We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This new resort has so much to offer those traveling to Phuket. First, the front office staff greets you with smiles upon your arrival and each time you enter. When my tour bus was just 5 minutes late, one offered to call the company for me (thanks Ae)! I always felt well taken care of and welcomed. The rooms are especially clean with big, cozy beds, a wonderful shower, and free water/beer/juice. Additionally, the walk to Kata beach is a quick two minutes. The location allows easy and worry free access to restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Sugar Marina Resort is a quiet and well taken care property that I would recommend to all! Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen26406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
153
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean & quiet decent size rooms with all the facilities you would expect: safe, mini fridge with complimentary waters, cokes and 2 fruits, hairdryer, flip flops, umbrellas... Even though the hotel is not by the sea, the location is good in between two great beaches: Kata Beach & Kata Noi, and close to shops. Breakfast more than adequate.
Staff were friendly and professional. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As its new got a really good rate. Staff very friendly throughout and rooms comfortable with a nautical theme. Breakfast a bit limited but nice enough. Pool quite small but nice enough It's probably three and a half stars and good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikepd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fell in love with the place. This lovely hotel just about nails it for all of us smart travelers who are after simple comforts rather than unnecessary luxuries and a price tag that comes with them. Add in a friendly, upbeat, helpful staff, tasteful marine-themed decor, well-maintained rooms, free wi-fi (and minibar), proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants, lots of tasty Asian food for breakfast, and you have all the makings of a truly relaxing Thailand holiday.

By all means give their restaurant a try also (for Thai food, if nothing else) – I did and was very satisfied with the flavor and simple but elegant presentations, all at a very reasonable price.

Some of the beach can be seen from rooms on the upper floors. (I figured the best view was available from room 141 on the top floor, gradually becoming more obscured as the room numbers went up.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MyronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We did a lot of research before booking here and the main reason for staying was all the positve comments on TA. Everything is true the staff bend over backwards to help, the brekky is pretty nice esp the pastries! The location is good. Just far enough away from main st but close to kata noi beach which is the best we found. We also Hired a moped to cover about 1/2 of phuket !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simonanbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sugar Marina Resort and fell absolutely in love with the concept, service and value that it offers. The rooms, though not spacious, are tastefully decorated as per the sea theme and are clean & comfortable. You can see the attention to detail in fixtures and furnishing which give the overall nautical theme to the place.

The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and they go out of the way to please the guests (They gave us a late check out, and borrowed us umbrellas till 8 pm since it was raining). We found that they were better at understanding and speaking in English than staff at our hotel in Bangkok.

Breakfast offered a good choice, and the saltwater pool was also a major advantage. The location of the hotel is also good with close proximity to Kata and Kata Noi.

Overall, we were delighted to choose Sugar Marina based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and would recommend this hotel to all travelers blindly. We would definitely be staying here again in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A fairly new hotel that's close to the beach (5 mins on foot via shortcut), staffs were helpful and always with a big smile (spoke well English too!). Upon checkin in, we were told that the air-conditioner in our room was down so they upgraded us to a 4* hotel (Sugar Palm Grand Hillside) for 1 nite and we were given a room on the 9th floor with a beautiful sea view! We were then transferred back to Sugar Marina for the remainin 2 nites of our trip, and being upgraded to pool access room too! They were really generous! On top of that they refilled the fridge each day with water, beer, juice and soft drinks! All for free!

If you do not like the busy and noisy Patong, go to Kata and stay in this hotel, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: If havin a direct access to the pool (with no staircase, you have to jump in and climb up from anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LengCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing