We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, poor service”
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

++: comfort of room
+/-: location on a steep hill so though walk till Kata Beach
---: customer service!
Conclusion: for us it was one time and never again. In Kata Beach you can find better located hotels which have a much better customer focus!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sofie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 845 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in this hotel for 10 days!
Once we entered in the lobby, 5 smiled faces appeared :D everyone welcomed us like kings.
We were staying on 2nd floor
View from room was just outstanding.
Big terrace where you can relax, stargaze, whatever you want to do.
Rooms are big, shower with bath as well, everything was clean all the time.
Late breakfast is a great idea for people that party all night and when they get up in the morning, breakfast is till 1pm.
Big, beautiful pool (check it at night)
Outstanding!
In the restaurant you need to try "brownie" (IT IS a MUST)
English is little bit problematic at first, but it is nothing that can not be solved.
All personel is just outstanding!
Only bad thing is gym tbh (only one multipractice machine)
But hey, you didn't come to practice here, you came to relax!
On the bottom of the hotel you can go to spa etc (wonderful)
In the evening just go to the top terrace and drink coctails in the pool while DJ makes imba atmosphere.
The only thing I regret is why I didn't book this hotel for 2 weeks instead of only 10 days...
Anyway
I recommend this Hotel if you're coming to Phuket!
If I ever come back, this will be the place again!
THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL VACATION FOTO HOTEL!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MarioKordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hote is up a very steep hill get ready to walk. Ask for a room on the first or 2nd floor which is the closest to everything we were on the 4th and omg the stairs. We are both fit active people and after 3 days you get tired of it. Staff does not speak english hard to communicate or even ask for things. We called down one day because it was 5pm and our room was not cleaned yet we did not have clean towels or toilet paper. They came up right away said sorry ect. When we were checking out I see a fee of 650 baht dollars I asked them what was this for they said the extra towels we explained to them we never had towels in the first place. We had to speak with 4 people until this was fixed. They also hold a charge on your visa for 15 days which I did not agree with. I don't think this hotel is 5 stars. 3 at most.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here last November when it was still under construction. Such an interesting hotel and unlike anything I have ever stayed at before. The rooms were beautiful and clean and housed stunning views of the ocean. The bed was massive and provided the most peaceful sleep and the spa on the balcony was so peaceful at sunset. Staff are super friendly. Loved the infinity pool over looking the ocean. We got a deal for around $99 p/night. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in November 2013, loved this place. I wasn't surprised at how good it was having read the reviews, I had high hopes it would be everything I hoped it would be. Check in process easy although 1 or 2 of the staff on front desk could be more welcoming. Reception area is very contemporary & modern, the VW Beetle is in pristine condition but adds to the charm & feel of the hotel being cool in an understated way. We stayed in an ocean hall room, number 312 with breakfast & free minibar included. From the moment we opened the door we thought wow! The bed is huge & comfortable, the only downside being that it was so big my partner & I may as well have been in seperate beds! Bed linen (pillow cases) on some days although fresh, was a bit stained as I know someone else mentioned. There is an iPod dock in the room which is handy. When we pulled back the nets on the window the view is amazing! We had a bathtub on the balcony along with a day bed (cushions on which again were stained), but was a great place to come back to in the evening & just chill & relax. We were not overlooked at all and it was very quiet, the only noises coming from the insects in the nearby trees just what you need to wind down and relax! Shower was a decent size, powerful and water was always hot with toilet opposite & sink / mirror in the main room. Mini bar consisted of 2 Yakult, 2 cans of coke, 2 bottles of water and some jelly - don't expect much from the 'free minibar' if you are getting this included in the price for your stay. Wifi connection was good throughout our stay. There was a hanging rail for clothes but no drawers which i thought odd so spent 5 days rummaging through my case to find things. Next stop was the infinity pool area on the rooftop, views just got better particularly at sunset - we got plenty of great pics! Day beds again to lay on or big bean bags and fresh towels available each day, with the restuarant also on the rooftop made it easy to wander over & order food or get a drink. Prices are reasonable & about the same as elsewhere in Phuket. Breakfast was included in our stay and served until 1pm with a decent selection (cereals, toast, fry up for the Brits and fruit and juices etc available). Location is hilly but worth it for the view alone. Taxi is expensive (paid 200 baht to go to Re Ka Ta beach club at the bottom of the hill on our first day, as we didn't really know our way around at this point) and we walked down the hill into kata and would take a taxi back up, although we did walk it twice our legs ached the next day. For 5 nights we paid £300 and were so pleased at the standard of this hotel. I'm not sure the people giving average/negative reviews are bearing in mind what they are paying, it's great value for money and the criticisms I have are not major and did not affect our enjoyment of this hotel. I can't recommend enough I just hope the hotel can keep the standard high & improve the little things eg minibar selection & clean linens maybe some drawer space. You won't be disappointed at all! We would certainly go back...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeK-Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just came bk after a weeks stay at FOTO hotel ,
n we loved almost everything abt it big rooms, huge bed , the view, bathtub in balcony ,the hospitality.
the view from the Tiffan Mama is just mesmerizing.
i just hoped that the have their launch services more frequent . 3 times is ltl less.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned from 7 days at the Foto Hotel and were so blown away with our stay that I wanted to review it straight away.

If you are looking for a peaceful, arty, stylish hotel with views you would kill for then look no further. The photo's on its site don't do it justice and you are even more blown away when you stand on your balcony of your room, in the gardens or in fact anywhere within the hotel and take it all in.

We stayed in an Ocean View room and if you can upgrade I would recommend doing so because the views really are perfect. Not all of these rooms have the tubs on the balcony - our first one didn't but a simple call to reception and they moved us the next day with no issue at all.

The beds are the biggest I have ever seen, easily 2.5 doubles and are extremely comfortable with lovely big fluffy pillows. Unlike most hotels these rooms have more than enough pillows. The bathrooms are nice and big although they have gone down that strange route of having a sink in the main room (I notice this is happening a lot and can be a pain if someone is asleep and you need to wash your hands). The room with the tub outside comes with a day bed inside.

The minibar in the room is a really nice touch with crisp like snacks, coke, water and jelly's (being chinese these took me back to my childhood!); although some people say it 'isn't worth it' you dont pay extra for that anyway and it is a nice thing to come back to after a day out.

The pool and the garden areas are visually stunning, with large expanses of 'grassed' areas and lots of private loungers which turn into private little shelters. The pool really compliments the hotel's design aesthetic, especially at night when it is lit up. It is VERY slippy though as it is marble so be careful! Again the views from here mean you can easily just get lost in your thoughts and the day will just fly by - that is what we loved so much about this place. You really are in a sanctuary away from the hustle and bussle. The hotel does have a lot of stairs in comparison to most but this is a compromise for the beautiful views due to how it is built into the hill. Again, no issue for us but the staff are so accommodating and there are complimentary carts to drive you up and down if your room is on the lower levels. Going back to the staff they really were so friendly and welcoming. I am perplexed by some of the comments about staff not having the language of customer service skills as they were an asset to the hotel during our time there and always greeting you whenever they saw you.

Some reviews have mentioned the walk/hill and the taxi mafia. Yes the hill is steep but it isn't so bad once youve walked it a few times and the hotel does offer the free shuttle to the main beach area and back a few times a day so you don't have to walk it a lot if you don't want to. As for the taxi mafia - we never got any hassle and they were all so friendly when you said you wanted to walk instead. The only real complaint we had was the noise of the carts going up and down outside the room and the ac units were a bit noisy but that really is trying to find a 'fault' and only goes to show just how peaceful the hotel is the majority of the time.

The short walk brings you to a lot of lovely restaurants and bars. There are also 7-elevens and other supermarkets close by if, like us, you had room only. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and the food was delicious but we wanted to try local places so didn't eat at the hotel again.

Overall, if you want a stylish hotel with great service, pure relaxation and outstanding views then you can't go wrong here. The other guests were a mixed bunch but the hotel never felt crowded, noisy or anything less than relaxed. Yes it is a little bit more expensive than some of the others in the area but you pay for what you get and we can't wait to go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: The Ocean Hall rooms are mixed with some having tubs on the balcony, some in the rooms. We wanted on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurTsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
5.2 mi away
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
7.4 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#65 of 386 in Kathu
781 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road | Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $109 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Foto Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. To get the best rate go to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing