We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai food in Phuket...Maybe Thailand!!! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach - MOVED

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: $1 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Phuket...Maybe Thailand!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

After travelling around Thailand and eating in many restaurants, this is without doubt one of the best authentic Thai restaurants available, at such reasonable prices. The staff are welcoming and attentive and the food is delicious. If you are staying in Kata beach you must eat here! It's not as hard to find as some of the others, just down the side road after the Melisa hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Jelsey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Wow, not sure if we're the best, but we try hard to do our best. So thank you!

Yes, that's correct, we're the next road down from Soi Malisa and guess what? We'll have a new location open on Soi Malisa in about 10 days! Don't worry, we're keeping the old place too.

See you again and thanks for stopping by.

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    56
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This restaurant is off a main road so a little hard to find but it's well worth the effort of tracking it down. The food was really delicious and fresh. The restaurant is clean and the staff are friendly. It is very reasonably priced and the meals are a good size. You have to give this one a try. We will
definately be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We've figured out how to correct the Google map so hopefully next time it will be easier to find. We're also opening a second branch around the corner which will be even easier. Stay tuned!

Thanks again for coming in, we appreciate your business.

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We decided to give Sugar and Spice a try based on all of the good reviews - It was such a great choice! As Canadians, we have often found ourselves intimidated by places that appear slightly less "Westernized" on our trip - but we would have really been missing out if we had let this sway our decision. Clean, courteous, and most of all, delicious. Highly recommended for an authentic meal in Kata Beach!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your nice review and glad you gave us a try. Nice to have some Canadians in too!

See you next time you're in our part of the world.

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Tanah Merah, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

location: do not follow the directions given by google maps, we did this and ended up in a parking lot two blocks away! just follow the directions here in trip advisor.. there is a big sign out by the main street, it's our fault for relying too much on technology! :p

ambiance: it's a quaint restaurant, having that local feel, but still endearing.. kind of got confused though as the music was cowboy sounding

service: they were helpful and kept an eye on our needs, the food came quickly and was served with a smile :p

food: the food was great! probably the best we've eaten in phuket.. try the crab cakes for appetizers with some coconut shakes! yummm! the price is average, can't really say cheap like what most are saying here.

it's a little gem tucked away in a side street, must try for authentic thai food!

Helpful?
1 Thank EAndyB_0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi and thanks for your review. I'm glad you found us. Google maps drives me crazy as the address is correct, but it shows on the wrong soi (the next soi south.) I can't change it, I have no way of doing that. So for any one else who reads this, this is why I have a screen shot of the proper map in the picture gallery. And correct, TripAdvisor's map is correct.

Phuket is generally is more expensive than other places in Thailand (on par with Bangkok) because of high land prices and rent. So when people say the prices are inexpensive, they mean compared to other places in Kata and around Phuket. Phuket is like the Hawaii of the US. It's always been like this. You can't compare the prices to, say, Chiang Mai or Udon Thani, etc.

Sorry you didn't like the music while you were there. It's an 800 song playlist that has just about every genre on there (but dining soft music for the most part, not dance music. :-) ) Yes, there is a little country music on there too.

Thanks again for your very nice review and next time you come back the playlist will have moved forward a bit. (jk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We had read about Sugar & Spice on TA and decided to try and find it for a late lunch after finishing a half day tour. Thankfully we managed to track it down and had a wonderful lunch!

The kids had french fries and garlic bread, but we dined on Thai food - spring rolls, chicken satays, pad thai. All food was absolutely delicious and very fresh, possibly the best we have had so far in Phuket.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and the price is very cheap for the high standard of food.

Thankfully we still have a couple of days/nights left in Kata so we will definitely be back to experience even more of the delicious Thai food at Sugar & Spice.

Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn M, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very very much for your incredibly positive review, we really appreciate it! So happy you enjoyed our food and very happy to see you would like to come back again.

I've been away for a few days, so I am happy to hear my staff is still doing a good job without me around.

See you again soon!

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing