We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Hi
im in the hotel now every thing is perfect good value i pay 4200 for 3 nights i can not belive it verrry clean very gooood bed to reach the sea u mhst walk for 2 minits i will come again i like kata beach becuse its not smali like patong i like the wather also

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    120
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
58
157
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rather new resort with a very consistent "maritime" style which gives the hotel a cosy atmosphere of it´s own. Spacious, modern rooms, balconies not that big and PLS NOTE: If you plan to use the balcony, then DON´T book the ones with "garden view", as this doesn´t exist! I had a room with socalled "garden view", and I looked into a "wall" of unorganised plants/grass which barely could be described as a "garden". So go for poolview instead if you plan to use the balcony. Compl. Wireless in the rooms which worked well, nice bathrooms with bathtub as well.
OK pool but not that big, but does the job.
Ok food in the restaurant but staff not very good at English, so rather hard to communicate. Also, it happened several times, both for me and other guests, that ordered food was "forgotten" (maybe because of lack of English speaking skills?!) and had to be ordered again after some waiting time. OK knowledgde of the reception when asked about excursions to the Big Buddha and the big market in Phuket Town Saturday and Sunday evening. Summing up I can recommend this property, also location is OK with only 300 m walking distance to Kata Beach and close to a good supermarket as well. Very good cleaning, and every day!

Room Tip: If you book a "garden view" room then ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor! If not you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and wanted more. The decor was charming and everything was nice and new. Check-in was smooth and we paid 1000baht for airport pickup which was painless and reliable. The staff were prompt with emails prior to our arrival. Breakfast was acceptable, just don't expect a lavish spread. The salt water pool was clean. Proximity to Kata Beach and Kata Noi Beach was the reason we booked this hotel, and true enough, it was a pleasant short walk (note that you'll have to walk up/down a slightly steep hill to get to Kata Noi). There are massage places (starting from 300baht) and a convenience store just a stone's throw away. Prices are generally steeper around this area compared to Patong centre but that's to be expected. For the best prices for tours and land transfer, look out for Andaman Tour and Travel by Jenny, which is about 5 mins' walk from the hotel (right next to the 7-11). We also appreciate the initiative of the staff, although some are far more friendly and genuine than others. Nevertheless, they were all professional at their job. Overall, we really loved the room we got and we will book this hotel again should we return to Phuket. A highly recommended hotel for those who wish to stay away from the madding crowd. The only downside: Small stains on the sheets and some beach towels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Simple, smart and affordable! Came to stay here with my 3 girlfriends in June 2013.

The rooms are simple yet lovely and had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. We had a free mini bar that was topped up everyday, wi-fi worked very well and the room service was fast and efficient. The power went out the one night we were there but they made sure it was fixed in a timely manner. I had surgery whilst on this trip and the staff really went out of their way to help me through it. They were all stars!

The breakfast buffet was lovely, with a choice of how you wanted your eggs every morning. Yummy fruit and yogurt and pretty much everything you can think of to make breakfast enjoyable.
The pool was sufficient and it was a pretty sight in the evenings when all the lights would come on.
The hotel is just a short walk from gift shops, restuarants and massage parlours (I recommend the one right next door -amazing!) The beautiful beach is not far either. Kata is just lovely and much more peaceful than Patong (which we visited on 3 occasions - only a 15 minute tuk tuk drive).

A+++ once again to the staff at Sugar Marina. Thank you guys for helping me and making our stay a pleasant one :) We will hopefully be back in the near future!

Room Tip: Pool side deluxe rooms are the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimB942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

the place is only a few months old, so everything is still in great condition. deco is lovely. salt water pool is well maintained- unlike some resort pools with murky water. it's a little small tho, perhaps about 20m for length and 5 for breath? service was prompt, staff were friendly, polite and had initiative- without prompting, they helped us call our tour driver when he failed to arrive on time. good location- super short walk to kata beach and about ten min walk to kata noi. breakfast isn't amazing but it's enough. they also have quirky daily specials such as diff types of 'phuket desserts' that were a nice surprise. wld definitely recommend the place to those heading to the kata area. no need to get a pool access room- hotel is small so the time walking to the pool is negligible. rooms on 2nd level and up (pool view) get a view of the mountains as well, which is pretty cool.

Room Tip: get a room w a view. perhaps second floor so you can either climb the stairs or take the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hellosailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is new and nice. Everything is ok and now negative surprises. Short way to the beach and the hotelrestaurant is quite good. The hospitality of the staff at the hotel is also exelent ! This hotel is a wery good choise

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styrx
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been visiting phuket frequently since 2000 for about 2-3 times a year. Thus, we have seen the countless changes to this island.

What we enjoyed most at sugar marina is the attitude of the service staff. They are definately one of the happiest, friendliest and efficient group of people. Kudos to the manager and his management.
Special mention to Lek and Bow who never fail to remember our breakfast orders :)

But in the house keeping area there are still room for improvement. During our week stay, our mini bar was not repenish on one of the days, beach towel were also not change daily and shampoo and shower gel were also not repenish when fully utilize.

Overall, it was still a very good experience. Comfortable bed, excellent customer service and convenience to the beach will make this hotel a very popular choice in Kata Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing