We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is not luxury, and there is nothing fancy about it, however for a beach stay, in my opinion it's perfect. My friend and have just checked out and are now in Bangkok. We stayed 3 nights at the Tropical Garden Resort, and have zero complaints. This is a simple hotel, built into the side of a mountain and actually reminded us of being in a tree house. The room was old, but clean and everything worked, but come on if you go to Phuket Thailand, and spend more than two hours in the room during the day, then your on the wrong vacation. There is way to much stuff to do there rather than sitting in a hotel room. The breakfast buffet, which was the standard Asian style was fantastic and a great meal to fuel up on before hitting the daily activities. All in all this was a comfortable beach stay, and I would stay here again. Now as many other reviews have already stated, there is quite a bit of stair climbing, so I would recommend another hotel if your older, or out of shape.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Chanalai Garden Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff was confused the moment we arrived and couldn't find our reservation. Then we had to hike a labyrinth of stairs and elevators to get to our room which would be exhausting for many people. The room smelled like musty smoke but had a nice view and reasonably priced mini bar as a small conciliation. Breakfast was poor to average at best.

We ended up checking out the next day and changing locations which was our best decision.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A/C didn't work and we had to fight with them five times before they figured out that it needed freon.
If you want to walk up a pyramid or reenact the scene from Rocky then this is the place for you.
However the mini bar prices are decent and the view is good.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and we just loved the breakfast everyday, it's just simply good and it's really a lot that we had eaten. In terms of the room, we were given a garden view room but we were able too see the traces of the ocean from the balcony. The room was tidy and small to say the least, but in saying that we didn't mind how large/small the room is. The one thing we hated and probably everyone hated is the walk that you have to do from the lobby to the room. Otherwise it's a good value for money resort which is really close to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Not the best value for money at this hotel the rooms were a bit dated an we had a funny smell in ours they were large rooms an the bed was comfy for a good nights sleep, we booked for the Loy katharong festavile buffet the food was ok the entertainment was good friendly staff (Jackie) was funny an loved to stop and have a chat to us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is amazing, we were worried about it at the beginning but it really exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in this resort in October 2013, arrived late at night, did not have the chance to see a lot, the reception lobby gave me the feeling of a small old motel, but thought it's Ok for the budget, we are not paying a lot and we cant demand much, we just need a clean room to stay in and the room was really great. In the morning, I opened the curtain and here comes the surprise; the view was spectacular; the pool, the garden and the beach were amaaaaazing, I thought for a while, there is no way they are giving me this room for less than 30 dollars a night, there must be something wrong and they will definitely add extra charges at the end of the stay but of course it did not happen:)

Anyway, I cant think of anything bad relevant to this hotel, it was more than perfect in all aspects; room, service, pools, location and distance to beach, and landscape are all great. I read some reviews complaining about breakfast, what! are you going there to eat? the breakfast is basic and nice, however, if you don't like it, just cross the street and you will find tons of restaurants providing breakfast at very cheap prices. Other's complained about the stairs, if you are in normal health condition this should not be a problem, personally I did not feel it affected my stay at all. You can ask for a room in the building near the reception, you won't take many stairs then.

Kata in general is a nice cozy place for relaxation, it reminded me of Koh Samui in a way or another; the beach is across the street, and the beach is really nice, clean, not too crowded and fun, we spent our time on the beach and we did not use the pool though it looked very very nice. At night, there is a street full of restaurants, bars, and shopping places. There is one fruit shop that we used to go to every night who makes nice and fresh Pineapple and Mango cuts, I recommend you try that.

I stayed 5 nights in Kata, and another 8 in Patong, for next time, I will make them 10 days in Kata and maybe 2 in Patong and of course I will select Tropical Garden Resort from now on.

Thank you Tropical Garden Resort, I really miss this place, hope to be there again next year.

Room Tip: Near reception rooms, my room was 2201 and the whole floor is great, I could see the pool, garden, a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moutasem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 nights here through a travel agency abroad and got a good price compared with all the online booking sites. first impression of the hotel was the amazing decor and layout of the hotel, felt authentic and staff seemed good. Scooter rentals at the hotel so didn't have to leave your passports with other rental places. Breakfast was tasty but quite basic nothing too special. Slow Wi-Fi in the lobby but not in the rooms. Walking by the pools were very cool but the rooms were gross, smelled of dampness and dirty bathrooms. The beds smelled of the people before you and had stains on the sheets. Although there didn't seem to be signs of bed bugs, my girlfriend got red itchy bumps after sleeping in the bed. Aside from the nasty rooms, the hotel is a very unique experience. Don't regret staying there but would not go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
3.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $46 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing