We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aloha! Surf House Kata Beach is a family oriented, beach front surf club which has its own bistro and bar, as well as retail outlet. The centrepiece of the venue is the 'Double FlowRider' which allows one to seemingly 'surf', all day... everyday! Signature cocktails and cuisines prepared by international and award winning team of chef are equally appealing as you sit back and enjoy the rustic and beautiful Kata Beach.So pack up for an adventure and see you at Surf House Kata Beach!
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were staying in Patong and caught a Tuk Tuk to Kata Beach after finding the Surf House on Trip Advisor, was a fantastic thing to do for the afternoon! My partner and I both signed up for an hour, I had been a little unsure but the instructors looked helpful and friendly so thought why not join in. And they were! We had a blast and the atmosphere there is awesome too. Great sounds cranking and great location. Agree with the comment about needing a massage after, perhaps they should add an onsite service, but I would expect that when learning any new water sport, and it was definitely worth it! We stuck around after for a drink too and had a great time watching some pro's and some not so pro.
Also a photo service would be great, with both of us riding the way we weren't able to get any snaps, but would have paid for one of the wipe-out photos happily.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe a, General Manager at Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for visiting us at Surf House Phuket!

We are glad you enjoyed the experience and we will continuously emphasise to the instructors about importance of being friendly and ensuring that customers are reminded to stay safe while having fun.

Thanks for suggesting about massage and photo services! We will consider how to complement our venue with these services.

Warm regards

Surf House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    421
    106
    24
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No Flow Barrel”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Such a shame Thailand doesn't have a flowbarrel like Singapore. Had Fun there with a barrel to do tricks, seems Thailands wave is a learners wave without the tube section.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe a, General Manager at Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your feedback!

The FlowBarrel will indeed bring Flowboarding to a different dimension.

We have installed the FlowRider as it offers a lot of excitement too and its also less intimidating for the younger ones and also ladies to try. For the more advance riders, the FlowRider continues to challenge them with loads of tricks from the different board sports like skateboarding, surfing, wake boarding etc.

Regards

Surf House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surfs Up”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great morning spent at the surf house, staff were very helpful, we paid 800TBH for 1 hour and got heaps of turns!! It was lots of fun especially watching people stumble!

Best tip: go early in the morning! the less people surfing at the same time the more turns you get!
Also the water is very fast and will strip your bikini top off as what happened to a young girl, so wear appropriate swimwear!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kreuzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe a, General Manager at Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hey there

Thank you for visiting us!

Yes it could get quite crowded at times especially in the tourist season. We will also remind operators to keep a look out for the younger ones and also ensure a healthy rotation of the customers even when it gets really busy!

Hope you come back again!

Regards

Surf House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My boys had a blast!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our driver that we hired for the day told us about this place, and so glad he did. What a fun experience and right across the beach. We decided to have lunch and drinks here which were pretty good and my boys signed up for an hour which they really enjoyed. All ages can do this, we saw really young kids like 5-6 yrs of age and then we saw guys around 60 yrs of age. Something fun for the whole family! It's 800 bht for the first hour, so it turns out to be about $25.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timeless71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe a, General Manager at Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for visiting us! We are glad you enjoyed the experience as a family and rest assured that we intend on keeping high standard on both F&B as well as safety of the surf experience for our guests.

Do hope to see you again some day!

Warm regards

Surf House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & very entertaining”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place to have a drink & be completely entertained watching people fall over trying to learn to surf. Good vibe with music. Drinks are overpriced which is a real downfall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glamournclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe a, General Manager at Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi!

Thank you for your feedback to us. We will continue to improve the visitor experience at Surf House Phuket. With regard to drinks, we will survey the F&B market on the beach front areas and check if adjustment is required.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Regards

Surf House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach also viewed

 

Been to Surf House Phuket - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing