We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boathouse Phuket
Nearby Hotels
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$144
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$469
$457
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$233
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Palm Resort & Spa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$172
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beach Heights Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaman Cannacia Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PGS Hotels Casa Del Sol(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$43
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
595
215
56
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
215
56
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrekata beach clubbeachfront suitewine grillboat housefamily suitethe general managerboutique hotelpool areasmall poolhotel guestsfresh fruitpool staffcooking classfantastic locationmain restaurantsmall hoteldirect access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 898 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Oceanfront rooms were behind pool and resturaunt. ZERO PRIVACY. trees in front of upper floor suites resuted in VERY LIMITED sea or sand view. Beach chairs rented out to anyone, I mean anyone!

WORST seafood meal I've ever had. Old renowned chef no longer there, now beware! Burned canned truffles on chicken for an extra $25.

Stay away not he old Boathouse

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sfrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I saved hard all year and planned a 7 night stay at the new-look Boathouse at the beginning of Feb 2012.This was to be a special birthday treat. Being our 7th return visit to this favourite holiday haven of ours, we couldn't wait to see the refurbishments.We found Antony of Amsterdam's criticism very harsh. The Boathouse has retained all its charm and warmth but has taken on a new fresh and vibrant look. The new GM. Marie-Laure, is charming and dynamic.The Boathouse is still blessed with its highly competent staff Team ~ some of whom like Kuhn Jarinee, have served there for over 20 years. They all go the extra mile to please and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Our holiday took a dramatic and frightening twist on our second night when my previously very fit and active 83 yr old husband experienced a T.I.A and heart attack in a nearby restaurant. On reporting back to the Boathouse, the speedy and efficient intervention by Kuhn Jarinee and her very caring front office staff was awesome. They found out where immediate neurological and cardiac care was available. Jarinee then leapt into action, organizing doctors appointments and hotel transport to transfer us to the Bangkok Hospital in Phuket.

Thank God for S.O.S. Travel insurance. The Bangkok Hospital, a 40 mins drive from the Boathouse, proved to be an incredible centre of hope and healing. My husband's heart doctors, Drs Jakkawan Wongiwat and Varin Aurora were incredible.Their expertise and the highly efficient and compassionate nursing care he received there was top class.

After a night in ICU and 4 more nights in a private ward where I had to doss down on a couch to help care for him,we returned to the Boathouse with 2 hearts stents. We were told we could not fly back to South Africa for a month so our 7 night Boathouse stay became a one month period of tranquil convalescence and restoration.

We cannot thank the Boathouse Management team and staff adequately for their warm and caring Thai hospitality. The compassion we experienced there, helped us to handle a very difficult situation.

As my husband regained his strength, we returned to enjoy the marvellous beach facilities. The Re Kata Beach Club is a great innovation.We were overjoyed to find that the chef there is Brian from South Africa! Believe me, we oldies enjoyed the vibe too. A tranquil dip in the new rim pool at sunset is a must! We loved the new Canadian D. J. Jamie's music.

We ate at the Boathouse restaurant most nights and picked just one main course each to make it affordable.The French chef,Jean-Noel is a culinary wizzard.Our favourites were the Angus beef tenderloin steak and the Mussaman curry.

It was lovely to see many more young families coming to the Boathouse. It is also a perfect holiday haven for singles and widowed folk as everyone is so friendly and helpful.You will leave having made new friends for life as we have.The airport welcome and transfer makes a huge difference to older folk who cannot cope with the trauma of handling luggage. We booked and paid directly via Kuhn Jarinee, before we left Cape Town and this proved efficient and secure.If you have to face a medical emergency or trauma anywhere in the world, try and organize to be at The Boathouse!

Room Tip: We loved room 212 with access to the roof area which now has umbrellas and loungers and is a step away from the airy Island Club lounge. It was the perfect spot to chill with a cup of tea and a good book.The view from there at sunset is magnificent.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joestott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our third visit to the boathouse and the first time since the renovations have taken place. The lounge access room was excellent with lovely views over the bay giving you plenty of quiet open seating areas to relax. Once again the service from all the staff was exceptional nothing is to much trouble none more so than the beach boys who cater for all your needs. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shepgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at the boathouse, but the first time since the change of name and refurbishment.

Our room was the same and had not been refurbished, just the TV upgraded, but we knew this when we booked it. We wanted a room on floor 3.

The public areas had changed greatly. Seemed strange at first but we got use to it, and it was neither better or worse. The upstairs lounge is now much more open and less of a roof top feel. We certainly saw more people use this than we ever had, it does give a good seat to watch the sun go down. Although it is still a bit isolated.

The beach club and infinity pool are nice, but a bit ‘gucci’. Good concept, expensive, which does keep the cliental selective. Shame the hotel does not spend a bit of time and effort on the foreshore outside the hotel and the rubbish that accumulates in the sea.

Beach is lovely, as always, and the sunbeds are comfortable and the spare beds and space are tempting to many, but the beach boys do their stuff to keep it residents only.

Beds are comfortable, pillows a bit hard (for us), good wardrobe space, free tea / coffee and 2 bottles of water a day. Fridge filled with the normal mini bar which we remove and fill with our stuff. Air Con is good. Bathroom in the non-refurbished rooms are as they always have been – adequate.

The breakfast concept had changed. A’la’carte menu to pick off for the main, with fruit, juice, yoghurt, toast etc all in a buffet. Very friendly staff come round to top up coffee, although some of the newer staff still need to ensure that they don’t miss out of the customers body language. No complaints here.

The hotel has maintained the quality it had, although some of the soul has gone. Nice to see that many of the really good staff had been retained.


Great location, lovely beach to walk along, short walk into town. Bar opposite, Bounty Bar, offers great cheap food and drinks.

Free wifi - an essential for us.


I think we would go back . . . the hotel just has to make sure that it does not price itself out of its market.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Old Phuket favourite the Boathouse has a new addition: Re Ka Ta Beach Club. Same great view of Kata Beach as it's right next to the Boathouse. Ignore TripAdvisor's location which puts the Boathouse in Kathu, Phuket Town or Karon. It's just right on the sands of Kata Beach! Great spa and lounge club. Good music (although I do prefer the sound of the sea). Dinner at Re Ka Ta was a surprise: a healthy, delicious raw food menu plus a more traditional but still healthy light menu. We went for raw this meal. Everything looked fabulous, tasted great and was reasonably priced. For Boathouse die-hards, the Wine & Grill of course still offers everything good and tasty from Chef Jean-Noel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiesPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews