We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I chose to stay 2 nights at Sugar Marina Hotel before moving to Club Med. After reading many reviews, I confirmed my booking. Dude, we were impressed with the truthfulness of all the comments mentioned about the hotel. Rooms are excellent, elegantly decorated, wifi, elevator, friendly staff, delicious food, a short walk to the beach, and shopping places on both sides of the streets. We were super impressed by the amenities provided and location. We will definitely book there again when we visit Phuket. Way to go Sugar Marina Hotel!

Room Tip: A great place to stay in. Very simple with a marine theme that can put u in a peaceful mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pros: All that you can think of - great location - relatively secluded from the main market but close enough, wonderful staff, great morning breakfast, swimming pool, water and beverages in the room added everyday free of cost, great facilities.

The only cons that i can think of:
1. Salty water in the pool 2. Pool closes relatively early at 8:30 3. Poor choice on television - most channels were not working (but thats not what you're there for right) 4. Travel counter is expensive

I would recommend this place to everyone. Its a new establishment and looks and feels new. From the time of entering to when we left, we were treated well and it was our best accomodation on the entire trip. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Choose the pool view rooms on the higher floors - 1. you will not be disturbed if someone is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PuneetSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed there recently for eight nights. It was a great experience. A very new facility so still very clean and nice. All the staff were exceptional. One in particular stands out. After just a few days, she remembered out breakfast likings and each day, we got our breakfast served, exactly as we liked it, with a great big smile and a lot of enthusiasm. (It is a buffet style breakfast but the staff are very eager to add a high level of personal service also.) We have stayed in other facilities, in Kata, operated by the same Corp. on previous visits. They too are good but they dont match the enthusiasm of the Sugarmarina staff. Also during breakfast, towards the end of the service, a gentleman was circulating and I am guessing he was the Captain. He enquired as to whether everything was to our satisfaction overall. Seldom I have I encountered this level of customer interaction in Thailand. (And for the record, I concluded he was the captain, not because he was male but because he wore long trousers and EVERYONE else wore shorts. My conclusions may still not be correct !!!)

SugarMarina is only a very short walk (3-4mins max) to the beach, several good restaraunts and the Ska Bar and less than a pleasant 10 min stroll to the centre of Kata Village via the Road or the beach. There is a family mart just a minute or two away and almost anything else one could need close by. On the negative side, the last 50m or so to SugarMarina is quite steep and this could be a show stopper for anyone with a disability in their lower body..

The wifi worked and the pool was great . Suagrmarina not only matched but markedly exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: A pool view room provides a little buffer from the noise of the pool especially early or at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank peter_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This new resort has so much to offer those traveling to Phuket. First, the front office staff greets you with smiles upon your arrival and each time you enter. When my tour bus was just 5 minutes late, one offered to call the company for me (thanks Ae)! I always felt well taken care of and welcomed. The rooms are especially clean with big, cozy beds, a wonderful shower, and free water/beer/juice. Additionally, the walk to Kata beach is a quick two minutes. The location allows easy and worry free access to restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Sugar Marina Resort is a quiet and well taken care property that I would recommend to all! Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jen26406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean & quiet decent size rooms with all the facilities you would expect: safe, mini fridge with complimentary waters, cokes and 2 fruits, hairdryer, flip flops, umbrellas... Even though the hotel is not by the sea, the location is good in between two great beaches: Kata Beach & Kata Noi, and close to shops. Breakfast more than adequate.
Staff were friendly and professional. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As its new got a really good rate. Staff very friendly throughout and rooms comfortable with a nautical theme. Breakfast a bit limited but nice enough. Pool quite small but nice enough It's probably three and a half stars and good value overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mikepd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fell in love with the place. This lovely hotel just about nails it for all of us smart travelers who are after simple comforts rather than unnecessary luxuries and a price tag that comes with them. Add in a friendly, upbeat, helpful staff, tasteful marine-themed decor, well-maintained rooms, free wi-fi (and minibar), proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants, lots of tasty Asian food for breakfast, and you have all the makings of a truly relaxing Thailand holiday.

By all means give their restaurant a try also (for Thai food, if nothing else) – I did and was very satisfied with the flavor and simple but elegant presentations, all at a very reasonable price.

Some of the beach can be seen from rooms on the upper floors. (I figured the best view was available from room 141 on the top floor, gradually becoming more obscured as the room numbers went up.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MyronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#21 of 55 in Kata Beach
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 55 in Kata Beach
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#8 of 55 in Kata Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $47 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing