We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good food”

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Russian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just good food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent two weeks in Kata and during this time we came across Sugar and Spice.

The menu for the place is laid out well and has a good mix of Thai and Western dishes. All the dishes we had were great quality but I will suggest the Italian carbonara, a fantastic dish (well done folk).

The place is as suggested down a soi next to a hotel but unlike other reviews I don't see the problem with this. They staff are very good at taking your orders and pretty much leave you to get on with your meal after it's served which I like because theres no need to ask if everything's ok I would let them know if it was not. Special praise for the young male waiter ( never got his name) for being a good laugh and for his service style. All in all there are bigger more expensive places to eat in Kata but Sugar and Spice does for me for price and quality, thanks guys x

Helpful?
Thank ellistripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed everything and we hope you'll come back again.

You're waiter was "M" or "Em" the only male waiter we have. He's been with me for a while and in fact, he's from Myanmar! Very nice guy and does a great job, very hard worker. We're glad you enjoyed him.

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    56
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Thai Experience”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Sugar and Spice had a nice varied menu to please every taste. Obviously Russians make up a great number of their customers because the menu was in both English & Russian. The food was delicious and inexpensive. I had a Thai pineapple/shrimp salad which was very tasty.

The staff work very hard to provide a nice atmosphere and to cater to many choices. I would not recommend the pizza which is prepared with manufactured crust and cooked in a small toaster oven. The dough is undercooked and flavourless (also very expensive compared to the other marvelous dishes). Stick with Thai food!

I would definitely recommend this little out of the way restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and so happy you enjoyed my place. Sorry about the pizza, we'll work on that. Our kitchen in the new place is smallish so we don't have room for a proper oven, but we'll see what we can do over the low season to get our pizzas back up to where they should be. Thanks for pointing that out.

Yes, as with many places in Phuket, we do have quite a few Russian customers and we're happy to have them. They are very nice people, we enjoy having guests from all over the world! Russians need their own menu because often times they can't read English (as we can't read Russian.) Having a menu in their language helps to make sure they get the right order. We also have a Chinese menu but we don't use it as we don't get many Chinese speaking people in for some reason.

We also have the menu in Thai. :-)

Have a great rest of your trip and we'll see you back again one day we hope!

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Real Thai ?????.......Ya really think so ?”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Visiting Kata at this very moment, here for 2 weeks. Went to Sugar &Spice on Wednesday 9th April'14, 3 days ago, sat in the air conned room upstairs, very comfortable, as it's still very warm in the evenings, but it lacks ambience, don't know how that can be fixed.

However, down to the real agenda, the food.

We ordered Tom Yam, and had to ask if they had made a mistake and given us Tom Kha, the coconut milk soup, no we were reassured, it's Tom Yam, well, the flavours were of Tom Yam, but the soup was not a clear broth, it was definitely clouded with something, coconut milk we thought, whatever else would it be ? Great taste but weird presentation and NO heat !

We also tried the chicken Turmeric soup, which was delicious.

Mains were fish with lime, chicken stir fry with holy basil and Som Tam (papaya salad) with steamed rice.

Now, all of the food was extremely tasteful, and we really enjoyed the flavours, but there is something seriously wrong when you order som tam and the hottest dish on the table was the heat deserted TOM YAM !!

So the main claim of this restaurant is of it's ability to serve real Thai food, the way Thai's eat............. Sorry to tell you, they are not living up to that promise.

We found their food to be very tasty, but as watered down in heat as any of the many other Kata restaurants serving tasty food.

To make their claim and serve a sweet Som Tam with no chilli bite is just very very poor.

Service was pretty good.

The owner, Ohn, makes comment on all the reviews and I commend her for that, very well done.

I hope you have explanation for what we experienced. I'm sure you'll say we should have asked for more spicy, we thought about it,but decided to see how it came your way.

Overall, great tasty food if you don't expect it to be "Thai hot". An owner who makes statement and the food does not live up to it.
Will we return? .............probably, and ask for spicy please.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your review. I've been away for a few days because of the holiday.

There are several types of tom yam, but the two basic bases are clear and red or "thick". Here is one explanation.

"... Tom Yam, there are 2 different soup bases - clear (Nam Sai) and thick (Nam Khon). Do not underestimate the timid and friendly look of the clear Tom Yam soup, it can be seriously hot. The thick soup is not really thick but that's how we call it, it will be orange from either Thai Fried Chili Paste or from the fatty part of shrimps or prawns."

I like nam sai which is how we serve it in the restaurant, but feel free to order "nam khon", we can make it with no problem. If you can't make yourself understood to my staff, pull up a photo on your phone. The color is not really what makes it spicy, it's the number of preek key nue (mouse turd chillies) which the cook ads.

Tom kha is the coconut and sweeter soup but made with the same basic ingredients. We do not put coconut in our tom yam (yum.)

I understand about the spiciness, it's a hard thing that we've had to face as well being in business in touristy Kata. We simply get a lot of people in the restaurant who, despite thinking that they can eat spicy food, will send it back (or complain) if it's too spicy. It's a balance and even Thai people struggle with this when ordering which is why we often take a long time to order some things. So rather than just order it spicy and hope for the best, learn this simple Thai phrase and order it this way:

รสชาติไทยแท้ (rot chat Thai tay) which means "genuine Thai taste. If you put "genuine Thai taste" into Google translate, you can play the sound back so you can hear how it's pronounced.

Usually, in Thai, som tam is ordered specifically with the number of chillies added. So if you go to a cart somewhere on the road (which is the most common way that people eat som tam here in Thailand), the attendant will ask the customer how many chillies they want. If you order three chilies that will be about as spicy as you'd want it. So next time you order som tam, order it with two, three or four chillies and see how it compares. There is nothing inherently spicy about som tam, it's only the little chillies that make it spicy.

I hope this helps and thank again for visiting. Happy journeys through the Thai culinary scene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“OK, But Average Sums It Up”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

If this is the No 1 restaurant based on current TA ratings, it doesn't say much for the other 85. A previous reviewer summed it up with the phrase, "Honest Thai Food", but it's really not much more.

Tucked away down a side street in what seems to be the Russian part of town and facing a derelict lot. Service was friendly and prices were reasonable as you would expect. If you visit, I would recommend the upstairs area as it seems to be a little roomier and I believe air conditioned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi and thanks for your honest review. I am not sure how TA calculates restaurant status, but we are mostly a Thai restaurant yet are compared to international restaurants which are much higher priced and much more formal than we are. So it's often confusing the way restaurants are ranked. I don't know the answer to your question, you'll have to ask TripAdvisor.

We're happy to be #1 right now, though, and I hope you enjoyed your meal. We are a simple restaurant and the model is working well for me. I'll be keeping the same business model for the time being as most people are very happy with what we do. Many restaurants in Kata are very overpriced for what they are, we think. We decided to correct that issue which is one reason why we're popular and busy.

Yes, the soi or lane that we are on is owned by the hotel at the end, Casa del Sol, a Russian-owned hotel. So most of the businesses on the soi cater to Russian guests. We get all nationalities in our place, though.

Yes, upstairs is air conditioned which is nice this time of year.

See you next time!

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morbylanga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the baby clams”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice place to go eat in Kata. Go for the baby clams in garlic. We had them as a starter. I could have eaten a bucket full of them. The service is good, not as observant as one would wish, and the place is tidy and located on a quiet street for a change. Strongly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank freddiemagaluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed our baby clams. We call them beach clams here or in Thai, sweet clams (hoi waan.) They are very delicious and next time, please order a bucket! I'm sure we can accommodate you.

Sorry you feel you were not attended well, it's a Thai custom to not bother people by staring at them all the time. But all you have to do is say "Hello!" or in Thai "Nong nong" which means "waiter" or "garçon" and we'll come right over.

See you again!

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing