We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best at Mom Tri Boathouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2008

From: Tara Kaulback
To: 'reservation'
Sent: Sunday, January 20, 2008 8:25 AM
Subject: Thank You So Very Much!

To Our Dear Friends at Mom Tri’s Boathouse:

It is hard to express in words just how much we loved our 13 day stay at the Boathouse from December 22nd, 2007 through January 3rd, 2008. Although the room provided a lovely view and the beach and weather were superb, what makes Mom Tri’s Boathouse special and unique are the people.

Everyone went out of their way to be kind, thoughtful and helpful to us during our stay. The staff’s attitude was one of sincerity, and as each day went by we felt closer to each and everyone one of you.

My husband Ron and I have traveled most of the Caribbean, Hawaii, Asia, Europe, South America and North America……..and Thailand as it turns out is our favorite place and memory. There are not too many places that we return to because the World is a big place and there is so much to discover and experience……..but Phuket is an exception, or rather I should say, Mom Tri’s Boathouse is the exception.

Every morning we experienced the warm greeting of the friendly staff at breakfast. Not too many mornings went by until they had that Cappuccino delivered pronto to our table. Tat and Nung took great care of us on the beach on those days that we stayed at our home away from home.

Every time we took an excursion away from Mom Tri’s the staff would always ask us how our day was on our return. I wish I had written all of your names down to thank you personally but I do hope you know who you are.

Kitti was very helpful in finding us a way to rent a boat on our own so that we could go visit Crabi, Phi Phi, Hong Island and other beautiful spots to snorkel and swim but without the regular crowds of 25 people per boat.

I had an ear infection while I was visiting and the lovely lady at the front desk helped me locate the medical clinic……..and each day she would remember to ask me if my ear was getting better. And of course, there is another lady that has been there a few years and she was successful in getting us a reservation to visit the beautiful islands of Similan.

We loved the Christmas buffet and appreciated receiving the very nice Mom Tri’s Boathouse golf shirts, which was a nice touch. The New Years dinner was the highlight of our evening entertainment. We had a blast. The sit down dinner was exceptional and the service was as good as it gets. We truly enjoyed the staff joining us to bring in 2008, pots, pans and all! It was a New Years that we will remember forever. Please book us a table for “two” for next New Years Dinner.

We missed seeing Niwat this year and we hope that he is well again and back at the Boathouse. It was Niwat who welcomed us on our first visit to the Boathouse in November 2006. We hope to see you Niwat on our next visit.

Also, I would like to give my regards to Tong (nickname) who worked in the dining room - morning, noon and night. He introduced us to his lovely daughter and their cute dog. Please tell him that we think of him often.

On January 4th we left the Boathouse and headed to Bangkok where we enjoyed the bustling city for 4 days before returning home to Vancouver, Canada on January 8th. Everyday since our return we tell people and friends about our wonderful visit to Mom Tri’s Boathouse and Phuket. We urge each and every one of them to seriously consider a visit.

Thank you again for making every day of our visit a very special experience. We hope that you will all be there again next year. Please stay healthy and safe for our return. We miss you all!

Affectionately,
Tara Kaulback and Ron Faoro
Room #206 (12/22/07 – 1/03/08)

Stayed: December 2007
Thank roxannes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for The Boathouse Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 808 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2008

This gem of a hotel just gets better and better and the new Pool Villas are magnificent.

As a Travel Agent I always recommend this hotel with complete confidence and on a personal note I enjoy staying there myself very much indeed.

Guests of this hotel are pampered by the marvellous staff

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rzzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I think this hotel is the perfect hotel for a beach holiday. The location is super, right in front of Kata beach, one of the finest in Phuket, you can go from your bed to your sun bed in less than 5 minutes. Food is superb. Service is excellent, and being a very small hotel very personal. The only drawbacks are the rooms, quite old, and the pool, but who wants to go to the pool with a great beach in front?

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andreamonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We are frequent visitors to Phuket, and although we had eaten at the Boathouse restaurant before, we had never stayed at the resort. After 4 days, it became our favorite resort in Phuket.

The Boathouse is a small resort located on Kata Beach, less than an hour's taxi ride (THB 800) from the airport. Kata Beach is one of the nicest on Phuket: the usual beautiful white sand, but smaller than Patong or Karon, and not as built up nor as crowded. The Boathouse is near the south end of the beach.

The resort has enough lounge chairs and umbrellas to accommodate all the guests, so that annoying habit characteristic of some tourists, to get up at dawn to reserve a prime spot, is completely unnecessary. As soon as we showed up on the beach, attendants were setting up our chairs, laying out towels, and positioning a table and an umbrella. That was followed almost immediately by the delivery of glasses of ice water and fruit kabobs. A short time later icy towels arrived, and the ice water was replenished all afternoon. The resort has a small wading pool only, so if you are looking for a freshwater swim, this is not the place to stay. Thankfully, the very few beach vendors that make it to this part of the beach are not at all intrusive.

The beach itself is gorgeous, with clear water, a nice slope, and rocky outcroppings at both ends which kept a number of snorkelers entertained. A few long tail boats are available to hire, as well as snorkling gear, boogie boards, and surf boards. The latter had us puzzled, since the first 2 days we were there, the surf only lapped at the beach. On the third day, however, the surf was up enough to give a handful of surfers a good, but short, ride. Unlike the bigger beaches, the peaceful sound of the waves is rarely disturbed by wave runners and speed boats.

Between the Boathouse and the south end of the beach are at least 3 restaurants serving both Thai and Western food--all pretty good and cheap. Our favorite was the Kata B-B-Q: great food and really pleasant service.

Our room was nicely appointed and the size was more than adequate, with a mini-bar, cable TV, comfy bed, wi-fi internet connection, and a small balcony. We stayed on the ground floor, and the garden foliage blocked our view of the beach, so next time we will ask for a second floor room. A fruit plate was replenished daily. The buffet breakfast had sufficient variety, so that it didn't feel like it was the same old thing every day.

The restaurant at the Boathouse has the reputation as one of the best on the island, and reservations for dinner are probably necessary even during mid-week. The wine list is the big attraction, and the foyer of the hotel is festooned with multiple awards from the Wine Spectator. To be honest, we were disappointed in the dinner we had--maybe our expectations were set too high. We actually thought their other restaurant, Gung, just a few steps south on the beach road, was much better.

This part of Kata Beach has the requisite souvenir shops, tour desks, convenience stores and tailors, but it isn't overwhelming like some of the more built-up areas of Phuket. There is a great little spa, The Senses, just down the road about 150 meters, that is serene and far less expensive than the one that is associated with the resort.

All in all, a great stay. Because this is the rainy season, the room rates were little more than half of high season, but now that we have stayed here, we will probably come back even when the rates go up.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DeschutesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Great hotel on the beach. We even found some surf right out front. Service was good but not great. Always had to ask for stuff.(e.g a frosty Pina Coloda)

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone; it is small, classy and has a
great location.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I never get disappointed with this hotel. I actually do not like Phuket, especially Patong, for those noises and parties. The only place I keep going back on the island is Kata beach, which is fairly European and more relaxing than other beaches in Phuket.
Boat House is a small boutique hotel with very personal service. You do not need to dress like you do when you stay at Banyan Tree and it is much lower key and relaxing. So, if the traveller wishes to have some great pool scene, this is not the right hotel.

Their main restauant has an excellent wine list (rare in Phuket of course) and the quality of food is definitely way above average.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2007

We spent our last few days here at Mom Tri's Boathouse. The location, right on the beach is great except for the constant flow of people trying to sell you souvenirs. Mom Tri's really needs to do something about this. I couldn't read my book in peace because I was constantly interrupted and asked to buy something. It is privatley serviced (eg clean towels provied, iced water and fruit) The pool is very small, a bit budget motel looking. I assume the views from the other rooms would have been fabulous, but we were put in the room which was tucked away in the corner surrounded by plants, we had a glimpse of the ocean. The cocktail and fruit bowl on arrival is a nice treat. Rooms are very clean but the pics look better on the website! The staff is very friendly. We paid AUD$140 per night, a bit overpriced, probably worth about $90 per night. I would recommend the Movenpick which is a large resort, the rooms, the pool and the service, everything about this place is heaven! I used to avoid big resorts, but after this expereince wow! The restaurant at mom tri's is a little overated also, the food was nice (a little overcooked) and again overpriced! The views from the restaurant are beautiful and we did have a great night regardless.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LilySydAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $211 - $1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing