We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 out of 5! This hotel really is picture perfect...”
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Foto Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4.5 out of 5! This hotel really is picture perfect...”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique/contemporary hotel then look no further than Foto Hotel.

Stayed here for 8 nights and didn't want to leave. Arrived at night and woke up to an amazing view in the morning from room 402 which is an ozone room on the 4th floor. Request for a high floor if possible. I would describe the decor as modern/contemporary. It really is just like the professional photos on their website.

Room: Extra large bed, good size balcony with gazebo (day bed) and bath tub. Flat screen interactive TV, safe, desk, large sofa. Mini bar was free which contained water, soft drinks, Yakult, snacks and replaced daily. Also if you have an iPhone take it with you, the room had a Yamaha bass speaker dock so you can play your music loud and incase your wondering the rooms are completely sound proof.

Reception has 2x Apple Macbooks with free internet and free wifi all over the hotel.

The pool would definitely be a selling point for the hotel with an amazing view of Kata Noi Beach. Breakfast was beautiful although slightly limited if vegetarian (had the choice of various breads/bakery, eggs, fruit, cerial).

Location: Personally for us as a couple it was perfect as I rented a scooter from the hotel everyday and had no problems getting up and down the hill. We walked up the hill one night and must have burnt about 500 calories. Walking to the shops and Kata Beach is 5 mins. If you decide to stay at Foto, rent a scooter from the hotel, even if you've never ridden one before, its sooo easy and fun. The hotel is situated in Kata which is a lovely area. 20 mins to Patong (clubbers paradise) by scooter or Tuk Tuk. Also Kata Noi is 10 mins away (turn left at the bottom of the hill). This was our favourite beach of all as its much quieter than Karon Beach and Patong Beach.

A massive thank you to all of the staff members at the hotel who are all really friendly and helpful and always go the extra mile. A special thanks to Nong, Oil, Joe and Nana.

Overall this is a very impressive hotel. 4.5 stars in my opinion. The hotel opened in December so there were a few things yet to be completed such as the elevator to the rooms however reception provide a buggy service to the rooms upon request. Perfect location for couples. If you are like me and have 20 tripadvisor pages open comparing all the hotels before you book... go for this hotel and just book it, you will not be disappointed.

Happy holidays.

Room Tip: Request high floor if possible for nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drp277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    266
    77
    31
    30
See reviews for
64
450
29
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked through Agoda,com and pay less than THB 3000/night without breakfast. For a good hotel in Phuket, I think this is quite reasonable. The room has its own balcony and access to a huge terrace overlooking the beach. Bed is very comfy. Mini bar is free. Service isn't outstanding.

The low point of this hotel is location. It isn't too far to walk to shops and restaurants but walking up hill is rather tiresome and taxi in Phuket is ridiculously expensive.

There is one restaurant called Tamarind on the mainroad before entrance of the hotel. The restaurant serves Thai and international food at good price, a good option if you don't want to walk to the town centre.

The hotel provides shuttle van to the beach 3-4 times a day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oh-no-tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel: Very new, in a modern and minimalistic style, thoughtfully designed with a "blac and white photography" theme throughout. One could wonder if the hotel would have been more striking if the exteriors were painted white rather than dark grey, but there is no doubt that the theme is very well executed.

The rooms: Some rooms have great views of the Andaman Sea, others do not. Some rooms also have a bathtub on the private balcony - a fantastic place to relax in the evening. The rooms have tall ceilings and have a nice airy feel. The bigger-than-king-size bed was fantastic, and far softer than the usual rock-hard beds found in many hotels in Thailand - I slept very well.

The pool: The pool area is quite stunning. It is on the rooftop of the top floor, has great views, and has very nice and private sunbeds. The pool area did not have a crowded feel, but if you get there late on a busy day there might not be any vacant sunbeds.

The location: Situated up the hill between Kata Yai and Kata Noi beaches, it is quite a walk to the beach, or rather back to the hotel from the beach up the steep hill. The good thing is you get exercise, and the fact that the hotel is not right in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle of Kata Beach. We had a motorbike which made the trek easy. There are plenty of tuk-tuks and taxis on call.

The restaurant: Did not try it.

The staff: Friendly and helpful. No problems at all.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view. Some rooms have bathtubs on their balconies. Make sure you specify wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel, there are some cheap deals available as it's brand new - I'm guessing the price will go up the more popular it becomes. It's camera themed... pretty strange, but the infinity pools is gorgeous, and the rooms are large with incredibly comfortable beds. I slept brilliantly. All rooms ether have a bathtub inside or on the balcony... and a nice view, either of woodland or sea.. I also had a great massage in the bokeh spa. It's a very romantic hotel, perfect for honeymooners.. the view from the pool is spectacular, and they have cabanas instead of deck chairs so you sunbathe with some privacy. There's free water in the rooms and wifi all over the hotel.I got a great deal on agoda that also included a free day trip via a company called 'love andaman;,. it was excellent. There were NO strange charges - I think they would only charge you if you took home items from the room (bathrobe, bag etc - they have price lists in the room)

What they could improve:
1. The food menu - very limited, only 3 options per starter/dinner/desert,, either thai or an unappealing 'western' option. They have a nice restaurant but they really need to add some more options. And maybe some fruit and yogurt at breakfast? I also asked if I it was possible to have a ceasar salad with chicken, as they offer both ceasar salad and grilled chicken.. staff had no idea what I wanted and said no. They need to employ more fluent bilingual staff. As has been mentioned they don't offer room service - they really should, and I expect they will when they've been open for longer.
2. There are lots of stairs, no elevator to the rooms. Perhaps they are planning to build an elevator or an escalator? Either way, if you have asthma or knee problems make sure to ask for a room on a high floor.
3. Reception staff - good and very friendly staff, but seem inexperienced in the hotel industry. No one to greet you when you arrive. You can stand in front of reception and be ignored until you try and distract someone from the paper work or ipads that they're busy with. Each time I came to reception there were lots of staff chatting, but no one being very helpful - and I felt like I was bothering them when I asked a question. They need someone in charge, and I would recommend hiring a manager who's fluent in english as there were some communication issues. Not a big deal, and I didn't have any problems whilst I was there, but it was a tiny bit frustrating. All the other hotels I've been to have a dedicated person to help with checking in and queries. It lets the beautiful hotel down to have inexperienced staff that don't immediately make you feel welcome. Check-in was a bit stressful, I was told to sit on a couch.. did this, no one came to check me in until I went up to the desk... then talked to one man, who got me to email my booking confirmation then, thengave me to his colleague, who couldn't find my reservation and didn't understand that I had emailed her.. lots of fuss and bother, but was fine in the end. This hotel had lots of people 'busy' with papers, ipads or cleaning windows, but no one to take care of guests and make them feel welcome.
4. A regular free shuttle. As it's quite a small hotel, I think a shuttle to kata beach or kata noi wouldn't be too difficult - a car that goes every hour or that you can request to book. I think that's quite a reasonable expectation and it would make a masssive difference for feeling like you can explore the surrounding area easily.

I had a great stay there, slept brilliantly and it's a beautiful 5* hotel. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Stayed in 406 - very comfy, bathtub inside the room and no sea view, but excellent bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fxt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Getting to Kata is a bit of an effort however the foto hotel is worth it, the location is not perfect as it is away from the action, however if you want to relax in peace it is perfect.
Great clean and new, great pool area, bathtub on balcony, food at restaurant was good also.
the let downs - stairs a lot of them, if you don't like stairs stay somewhere else, no room service - as was told not enough staff ? - counted 8 in the restaurant and 2 customers... went for nye dinner thinking it would be great and it wasn't - took 20 minutes to get a glass of wine, after they bought the wrong one out - service was terrible with so many staff standing around doing nothing you would think they could get an order out pretty quick ? guess they are new and still leaning.
Service was the only real let down of the hotel

Room Tip: if you dont like stairs ask for a room close to reception Book transport in advance as it is a dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was an impressive experience during my stay at Foto hotel. All the staff were very helpful and caring and very attentive to our personal wishes and beyond

The room 's spacious and well equipped with state-of-the-art facilities.

The wonderful dinner that was set by the hotel was outstanding, my danish husband still talk about it to everyone we know. I think he said it best ' It's the best memorable dinner we have ever had together in Thailand'

Foto Hotel has pinned it down to our top best service amoung other 5 stars hotels we have visited.

Eventhough, if we have a chance to go down Phuket again and would like to stay in other location we will combine it with the stay at Foto hotel as well. My husband said that we cant be in Phuket without a stay at Foto hotel.

Thank you for all the wonderful service provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked 4 nights at Foto Hotel for Xmas present to self and son. Beautiful hotel. Remote location. Misleading add on wotif. Said free mini bar ... That's coke and water. Not what one normally thinks? Said free iPad. They never heard of it. Then ... Charged $200 for hair dye on towels. In Australia I wash towels... Not replace them at $200!!! Beware of extra $$$ traps and misleading advertising.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 57 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Property: Foto Hotel
Address: 218 / 9 Koktanod Road (Kata-Saiyuan) | Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. To get the best rate go to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing