We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a hard review to write because the facilities at the Boathouse were good, the room was nicely decorated and extremely clean if a little small but the overall experience was a little disappointing.
Some people have described this as a boutique hotel; I would describe it as an upmarket B&B or a restaurant with rooms it just didn't quite make it as the five star resort it is trying to be.
The plus point for this hotel is that it is nicely situated right on the beach but on the downside the front of the hotel is directly on a pinch point of a busy road with no pavement.
The Rekata beach club is nice but was empty whilst we were there (not helped by it being low season and bad weather) but I think the high prices, slightly avant garde music and the fact that it looked a little intimidating from the road may not be helping to draw people in.
The pool is very small, pretty to look at but not really large enough for swimming.
Some others have mentioned the welcome from the general manager and other staff which we felt was a little over the top. Whilst I understand that management want to ensure that guests feel that they are being looked after, when you first arrive I personally prefer a friendly but quick and efficient check in - I guess this is one thing that is hard to get right for everybody.
We didn't use the restaurant as it is very expensive, as were the bar prices. I knew this when we booked and was not that bothered about eating in the restaurant as I was more interested in the hotel but the fact that it is so high end meant that there were very few diners and people in the bar which meant there was never any atmosphere ( again this could be because it was low season).
Overall the style and atmosphere of this hotel was not for us but if you enjoy small, quiet hotels this may be just the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2265tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    205
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
194
405
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

staying in this fantastic small luxury hotel ist still memorable, this goes for the whole hotel, rooms, restaurants, spa, beach, beach club you name it, you even forget the poor weather.
the service and friendliness in this hotel is incredible, and that goes for all levels and functions

Room Tip: if you really like seaview go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a comfortable and relaxing stay at the Boathouse this month. Our room was on the 3rd floor and certainly adequate, albeit not all that spacious when compared to some other resort rooms we have stayed in on Phuket.
The front desk staff were all great and are a real credit to this hotel. The pool/beach guys work hard to ensure that hotel guests are well taken care of and a level of exclusivity is maintained on the beach area in front of the hotel. The security guard is not at all shy at ridding the area of non hotel guests.
Breakfasts were pretty good. There is a reasonable buffet line with cereals, fruits, juices, delicious pastries and more plus there is a-la carte where your order a cooked breakfast. The coffees were drinkable but a little average.
I was loathed to wirte about this but one incident took some of the shine off what was an enjoyable stay was. As we were walking to reception to check out, we bumped into one particular cleaner who we had friendly encounters with many times during our stay and they asked where we were going too next. When we responded that we were going to stay on Phi Phi for a few nights, the response was that they had NEVER been to Phi Phi because they worked every day and couldn't afford it.
In a hotel like this where housekeeping tips are no doubt pretty decent and regular, I felt the guilt trip was completely unnecessary and had only two possible outcomes. 1) to make us feel terribly guilty or 2) to get us to leave this person, a final tip.
As said, this encounter took some of the gloss off our final impression of the hotel, however, that incident alone would not deter us from returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fresh_prince_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As the title suggests the hotel sits on the beach in a high quality low rise boutique hotel
The staff are friendly and helpful
The Rooms are spacious and varied
We had an AC problem and were quickly moved with zero fuss
rooms cleaned twice daily
The Hotel has its own private beach and after a long walk across the beach you realise that all ther hotels in Kata are actually beach facing rather than beach front and are also mostly resorts rathan than stand alone hotels
Wife is pregnant and this Hotel was perfect as low level and all facilities close by
Dont bother with breakfast as not value for money and Highly recommend 2 chefs restaraunt over the road for most meals

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekillersDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in March as a family of 4 at the Boathouse. Traveling with kids, ages 8 and 12, I was hesitant about the Boathouse thinking it was more for couples. It worked out wonderfully. There is a small pool over at the Re Ka Ta beach club which the kids enjoyed despite the small size. The resort is small and quaint but has everything you need. It isn't a massive resort with expansive pools and loud music everywhere. (try the Katathani if that is your taste)

rooms: the family suite was very spacious with large living space as well as a very large bathroom. The resort is elegant all around. there was a tv with movies available for rental.

food: so wonderful! The breakfast buffet has all you can want as well as menu items they are happy to make for you. The kids had both pancakes and the buffet each morning. Buffet breakfast is served at the ReKaTa which is connected to the hotel. Dining for meals at the Boathouse was top notch. Excellent wine menu as well as delicious food. We ate there 1 night but ate out other nights.

staff: they make the place! The staff was more than happy to help, set up beach chairs and pool side chairs for the guests as well. They offered dining recommendations and helped with taxis--basically anything you need, they help you!

beach: located at a convenient end of Kata---restaurants, plenty of beach area, water activities and restaurants nearby...shopping as well. The beach staff set up chairs and towels, brought drinks and delivered food for lunch and the evening cocktails.

street area outside: numerous restaurants are in walking distance, several spas and massage places are across the street as well as tailors and shopping.

pool: there is a large hot tub at the boathouse which I attached a photo of and a large half moon pool at ReKaTa for use. They do take day guests which I didn't mind a bit. They save chairs at the pool if they know you plan to sit there and at the beach as well for hotel guests first---the extra guests were actually friendly and we enjoyed them.

If you are looking for a small/medium boutique type hotel--this won't disappoint you. Just book it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpearlsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Boathouse hotel two times - plus had several dinners and lunch in their restaurant. The staff is not only extremely helpful and serviceminded, but they make you feel like home. The location is the best you can find at Kata beach. No other hotel (I think...) have their own private beach there, where you are served with ice water, towels, fresh fruits and cold cloths. And of course you can have your meal served at the sun bed :) ! The breakfast is so nice I had to put on the alarm clock every morning to make it in time. Normally I don`t find it important to get up early when on holidays, but this breakfast was exceptionally good!
In the evening me and some friends where sitting in the bar playing cards - and the barkeeper kept the bar open as long as we wanted, my son had an accident with a gellyfish at the beach and one of the staff ran to get first aid kit there in two seconds.
The airport pick up service is excellent! After a long flight they pick you up in their limo and drive you directly to the hotel in airconditioned car - with cold water bottles. Of course they drive you safely back when departing.
I have also stayed at the Mom Tris Vila Royal two times - thats also a very good hotel, but the location of Boathouse is so much nicer. Right at the beach - and with their own beach club; Re Ka Ta - think they opened summer 2012.
If you plan a stay at Boathouse you will have a vacation close to perfect!!!
and; Check out the wine cellar....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 839Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgowlah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel. Front door to street, shopping, restaurants and bars. Beachside lots of cheap beach dining. In house restaurant 5 star. Very good wine list. Friendly staff. It is a true boutique hotel.

Room Tip: The corner suite above pool is excellent with beachfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Property: The Boathouse Phuket
Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing