We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Hotel Is Not Ready!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were taken in by the beautiful pictures of the rooms. Unfortunately, we soon found out that wifi was not available throughout our stay and there was no hot water in the shower. When we told them about the situation, they said the wifi would be fixed in about 30 minutes (didn't happen) and a surprised "oh" was their only response to our hot water situation.

The room was wet when we checked in. We didn't notice and had worn our shoes in. The bellhop apologised and asked us to wait 5 minutes for housekeeping to mop up. This never happened.

The experience was so bad that we checked out immediately at 9am the following day. The only saving grace was a comfortable bed in a quaintly decorated room with a marina theme (that's why this review is "Poor" and not "Terrible". You have no privacy in the room (curtain rods were poorly installed - curtains couldn't close completely) and the hotel is right along the street so hanging by the pool was a noisy experience that we didn't want to try.

For the money, go stay somewhere else.

I wish the staff there was more interested in making the visit a good one. We've been to hotels that weren't fully ready for launch but still did whatever they could to make the stay a pleasant one. Sugar Marina Resort did no such thing.

Room Tip: Don't expect to have wifi. Another reviewer had the same problem in January 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThatGuyTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 341 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sugar Marina Resort in Kata is a brand new hotel. In fact, as I am staying here now - the construction is still going on. With that, come a number of shortcomings that, perhaps could/should have been avoided, if hotel did not rush to open.

Rooms are big, feature a modern design and excellent bed. Bathroom includes both a shower and a bathtub, in case you feel like soaking :) When I moved into the room, it was obvious that it has not been lived in before - there was a bit of construction and painting dust on floors and fixtures. Quite a few fixtures have pieces of protective plastic still remaining (around attachment and hard points, probably removed in a hurry).

A few bath fixtures were not properly assembled - primary shower head wanted to fall apart or separate from the wall (and required some care when using), and bathtub was missing a shower hose entirely (so if you switch from the faucet to shower by accident, an open end of the pipe will let water out and cause a minor flooding, don't ask :) )

The air conditioning is a bit weak for the room and while it cools the room down reasonably well, the humidity remains a bit high.

Workers were drilling, sawing and hammering outside my room during the day and a few times I found someone with a ladder doing something in my room when coming back (no idea what that was, as they always politely disappeared, leaving only some dust behind :) ).

There is currently no elevator, as it is under construction. Walking up and down a few stories is no big deal, but getting your bags to the room may be a minor ordeal.

Room cleaning service was a little off a first few days (forgot to replace toilet paper and soap, had no beach towels) but seems to be getting "in the groove" now.

The view from a balcony is as good as can be in the middle of busy Kata beach - you see mountains and a bit of a beach (and even a little corner of the sea if you look just so).

I am reluctantly rating it "average" because of these "teething" issues. There is no reason these problems can't be solved. With a bit of quality control by hotel mgmt. this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank maud191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Выбирайте другой отель
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Михаил С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Елена С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 5ème étage peu bruyant sauf une porte du personnel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pierrelethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Екатерина Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#21 of 55 in Kata Beach
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 55 in Kata Beach
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#32 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach

Address: 2/4 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Marina Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $46 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sea Lovers’ Destination – a unique boutique resort, designed with sea lovers in mind. A new port of call for holiday makers with a sense of adventure and a taste for life on the high sea while enjoying all with modern comfort and convenience of a contemporary resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing