We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed there recently for eight nights. It was a great experience. A very new facility so still very clean and nice. All the staff were exceptional. One in particular stands out. After just a few days, she remembered out breakfast likings and each day, we got our breakfast served, exactly as we liked it, with a great big smile and a lot of enthusiasm. (It is a buffet style breakfast but the staff are very eager to add a high level of personal service also.) We have stayed in other facilities, in Kata, operated by the same Corp. on previous visits. They too are good but they dont match the enthusiasm of the Sugarmarina staff. Also during breakfast, towards the end of the service, a gentleman was circulating and I am guessing he was the Captain. He enquired as to whether everything was to our satisfaction overall. Seldom I have I encountered this level of customer interaction in Thailand. (And for the record, I concluded he was the captain, not because he was male but because he wore long trousers and EVERYONE else wore shorts. My conclusions may still not be correct !!!)

SugarMarina is only a very short walk (3-4mins max) to the beach, several good restaraunts and the Ska Bar and less than a pleasant 10 min stroll to the centre of Kata Village via the Road or the beach. There is a family mart just a minute or two away and almost anything else one could need close by. On the negative side, the last 50m or so to SugarMarina is quite steep and this could be a show stopper for anyone with a disability in their lower body..

The wifi worked and the pool was great . Suagrmarina not only matched but markedly exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: A pool view room provides a little buffer from the noise of the pool especially early or at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peter_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
123
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This new resort has so much to offer those traveling to Phuket. First, the front office staff greets you with smiles upon your arrival and each time you enter. When my tour bus was just 5 minutes late, one offered to call the company for me (thanks Ae)! I always felt well taken care of and welcomed. The rooms are especially clean with big, cozy beds, a wonderful shower, and free water/beer/juice. Additionally, the walk to Kata beach is a quick two minutes. The location allows easy and worry free access to restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Sugar Marina Resort is a quiet and well taken care property that I would recommend to all! Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen26406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean & quiet decent size rooms with all the facilities you would expect: safe, mini fridge with complimentary waters, cokes and 2 fruits, hairdryer, flip flops, umbrellas... Even though the hotel is not by the sea, the location is good in between two great beaches: Kata Beach & Kata Noi, and close to shops. Breakfast more than adequate.
Staff were friendly and professional. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As its new got a really good rate. Staff very friendly throughout and rooms comfortable with a nautical theme. Breakfast a bit limited but nice enough. Pool quite small but nice enough It's probably three and a half stars and good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikepd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fell in love with the place. This lovely hotel just about nails it for all of us smart travelers who are after simple comforts rather than unnecessary luxuries and a price tag that comes with them. Add in a friendly, upbeat, helpful staff, tasteful marine-themed decor, well-maintained rooms, free wi-fi (and minibar), proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants, lots of tasty Asian food for breakfast, and you have all the makings of a truly relaxing Thailand holiday.

By all means give their restaurant a try also (for Thai food, if nothing else) – I did and was very satisfied with the flavor and simple but elegant presentations, all at a very reasonable price.

Some of the beach can be seen from rooms on the upper floors. (I figured the best view was available from room 141 on the top floor, gradually becoming more obscured as the room numbers went up.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MyronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We did a lot of research before booking here and the main reason for staying was all the positve comments on TA. Everything is true the staff bend over backwards to help, the brekky is pretty nice esp the pastries! The location is good. Just far enough away from main st but close to kata noi beach which is the best we found. We also Hired a moped to cover about 1/2 of phuket !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simonanbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sugar Marina Resort and fell absolutely in love with the concept, service and value that it offers. The rooms, though not spacious, are tastefully decorated as per the sea theme and are clean & comfortable. You can see the attention to detail in fixtures and furnishing which give the overall nautical theme to the place.

The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and they go out of the way to please the guests (They gave us a late check out, and borrowed us umbrellas till 8 pm since it was raining). We found that they were better at understanding and speaking in English than staff at our hotel in Bangkok.

Breakfast offered a good choice, and the saltwater pool was also a major advantage. The location of the hotel is also good with close proximity to Kata and Kata Noi.

Overall, we were delighted to choose Sugar Marina based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and would recommend this hotel to all travelers blindly. We would definitely be staying here again in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#9 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#35 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing