desk o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greggynewzeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel was a fun experience for all of my family. The Boathouse was right next to the sunny beach, our rooms were beautiful, and the pool was fun. Most of the days we relaxed in the pool chairs and played in the pool, one day the Boathouse helped us reserve a spot for a speed boat that took you to wonderful islands for snorkleing, swimming, and laying in the sun. We were at the hotel during "Tango Night" which was a night where Tango dancers danced for you while you dined over fine food from Argentina. We didn't participate in " Tango Night" but as we were heading to our hotel room we caught a glimpse of what was happening and it looked very fun and entertaining. Lovely hotel with wonderful service, if you are looking to stay here in Phuket this is the place to stay.

Problems:
Breakfast and Lunch can be annoying because of birds and bees trying to taste your food
Pricey Place
Cold pool water

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FluffyUnicorns1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Boathouse is a small hotel that is located right on the beach. It is not for the budget travelor; we paid about $200 US/nite. The hotel is very clean and the housekeeping lady (Noi) was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had daily local fruit delivered to the room, and turn down service, and they always left a cute handmade animal out of leave cuttings (nice touch). The room was spottless. The breakfast and service staff were excellent. The food was all you can eat, but because it was low season, we ordered a la cart off a menu versus in high season they have the food buffet style. All the food was amazing. Definitely try the Thai rice and noodle dishes. We rarely had lunch anywhere as the breakfast was so filling. The pool and pool area is small, but beautiful and with great views of the beach. Again, service was outstanding at the pool and at the Boathouse beach area. The beach itself is beautiful and well maintained, with golden soft sand. At the pool they played world eclectic music, which we loved, and at nite they had fireworks and happy hour specials. The pool drinks are over priced (~$10 US each), and the beer is also expensive for Thai standards ($4 US). However, you can buy drinks on the beach for much cheaper, and the stocked fridge in your room has more fair pricing ($2 beer). The hotel has an extensive wine list, but you will pay $$$. The hotel charges premium for cab service from the airport. We found that you can get door to door private airport to hotel delivery for about 800 Baht (or about $25 US). The hotel will charge you double that amount. Most people at this hotel may not care, but if you do your own research, you can save a few bucks.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with perfect views of the ocean (some rooms are better than others). Ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and is good value for money. Rooms are cleaned and freshen up everyday tastefully and comprehensively. Food is very very good and having its own beach area is excellent. The overall service was very good, try avoiding arriving after mid night as did to the dreadful checking experience we ad, but we got over it very quickly the next day. We were for 10 days. Their Spa was very good too. We found the surrounding area ok, the hotel made the trip for my wife and I. April 2013. NR

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Boathouse Hotel is placed on Kata Beach. It is really nice location, everything what is needy is in hotel or few steps from the hotel. Hotel rooms are really nice and staff here is kind. All over the hotel is fast wi-fi free of charge even by the pool. So when is worse weather it is possible to have done some work online while the lounge music plays and waiters from Re Káta Beach Club serve yummy meals and coctails.:-) I also appreciated the opportunity to try real surfing first in my life! It was awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesEvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
#6 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#15 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse by Montara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse by Montara

Property: Boathouse by Montara
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse by Montara 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world’s best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Boathouse by Montara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
Boathouse By Montara Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing