We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is new and nice. Everything is ok and now negative surprises. Short way to the beach and the hotelrestaurant is quite good. The hospitality of the staff at the hotel is also exelent ! This hotel is a wery good choise

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    108
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
51
145
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
styrx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been visiting phuket frequently since 2000 for about 2-3 times a year. Thus, we have seen the countless changes to this island.

What we enjoyed most at sugar marina is the attitude of the service staff. They are definately one of the happiest, friendliest and efficient group of people. Kudos to the manager and his management.
Special mention to Lek and Bow who never fail to remember our breakfast orders :)

But in the house keeping area there are still room for improvement. During our week stay, our mini bar was not repenish on one of the days, beach towel were also not change daily and shampoo and shower gel were also not repenish when fully utilize.

Overall, it was still a very good experience. Comfortable bed, excellent customer service and convenience to the beach will make this hotel a very popular choice in Kata Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Love this place! It's quite new :)
Definitely the highlight of the trip!! The staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was clean & comfy! Near to the beach, spa and food. Very convenient.
I was greeted on my birthday with a plate of fruits, very thoughtful of them. It also happened to be Sonkran day, which made my vacation even more exciting!

Honestly the beach is not the greatest, however staying at sugar marina made it worth it. (And of course Thai food)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellyooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

There are many good things about Sugar Marina Resort, definitely recommended for travellers to Phuket:
1) VERY value for $, only cost me about $30 per pax per night with breakfast
2) The room is very comfortable, clean and well furnished, with a king sized bed, long couch, samsung flat screen tv, balcony overlooking the pool. the maritime design was very nice too. had a very cosy feeling. Complimentary mineral water and drinks (coke, singha beer) everyday
3) staff are very friendly and helpful, willing and able (speak relatively good English) to answer your questions about attractions, directions etc.
4) Nearby Kata and Kata Noi beaches, which are relatively quiet and not as crowded as Patong beach. Near many small shops and restaurants too although they may be quite ex

Overall, I had a wonderful time at Sugar Marina. It gave me a very cosy and relaxed feeling, a must go if you're looking to getaway from your usual hectic and busy life

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pris2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you've stayed at any of the Sugar Palm Resorts, you can expect the same standard at the Sugar Marina. The Marina/Sailing theme is very well carried out throughout the resort. Very nice.

The rooms are clean and beds are soft, comfortable with at least 4 pillows. Room size isn't very big but adequate. Minibar is stocked with 1 complimentary Coke, Juice, Beer and 2 bottles of water daily. Breakfast was ok, with an egg station. Nothing to shout about.

Staff are generally ok. You smile, they smile. The guy at the breakfast egg station and one of the male 'waitress' are great. Genuinely friendly. They are not so good at problem handling but if you do not need anything fixed, then there's no problem. Like many smaller hotels in Phuket, they are stickler to rules and extra-person/breakfast charges. It took some explaining that we have 3 adults and a 9-yr old in 2 rooms that breakfast should be for the 4 and the 9-yr old should not be charged for breakfast. Once cleared, everyone was back to being friendly. Great.

Extra bed cost 1200 Thai Baht. Breakfast for children is charged at 210 Thai Baht. It makes more sense to book another room if you have more than 2 in your party. However, I don't think they have connecting rooms. We got our rooms at about 1500 Thai Baht from hotel booking sites. It's a few dollars cheaper than what is offered by the hotel.

The salt water pool was not very nice. We prefer a fresh water pool after a long day by the beach.

Location: It's about 5-8 mins walk to the beach. It's nearer to the beach than Grand Sugar Palm or Sugar Palm Kata. There are plenty of eateries and convenient stores within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the front has better wifi connection. The signal is weak on higher floors and farther t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgentBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked 5 nights & stayed an extra night because we loved it so much. The styling has a nautical theme & the attention to detail for this was impressive, right down to the anchors hanging on the front of the doors, requesting the room to be made up, but it is all very stylish.
The room smelt a bit mouldy when we first walked in, but this is Thailand. Within a day of the balcony door being opened, the fresher air took over.
The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the sheets were changed every day, even when we made our beds. You receive the standard complimentary bottles of water, but they also provide a complimentary can of coke, can of beer & a fruit juice box.
The pool area was lovely with a good combo of shade & sun and is truly a delight to see at night time.
The buffet breakfast provided everything we needed with cereal, eggs made to order, fruit and a range of Danish pastries but they also served a combination of Western & Thai meals for lunch & dinner and will happily serve it by the pool if you wish.
The location is great with a 200m walk to Kata Beach and an easy walk to numerous restaurants, tour agencies & massage shops.
The service we received was fantastic. My 12yr old couldn't get the tv to work and when I asked someone to take a look, someone came up within minutes & found the remote wasn't working & replaced it. They even sent me an email thanking me for my stay and asking for feedback on how to improve!!
The staff were always smiling at my son & I & greeting us warmly every time we walked past reception.
I celebrated my birthday at the hotel & upon returning late from dinner, there was a knock on my door. I opened it to two staff wishing me a Happy Birthday and presented me with a platter of fruit. I have no idea how they knew, but I was so touched & it made my night.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do want a sea view, the rooms above the restaurant would provide a bit of view as we could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

it was surprisingly very good. the hotel was new, we had a great room (101) with direct access to the pool. it's about 15 mins stroll to Kata Noi, 10 mins to Kata (go to Kata Noi - there are too many people at Kata). nice restaurants & bars nearby, as well as massage places (from average cost to luxury). some convenience stores around as well. for our bathroom, take note there's only 3 sliding wooden panels to cover it from the bedroom (not sound proof). they give you 2 sets of towels most probably 1 for the beach, 1 for the bathroom. they also refresh the fridge daily if you grab the beer can, 2 bottles of water, and a juice box. also, the pool floor lights up at night!

Room Tip: choose a pool view room for direct/nearby access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fairydusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#17 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing