We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price.”

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Russian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We discovered this restaurant through Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. It was only our second night in Phuket, so still a bit jaded after an awful journey. We were both full up after 2 courses. The food was really tasty, and my wife who is not a fan of spicy food, really enjoyed it as they ask you how spicy you want it. The service was really quick, which was almost a downside as we prefer to linger a bit over our evening meals. We will go back though on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin13H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

I'm really glad you found our restaurant so quickly upon your arrival. Happy you enjoyed your meal and we hope that you'll come back and try something else too before you leave.

Best wishes for a lovely holiday here in Phuket.

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 182 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent Thai food served attentively by a friendly staff. Prices very reasonable, especially for the quality. An added bonus is it is on a relatively quite side street, so you can actually relax while enjoying an excellent meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank somanytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, we thought being on a side street would be a disadvantage, but it's turned out to be a blessing in disguise in that you can actually listen to our music and hear what your dining companion is saying to you! Noise is a big problem in Thailand so we're happy we don't have that problem!

See you again!

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Eaten here a couple of times, people are friendly and they can definately cook. Not completely happy with the ingredients (lots of onions and pinapple in dishes that traditionally not have it) but it was tasty nonetheless and the price is fair, one of the better options for food in Kata. Free fruit at the end of the meal was a bonus. Keep up the good work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your nice review, happy you enjoyed our dishes. See you again soon we hope!

Best regards,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had lunch here 3 times and was served good cheap thaifood. My friend had the best cheese-ham sandwich he ever had eaten. Finish with a cappuchino, its to die for :-)
WinterNorway

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WinterNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for your review. If things keep going this way, maybe we won't be so small pretty soon! :-)

Best wishes, and come again,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Good food, pleasant atmosphere (Norah Jones playing in the background), good prices, not too many seats. We love to eat where the locals eat. There are many places in Kata where you can get good Thai food but this is a cut above the rest. We would definitely go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kraut55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your great review, I really appreciate it. We were #1 for about a week, not sure what happened, some correction, but we're happy with our reviews and will continue to try and serve the best food we can for reasonable prices!

Come again!

Best wishes,

Ohn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing