We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boathouse Phuket
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My wife and I had read several good reviews of this hotel prior to our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed. We stayed on an oceanview room on the second floor and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

This is possibly the best located hotel we have ever stayed at. It has direct beach access, with plenty of beach chairs/umbrellas available, and even beachside service for its guests (fresh water and fruit). But it also has plenty of bars, restaurants, and shopping within walking distance, so you never have to venture far to satisfy whatever you need. The beach itself is kept meticulously clean by hotel staff, and is one of the most fun I've ever experienced (Patong Beach pales in comparison).

The rooms were comfortable but a bit dated in terms of design (this bothered my wife more than it did me). Fruit is served every day, but beware of its disposal as ants will be attracted within an hour. It got bad enough that we had to call the front desk, and they promptly sent someone up to clean up the bugs.

Our only complaint was our disappointment in the food at the hotel's restaurant (of course this is a separate issue from our stay). Their breakfast was great, but when we returned for dinner we found the menu overpriced for the quality of food. But there are more than enough great options around (including the tapas restaurant next door operated by the same management). Every other aspect was fantastic. All in all, it might be pricier than many other hotels in the area, but its location is impossible to beat and amounts to a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for your praise for the Boathouse. We are pleased to hear you found us an excellent choice for your honeymoon. A renovation of our rooms and public areas is planned for this summer season; once plans are finalized we will post notice on our website.

We have noted your comment about the fruit plate disposal and restaurant pricing and have passed the information to the relevant departments for their consideration.

For your information the restaurant next to the Boathouse serves Mediterranean food in the seafront restaurant and pricing is quite a bit lower than at the Boathouse. Though there are plenty of appetizers, the tapas menu has been discontinued.

We hope to welcome you and your wife to our hotel again, perhaps for your 1st wedding anniversary? We are convinced the by then newly renovated rooms will be to your and your wife’s liking.
Best regards,

Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 809 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Boathouse definitely grows on one! We have just returned and loved every moment of our 6th visit to Kata Beach.We say "Hear Hear!" to all the heartwarming comments I have just read on Trip Adviser. Whilst there ,we met guests from Europe who had stayed at the Boathouse 12 or 15 times so we are actually still novices!.But their wholehearted recommendations surely say it all! Once again the charming and highly efficient Front Office Manageress,Kuhn Jarinee handled our email bookings and we paid by credit card without a single hiccup, all before we left South Africa. What an asset she is to the Boathouse Team!

The Boathouse really is SIMPLY THE BEST, for its amazing position right on Kata Beach, it's proximity to good shopping and excellent restaurants, its charming, relaxed and tranquil Thai ambience and the exceptional service offered by its highly efficient , friendly and attentive staff. Many of them have served there for years and have become like family members to us. We appreciate the way they have made great strides in learning English and they are extremely helpful to guests.Nothing is ever too much trouble and once again we found they offered their assistance, even when off duty! In our country we are working hard to achieve better levels of customer service and job satisfaction and here the Thai folk set a great example.Kuhn Lisa continues to be an incredible P.R.O with a wealth of useful information at her competent finger tips! She told us about an excellent optician in the heart of Phuket Town and we enjoyed our bus ride there, sitting alongside all the locals.
If you need new specs, wait until Thailand and head for Better Vision! They will even deliver the specs to you before your departure! My husband and I obtained 3 new pairs, between us,including multi-focals, all for R5 000 in our currency! This figure included the eye tests!

The food at the Boathouse is always a culinary highlight..The outdoor candlelight setting at night is magical. Start your dinner at sunset and then watch the lucky Chinese lanterns float across the silvery sea and vanish into the night sky. You will love the healthy Boathouse buffet breakfasts with freshly -squeezed fruit and vegetable juice on offer....but if temptation overtakes you, try a choc chip croissant or Danish pastry straight from the Boathouse oven

.It was great being fetched from the airport and as oldies, we so appreciated not having to shoulder our own luggage or struggle with foreign public phones to summon a taxi! We have recommended the Boathouse as a safe holiday haven for all our widowed friends to visit. For folk travelling on their own, it's a friendly, secure destination and you will leave having made delightful new friends.We certainly have.

This year I celebrated my birthday at the Boathouse and was overwhelmed by the kindness of the management team who organized a beautiful cake and basket of orchids to be delivered to our room. Loving and thoughtful gestures like these, make the Boathouse very special to us. Over the years all the staff have found a very special place in our hearts. We thank them most sincerely for making yet another Thai holiday so memorable.Keep up the great work you are doing at the Boathouse.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joestott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Stott,

Thank you for your kind compliments. From our side I say, speaking for all our staff, we always love to have you staying with us. I think everyone likes to go out of their way even more than usual to make your stay extra comfortable as you are so positive and appreciative.

Also thank you for being such great Boathouse (and Thailand) ambassadors with your friends. And being able to sing and teach the Thai National Anthem to others is quite a skill I am impressed with.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

With best regards,
Lisa
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

it is a boutique hotel with only 38 rooms which gives you a good feeling of intemacy. we stayed only 4 nights but most of ghests are coming repeatedly and staing 2-3 weeks, year after year. the standard room is not exceptional but the staff was. service and behavior of staff was excelent, very polite and helpfull. location very good also, on the beach. restaurant, very good too and located with a wonderfull view to the beach. we had a very good time and will recommand this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at the Boathouse for a week in late Janauary. This was our second stay, and it did have a 'welcome home' feel about it.

The biggest asset of the hotel is the location on the beach means that guests have a tranquill point on the beautiful Kata Beach.

Service is great and beds comfy, nice little balcony. Bathrooms are a bit dated but perfectly functional and adequate - do miss things like a shaving mirror. Water and coffee provided. Breakfast is a good choice and top quality, not the expansive buffets you get at the larger hotel but thats not the Boathouses style, but always a great choice and we enjoy it.

Wifi is available if needed

A lovely stay and our number one choice for Kata

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Dear Traveling Mitch,
Thank you again for returning to the Boathouse once more. We are always glad when our guests let us know they enjoyed their stay with us.
We have noted your comment on the guest bathrooms and shaving mirror. The new owners intend a renovation in the near future which most likely will include the bathrooms and public areas of the hotel.
We will pass your comments on to them and will keep you informed once plans have been confirmed.
With best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a great location, with direct beach access. The staff are friendly & very welcoming, without being intrusive.
The guest rooms are a little dated & in need of modernisation & refurbishments, especially the bathrooms.

The ONLY issue, is that smoking is allowed in the restaurant & this is incredibly off putting! This is not acceptable in 2011 & needs to be addressed.

We will not revisit this hotel, because our meals were spoilt by this issue

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
2  Thank JS_in_Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Public Relations Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Dear JS,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel. We have the well-being of all our guests at heart at all times and regret your comfort was affected by smoking guests in your immediate area.
We are sorry but in our open-air restaurant it has proven impossible to designate a non-smoking section. As the Boathouse is right on the beach, usually there is a sea breeze which alters direction regularly, even in the course of an evening. We can not guarantee a 100% smoke-free zone for non-smoking guests. We kindly ask smokers to be considerate of their fellow guests and upon request reserve a table for breakfast or other meals in an outdoor area, furthest away from others.
Our new owners intend a renovation in the near future which most likely will include the guest bathrooms besides public areas of the hotel. Should their plans also include a non-smoking area or separate smoking lounge we will inform you once their plans have been confirmed.
We would like to be able to guarantee a 100% smoke-free zone in order to welcome you back but I’m afraid at the moment that is not possible.
With best regards,
Lisa Sol
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Fabulous time spent with exceptional service and food in the best location on Kata Beach. The kitchen and staff obviously have pride in all aspects of the food they serve in the returaunt and even on the beach this service did not faulter. Thanks for a great holiday Barrie Gill

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketLisa, Manager at The Boathouse Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Dear Mr. Gill,

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. I really like your photos of the view of our Jacuzzi and especially the one taken from the water looking towards the Boathouse. A great angle; I hope your camera survived that shot!

With sunny regards,

Lisa Sol
PR Manager
Mom Tri’s Boathouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

we had the most wonderful, wonderful time at The Boathouse. We could fault nothing from the great service, the food to our beautiful suite overlooking Kata Beach. Thank you so much for a very memorable holiday.
The Dowlings

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brondowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Phuket

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Boathouse by Montara)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $203 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world's best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boathouse Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
The Boathouse Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing