We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foto Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$202
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Rocks(Kata Beach)
$890
$627
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveler rating
439
290
83
35
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
290
83
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiffin mamaocean hallrooftop poolsteep hillteddy bearfree mini barbig bearoutdoor bathtubthe ocean view roomstylish hotelmassive bedday bedwalk upair conkata noishuttle busrent a scooter
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 883 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and loved the facilities, room, amenities and view. Set up the hill from Kata beach, the hotel features stunning views out across Kata Noi, taken in from either the beautiful infinity pool, lounge area beside it, or platforms outside your room. Covered lounges and huge bean bags make the pool area a comfortable hang out throughout day/night. The staff at the Tiffin Mama restaurant were exceptional and food/drinks top notch. Saturday night they featured a "beach party" with a live band covering western favourites as well. It's a short walk to the famous "After Beach Bar" which is also a fabulous spot to watch the sun set, eat thai food and listen to reggae and other western hits.

The only downsides we found is that it's either a 200baht tuk-tuk/taxi fare to get up/down the hill into Kata beach, or a very steep, sweaty walk, and the front desk service was friendly but not so helpful...they couldn't point us to a bar to watch the World Cup games, and when we tried to arrange a taxi to the airport, they quoted 1300baht, but if you just go right outside the door the local taxi service will take you there for 1000.

All in all, we had a great weekend and would definitely return!

Summary:
Stay here for: great views; modern, well-appointed boutique accommodation; delicious restaurant/breakfast/great happy hour; quiet relaxation away from the main beaches; for something special.
Don't stay here if: you want to be right on the main beach strip, or even a flat walk into town (it's a steep hill)!

Room Tip: On weekends the Saturday night party is just over the top level rooms, if you prefer quiet, as for a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aml01020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear aml01020,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Nice to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. Appreciate your remark on our front line staff. We will check them out and put them on trainings more. Anyhow, we hope these issues did not annoyed your holidays that much and you would consider coming back here again for your next holidays. Thank you & look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stay 2 nights everything is perfect only some information from hotel staff make us disappointed such as we call for buggy car when hotel staff come to pick up they told us that

Do you know you can go by lift?
For what? For make us feel happy or bad or they don't want to service us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wasu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Khun Wasu P,

Thank you for your valuable comment & glad to know you had enjoyed our facilities here. For your concern on our staff service, we will look into it seriously and will instruct them to be more careful about this. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Foto Hotel is a great hotel, with nice and modern rooms, with the largest bed we have ever experienced. The view from the hotel is simply fantastic and the pool is great. It is our second time at the hotel, but not the last, we enjoyed it just as much the second time as the first, if not even more. There is a little walk up a hill, not an easy walk for all, but we did not see a problem with, actually we just thought it was extremely nice to get up into the hillside and away from the noise from the town, and still very easy to get to the beach. We got the best service from the hotel team, especially the staff in the restaurant were extremely service minded and friendly and always willing to help. The restaurant manager Leo was great, and really became a friend after a 10 day stay, where we basically had all our meals at the hotel (not the biggest menu, but we like it very much, plus the smoothies was great), as we like it and enjoyed the view and was there to relax, and besides Leo and the rest of the staff then Ae gave a fantastic service and made us feel very special. So all in all a great place which we can only recommend, and that we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janni_and_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Janni and Kristian,

Thank you for your kind compliments. Glad to learn you had a wonderful time with us and our services were very enjoyable. Very much appreciated on your praises to our concerned staff which we will bring it up to their manager in charged for their well service to guests as good samples to all. We hope we can be at your service again very soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at foto hotel , wishing for a great service but front desk staffs are not professional enough , they didnt inform all hotel information , expect us just to go watch on their tv infor , which their room service order on the tv never work , on one inform us about that , we were waiting for our dinner for 45 mins then we called up , they told us the tv room service order didnt work , you need to call them anyway , anyway , we were dissappinted by than , weird room arrangement , still under construction on some part of the hotel , however hotel got nice design but small parking space , compare to the price you pay for , i suggest to go for a real 4 stars hotel , dont fall for a heavy advertised hotel like this

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jutharat Pearl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Khun Jutharat Pearl K,

Thank you for your recent review on us and sorry to learn your experiences here were not that pleasant as they should be. We have taken all mentioned points into further action seriously which all staff need to be more well-aware on clients' comfort. We believe all issues to be improved soon. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

firstly before I call out any negatives, tho hotel has amazing design and is probably the slickest hotel I have stayed in. Room was spotless every day. Loved the bath tub on the balcony and the huge teddy bear in the room. Smart TV is ace and a central control panel for lights and ac is very smart. If you love gadgets, you will be in heaven. The infinity pool is brilliant and has amazing sea views. Just be careful when going for a swim, wouldn't want to ruin any of the happy snappers photos. constant posing and picture taking but that didn't bother me, after all the hotel is called foto.
Another positive about the hotel was when my girlfriend had really bad prickly heat late one night and we needed to get into town to the pharmacy. The receptionist was great and arranged a taxi there and back for us, this was very helpful.

That said a couple things we found disappointing. it all started with Check in, when the receptionist told us we were still to pay our bill (even though it was pre paid). When I explained that we paid via an abta booking agency, she told us to log on to it online and show her, and then also asked to bring up my online banking for further confirmation. That would have been OK, however there was no apology for their mistake.
Then we went to our room, a bit frustrated and the wifi was down. To be fair to them, they tried to fix it and it was up and running a couple hours later.
On each floor there is an outdoor lift, this was out of use the full 4 days we stayed. This meant climbing down about 4 flights of stairs to our room, good job we have no walking difficulties.
Each Saturday they have a chill out party, which we were never informed about until that evening. A barman in general chit chat told us to come up and enjoy ourselves. Later on When we went to go to the party, we were told we couldn't and would have to sit indoors looking out at the fun. To get a spot at the party you apparently have to make a reservation. The party was pretty much full of outside guests. I'm a paying hotel customer yet I can't enjoy the service they put on. When we enquired about this at reception, we were told there was nothing they can do. Again no apology. I felt paying hotel customers should be able to use this, or at least informed early enough to make a booking.
There was a Fire alarm on the last night at 2am. We made are our way out of bed and to reception, waited a few minutes before it went off. Staff seemed like they had no idea what was going on and sent us back to our room with no apology for waking us up.
All in all, we have stayed in hotels of a similar standard and the service has exceeded this. Hotel grounds and room I would score 10/10, however service a measly 5/10. Don't think we would come back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jordan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefoto, Manager at Foto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Jordan C,

Thank you for your kind review on us. Glad to hear you had a good time with our facilities in general. However, we are sorry to learn the services in some parts were not that professional as it should be which we will take all mentioned points into our action seriously. Thanks again for sharing these experiences with us for our improvement and hope to be at your service again. Thank you & best regards, Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews