We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money + Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chanalai Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The location was great ... only across the road and 10 steps down to the beach. I think people who say that the beach was far probably drive to their local bakery that is like 2 blocks away... It is literally across the road and 20 meters away after that downhill.

The staff was very friendly and polite and eager to help.

The rooms were very clean, and perhaps the only thing needed would be a more up to date larger TV. The bathroom was nice as well everything was working fine. The room needed some care as it id slightly dated but we weren't in them much apart from a shower and to sleep.

People who give this hotel bad reviews forget that it is not a 5 star and that for the price, the hotel is great and in great location!

We stayed in the 3rd floor and I agree that the higher you are the better it is view and noise wise, although when you shut the windows, you can't hear a lot.

The only reason I am giving 4 star is the breakfast, loved the eggs, but generally I would like more good quality food and better fruit juices. The fresh fruit was nice though :)

I didn't try the hotel food because we mainly ate out to try local cuisine. Also I must admit the hotel spa is expensive (for the area) ... you can have the same treatments on the beach for the fraction of the hotel price late in the afternoon listening to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HachikoMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Sir,

We are very glad to learn that you had a great stay with us. Thank you very much for your unbiased review. We feel grateful to your kind comments on our property and are looking forward to welcoming you back if the chance may arise in the near future.


Jimmy R/CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is just a short walk to the beach and town centre although we found it a bit disconcerting when we crossed the road outside the hotel as the friendly security guard would stop the traffic for us! Talk about being treated like royalty!
Probably not suitable for wheelchairs as there are two short flights of stairs to reach the lift for the higher floors.
Whilst the construction was solid and mostly soundproof the furniture was made of quality hardwood and heavy. I don't know why but the halfwits on either side of us kept rearranging their furniture by dragging it. Although our room was otherwise quiet we were disturbed by this noise.
With the one exception of the night manager (Romal or similar and I don't think he was Thai) we found the Thai people to be very friendly and courteous.
Be careful with the traders, they're hungry!

Sawadee Krap (Hello/ goodbye from a male in Thai)
Sawadee Ka (Hello/goodbye from a female in Thai)

I'd go back.- Loved the people.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moisyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

We are very delighted to learn that you have wonderful stay with us. Thank you very much for your compliments on our resort and staff. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon.

Jimmy CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is away from Patong Beach. 54 steps before you get to the lift and then if your room is above the 4 th floor more steps. So if you are old or not able to climb up and it is up very steep don't book here. Very quiet in this area a few cafe's not much shopping. Beaches are beautiful. Good for relaxing but not if you love Patong Beach.

Room Tip: ask for beach view but they all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOANNEM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us. We wish to welcome you back

Jimmy R/CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Tropical garden resort

Great stay on Puket Island

This hotel is located at the south end of Kata Beach. The location is great because is
just a street cross away from a good served beach, with restaurants and hotels, but not
too crowded.
Water is hot and clear, just mind the tide, which can make disappear a big peace of
beach in a couple of hours.

We had a sea sight room, big and with a large balcony. It wasn’t really easy to reach,
but we kept in shape going up and down hundreds of steps. Of course there were
elevators to take, but it was faster on foot. The room was clean enough, and towels
were changed on a day basis. When we arrived windows had some fingerprints and
some lips and nose marks on it, but – when I noticed it – they came straight to clean it.

Rooms are quiet and beds are large comfortable. There was also a television with
satellite but I can’t remember which channels we looked. There was something on
English, but I have no idea if it was the BBC or an US channel.

I loved breakfast. It is the most important meal for me and I really enjoyed it. There is
a fresh fruits variety, cereals, eggs, pancakes (with maple juice), bread and croissants,
meat and cheeses,… coffee and teas were excellent, and it is all served on a wooden
terrace in front of the sea.

There is internet and you can ask the receptionists to print something for you (I asked
to print the boarding card) if you give them a memory stick. The staff is very friendly
and helpful.

50 m. from the hotel you find a rent a scooter, which is, in my opinion, the best option
to visit the island. In the evening you can also go on the north of Kata (like a 2/3 km
from the hotel) and enjoy a little bit more of nightlife.

I think I’ll stay again at the Tropical Garden Resort if I’m going back to Puket one
day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabata79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

How delighted we are to learn that you have wonderful stay with us. We all do appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us and wish to have a chance to have you back if the chance may arise.

Jimmy/ CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Met up with the parents here as a break to my backpacking around S.E Asia. Rooms very nice, nice pools & great breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly & assisted us in booking our ferry to Kho Phi Phi to continue our trip south to Singapore.

Kata is a touristy area & caters for a tourist holiday. Have a night out in Patong - it's an eyeopener!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SquirtRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We do appreciate your comments. We promise to keep on the good service for the futher better serve.

We wish you will be back to stay with us very soon

Jimmy /CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The room quite large, clean and most important is the view from our room facing straight to Kata beach and the swimning pool. We also serve with various breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Choose room facing to yhe pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesLesmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

How delighted we are to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We all are very grateful to your support us and wish to have you stay with us again.

Jimmy/CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had booked a seaview deluxe room. When we arrived we got a room over the familes pool where the kids play all day.Loudly. We could only see a bit of the water and the room was not deluxe. We asked to be moved which they did the next day to a room higher up the hill. We did have a nice view of the water but the room was small and did not seem to have been updated since the 1960s. Old style large box TV no flat screen. It didnt work sometimes so we had to call maintenance. In room safe did not work some time so we had to call maintenance. According to the hotel any room where you can see any glimpse of water is called deluxe seaview. Not very good.If you have any mobility problems do not even think of staying here way to many stairs which you cannot avoid. 2 pools one very noisy with kids and families and one for adults with no shallow area. It had a total of 14 loungers that were usable and a pile of broken ones at one end of the pool.Pool swimup bar but never staffed so if you want a drink it is about a 5min walk to the other pool.bar. Hotel is in serious need of maintenance, the 2 wood loungers on our balcony had no cushions and no finish on them . They were down to bare wood as the finish had weathered off. Breakfast has very limited selection and is supposed to be ready at 6:30 which if you are taking an excurtion that picks you up at 7:00 would be OK. But it is not ready on time which means you will not get much in the way of breakfast if you have to leave before 7:00.The entire hotel needs a pressure wash as the wall, floors, railings and stairs were dirty. Hotel is about 300 meters from the beach via a few alleys.The hotel caters to Russian with signs and menus in Russian. They claim all of the available longers at the family pool by 7:00 am.They leave thier towels on the loungers all day and the staff does nothing.

Room Tip: If you must stay here get a roon as high up the hill as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muek, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

After hearing this comment from you, we do not hesitate to brainstorm to sort the problems out. Please note that this kind comment has already been notified to the management. We are grateful to your review.Please accept our sincere thanks for this.

CRM/CRM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
830 reviews
23.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Address: 247 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $43 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Chanalai Hotels and Resorts offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Chanalai Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares. Chanalai Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing