We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Palmery Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palmery Resort
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived and were pleasantly informed that we had been upgraded to a delux studio. All the rooms looked great, with great pools and bars everywhere. The breakfast was the best of our entire trip. Very clean and good reception service. It is walkable into kata town but they have shuttles on the hour going in and to Karin as we'll. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

In Thailand pavement is generally bad and there is a strong sewage smell near drains. In Nov it can rain hard at times so you need an umbrella but we found it mostly hot and dry in daytime. Overall we found the Palmery good value weighing out comfort and facilities against having Kata beachfront location. Good for couples and families wanting a quiet spot in Nov.

Entrance: large modern signage, open plan reception, dining and guarded drive. Pleasant white and green theme with high ceilings.

Room: Nice mountain backdrop and views. Modern, high ceilings spacious, balcony with chairs, useful amenities and storage (no drawers). Large separate bath and shower. Some items reused/refilled, towels and sheets were clean but sometimes had minor ground in stains. Large bed and pillows comfortable but the bed base sticks out. Furnishings and units good but had obvious wear and tear. Shower glass never cleaned. Room generally clean by Thai standards and was quiet and dark at night (walls not paper thin). No door signs/buttons to inform housekeeping of room status so they can suddenly knock at early hours. Air con is effective but can be quite smelly (typical Thai sewage smell) but we just accepted it.

Staff and Service: staff generally helpful and friendly, joked among themselves during their long hours. Communication was good and professional.

Facilities: private and shared pools (3) were good (it wasn't full capacity) but watch your footing. Pool is not dirty but does need a deeper clean in areas. Wifi was good but your details need to be stored for access each time. Some pools access rooms are shaded by greenery; others leave you exposed to passersby. Our room was 1st floor, pool view but there is no lift. There is a slope for access to the ground floor apartments and in reception areas but you'll struggle on the street pavements and step in/out of bathroom.

Maintenance: Well maintained gardens and has a nice relaxed feel. Cockroaches sometimes crawl along the garden paths.Insects are more likely to get in your room on ground floor. The showerroom base could do with deep clean but not bad.

Prices: we paid £300 for 5 nights for 1st floor pool view and considered it comfortable and very decent value rather than 4* luxury. Lunch for two, no drinks but large portions came to about 200 baht.

Beach: beautiful beaches but very crowed so get there early. We encountered minor jellyfish stings and the waves can get a little high. Toilets/shower facilities are next to the surfing bar at cost 5-20 baht. Beach vendors generally pleasant and food was good.

Location: 15min walk to beach on poor paving in the heat, manageable but tiresome. Kata is compact and more quiet but for a short break it is fine. If you want a bit more then Karon area may be better.

Transport: 1-1.5 hours airport transfer (check the map and take the freeway, avoid traffic going through resorts), costs 849-1000 baht by private taxi meter taxi (go outside airport, turn to right where you part pay at a booth). Minibus service seemed 200+ baht with multiple stops. Free hotel tuk to beach, mostly reliable (mainly every 2hours).

Food:Decent continental breakfast plus pasta/rice/noodles. Chips, sandwich and burger was large portion and ok, but salty/sweet. Minibar is still reasonable by uk standards.

Entertainment: we didn't attend any events but there was full moon event. Mid Nov is quiet and the bars and dining room are deserted as you have selection of places nearby and by the beach.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Londoner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We (my husband and I) visited phuket for the first time and decided to stay at Kata because it's not too crowded compare to Patong.
The palmery placed a bit far from the beach but still within walking distance. The place is quite, a lot of cheap (but delicious) restaurants around the place, breakfast was so nice (my husband like it so much), the pool was always clean, and the staffs were very helpful).
We stayed at the pool view deluxe room. On the last night, something went wrong with the electricity in our room, but the staffs fixed it right away.
Overall, we are very satisfied about the place and planning on stay in this place if we ever going to Phuket again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SaferaDewarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the palmery and have had a bad experience thus far. The service is poor and the bathroom shower is absolutely revolting. It has mould all over the floor edge that has been there so long it's pitch black. To top it all off the shower was blocked and flooded this morning. I asked for another room with a better shower only to be told the hotel is fully booked so we are stuck with the disgusting mouldy blocked shower!!! I still have 4 days to go in room 6107 and I hope something improves as I am very miserable at the moment. Upon check in we were only given one key card and wen I asked for another, they advised as they are fully booked they can only provide 1 card per room. This is not a four star hotel, furniture is worn, marks on the wall, bugs in the rooms. I am so disappointed. It has potential but service and cleanliness is letting them down terribly. Some pics of furniture attached.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank MissGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had 4 great nights at the Palmery. The rooms are big, modern and clean. Showing some signs of wear and tear but that is to be expected. A bit of a walk from the beach so we had to either use the hotel shuttle or grab a tuk tuk which is very easy. Breakfast was fairly average but we still really liked the hotel.

Room Tip: Pool access is great, but be careful with kids as they can easily unlock the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights Pool View Bedroom recommend the pool access room , but it is better suited for quiet relaxation . Breakfast good variety . Night has a small bar near several hotels. Travel difficult for those without cars. However, there is a beach shuttle every 2 hours near the major attractions. Near Chalong Bay for island tours.
Overall was good money.

Room Tip: Pool View Room and walk far older than the Pool Access Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noom_Mixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This hotel is everything I hoped for and more. On arrival I was warmly greeted at reception and shown to my Pool access suite. It was a large bedroom with lovely bathroom, outdoor room, deck and grassed area. I shared a 20 metre pool with 5 other suites so most of the time I had the pool to myself!
I had planned on doing some Thai boxing training and would you believe it there was a training gym a 5 minute walk away, on the way to Kata beach, Chang Muay Thai gym.
The breakfast was good, the food was always being topped up and there was some variation each day. The only downside were the flies as the restaurant is very open with overhead fans.
I tried Elements massage and spa at the hotel and the ladies who work there were lovely, great massage too. There is a gym next to the Spa with brand new equipment.
Service around the hotel was wonderful too. The first day I had trouble with the shower and I had 4 staff members come to my room to help.
Location wise the hotel is about a ten minute walk from Kata beach and the hotel provides regular shuttles to there and Karon markets. It was actually good being a bit out of Kata as it's so busy there.
I had a wonderful time at The Palmery and I would certainly not hesitate in returning. Great, friendly staff and a lovely, new hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skaf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#23 of 55 in Kata Beach
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 136 in Karon
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#35 of 55 in Kata Beach
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 55 in Kata Beach
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#30 of 55 in Kata Beach
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmery Resort

Address: 82/20 Khoktanod Rd, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $35 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmery Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you’re looking for is a conveniently located resort in Phuket, look no further than The Palmery Resort and Spa. This unique resort is located in the embrace of scenic Kata mountain with only a short distance from the famous Kata beach. From here, you can easily access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern resort is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Phuket Surf and Kata View Point.Uniquely designed resort enables you to relish the beautiful vistas of nature and offers you superior services and a excellent variety of amenities. The Palmery Resort and Spa is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. As soon as you enter the room, you will find yourself relax in harmony and peaceful atmosphere. You will enjoy the view of vivid green garden and swimming pool that you can access directly right from your balcony.When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Phuket, make The Palmery Resort and Spa your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palmery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmery Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing