We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“What a great hotel !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great hotel !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in May with my adult son.... we thorougly enjoyed it.... the rooms were lovely Thai style with great verandahs overlooking the pool and on to beautiful Kata beach. This hotel is not modern and sterile... I wanted to have an experience of Thailand and this is what I found here - beautiful traditional Thai statues in lovely tropical gardens. The hotel staff were so friendly and nice and just did everything they could to help. Before I went to Thailand I looked on Trip Advisor at every hotel in the Kata / Karon Beach area and finally chose this one.... I was not disappointed it is a great value for money, hotel with beautiful gardens and sooo close to the beach - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    294
    101
    40
    43
See reviews for
143
340
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in 2 hotels while we were in Kata. This one, and the Kata Palm which was more expensive. The location for this one (Tropical Garden) is excellent. You just walk across the road, through the shops and restaurant (which I thoroughly recommend for a drink at sunset, the burgers are real good value if you're sick of thai food already), and you're on the beach. The other hotels are a bit of a walk because there's only certain places that you can enter Kata Beach.

There are lots of stairs though since it is up a hill, so just beware when booking if you have limited mobility. Lots of Russians too, just so you know. Oh, and don't leave your luggage in the foyer when the Chinese tour buses are leaving because they will take your luggage with them to the airport! It happened to me and while it was very distressing, I realised very soon after it happened and the hotel reacted very quickly with one of the bell boys speeding after them and getting my luggage back. This was the 2nd time it happened apparently.

So, while the range of breakfast items were probably not as wide as other places, the taste and quality were really really good. There was plenty of food and it didn't run out which was great. The man who cooked the eggs was really smiley and friendly.

Down on the road and just right of the hotel there is a little fruit shop with gorgeous tropical fruit. Also there is a man there cooking banana pancakes which were just delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cushie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Although you may lose your way in the kaleidoscope of the lifts and the stairs, This hotel is on the backdrop of the hills has good beach views and the rooms are very comfortable. They don't have a spa right now, which is a disadvantage but have two pools one small and the other big, and is a spacious and an old property. Considering the room rates, it's definitely value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitadutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we really had a great experience! the aircon was soooo cold and everything was clean and neat! Our room was amazing with one of the best views ( room 2401!).... we had such amazing flowers everywhere in and outside the room. The breakfast was also very good..nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Air con in first room i got was broken. Guy that came to fix it was rude and knew no english. He called reception from my room and then two more guys came to fix the air con and were just walking in and out of the room with the door open and it was now like 12:30am so i said can i get another room?? I was told to go to reception so did and then went to the next room, put my bags down and hopped in bed and it stunk! Went back to reception where he pretty much made out i was a pain in and that was my only option, so i dragged him to the room and made him smell it and he said he would give me another room because it really was that bad. Third room had a noise that was coming from out the front in the garden that sounded like a fog horn! I didn't want to go back and change rooms again so just had a crap sleep. I asked to change rooms the next day. A bell boy walked me to this room, he opened the door and there was half the ceiling missing, a bucket on the floor and a constant stream of water coming from the ceiling. He just smiled and i said are you joking and he replied oh we will fix it tomorrow... i said no i cant sleep with that constant dripping! He took me back to reception and i had to wait for them to find another room and 5th time lucky! My credit card was taken out of one of my rooms and didnt realise until check out and the manager did absolutely nothing to help. They have your money so that is all they care about. Poor hotel, poor customer service, poor english and worst travelling experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amandadollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've been visiting Phuket end of March 2013 and were really dissappointed with the hotel. Tropical Garden Resort think it’s a 3 star, really not up to standard for us, staff not very friendly and they could not understand a word English which are frustrating at some times, being on holiday you still had to climb 80 stairs up to your room with a seaview (dirty rooftops and streets with a glimpse of the sea in the distance), and a shower part of the bath…
The breakfast could really get some attention. If you visit Mauritius you'll be amazed with all the food, friendly staff and value for money, etc etc etc... (and you'll pay cheaper)

Room Tip: Swimming pool view, PLEASE do not choose a seaview you'll battle to see the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joalize C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have read Callintha report , I would agree with everything she has written, just refirming that the staff were wonderful, helpful and respectful. there taxi service is brillant, we hire them every day it cost us about $40 for the day (9am-5.30pm). Our room was huge so much room to move around in. We ate at the buffet breakfast everyday, it choice of food was unbeliveable, the little bar in front of the resort was great to for a hamburger with the lot ,chips and drink only $5.
Voted the best restaurant in all of Phuket is at the end of the little laneway from the resort, we ate there everynight for only $40-$50 a couple, it was so good we didn't want to eat anywhere else. I would tell everyone go there, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
Nook Dee Boutique Resort
#5 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#9 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#23 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Property: Chanalai Garden Resort
Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing