We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not the best located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaman Cannacia Resort
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not the best located”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed two nights at this resort in Phuket and everyone we spoke to spoke very highly of it. I have to say however that whilst its a nice hotel there were some bad points. When we first checked in the room was a twin bed and the view from the balcony was basically a wall. We went and asked to be moved because we had booked a double, not a twin. Although the staff agreed to move us, it was what I would call begrudgingly. It meant however that by moving at least we got a better view of the pool and partial of the sea. As I say its a nice hotel, the staff are ok but not as good as others we stayed in. The pool is very nice, breakfast was good. The biggest issue we had was the fact it was set up on a hill and was a really steep hike. They have a shuttlebus service, which we didn't use as we found it ok to walk up and down, but it wasn't much fun in the heat - my calves were burning! I would have preferred to be lower and nearer the town. People who weren't as fit or had mobility problems would really struggle with the hill climb.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    215
    91
    38
    24
See reviews for
85
314
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Norge
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stay at Andaman Cannacia hotel for one week we was four family’s. The first thing as happens at we has booked rooms together with pool access because the children and the rooms should be together! It was not only one of the room has pool access as we booked and we has been promised, and they was not together! but they fix it after a while after some arguing and show them what we was promised! So this was not the good start of our holidays we see forward too! We decide also to buy a promotion package as says buy 10000 bath get 15000 too use at the hotel this is a big lie because when we check out we got a big bill and have a lots of credit left, so don’t by this!!
The dinner on Saturday is called meat lower's night don't by this if you are a meat lower meat is shewie and drie and the band it's very bad singing one.
But after all this is a nice hotel with friendly staff, and the staff in the pool bar is one of a kind.
very nice pool and garden, clean and OK room's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cato0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is my fifth trip to Phuket and I was not impressed with the hotel at all. We upgraded to a seaview and I must say this truly was magnificent but that was the best thing about the hotel. The hill up to the hotel is not that bad walking down but walking up particaularly at midday is no joke or coming back late at night there is no pavement to walk on. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) and the hotel has no lift So 48 steps up to the room makes you think twice before running down to the pool.

Room - large and included a tv and DVD player, gowns and slippers were a nice touch and large bottles of shower gel and shampoo. Nice balcony with lounger. The 2 twin beds were on the hard side but nice clean sheets.

Food- Brekafast was the worst variety I have experienced in Thailand I have had better at a 2 star resort. The same every day for 7 days only alternating the chicken vienna with ham slices . Very poor selection of fruit and hot dishes. We had supper here the ifrst night and again my chicken fried rice was tasteless worst ever, rice, egg and frozen mix veg.

The staff were very pleasant especailly mariska at reception and housekeeping came within minutes to fix anything that was broken.

The shuttle bus runs only between 9 and 4 and goes to the sister hotels peach hill/ peach blossom and the beach. It will not stop going inot Kata which is where all the spas and restauarnts are located.

I love Kata Beach and particualy this end of the beach close to Mama's Seafood, Ska bar and the After Beach bar but I was very disappointed in this hotel. This old lady needs a serious upgrade and a few small touches like dry towels at the pool bar, more variety for breakfast and a better shuttle service would make a big difference.

I will add photos at a later date of the hill and hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My partner & I totally enjoyed our stay. Staff were pleasant, helpful & always smiling. Facilities were great, however the pool would prove a hazard for young children. Being a short walk away from Kata Beach, meant it was quiet & more relaxed. The walk down the hill was a great way to burn off breakfast, & 150TB for the Tuk Tuk ride back up was money well spent. We discovered a fantastic little Reggae Bar just across the road where staff were brilliant, prices were great & menu of local food was yummy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmt247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The main reason why have chosen this hotel - its arrangement. The hotel is located on a hill it was solving argument for my spouse.
From a hotel garden the review at coast Kata opens. A magnificent place to observe a sunset directly from pool from a jacuzzi.
The hotel justifies all responses: silent, quiet, picturesque. There is a wide choice of dishes for a breakfast. The tastiest dishes are Thai.
The staff is friendly. Cleaning of numbers every day, replacement of towels also. It is possible to take towels with itself on a beach.
From hotel the free bus each hour, back as goes. But we rent a motorbike.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kvorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Nice garden and near to the beach. Good service shuttle bus to the beach. Nice swimming pool for every one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKES123SUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in KohTao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

It was mine and my boyfriends 2nd and 3rd time in Thailand, and between us we had visited every island except Phuket. We flew from Bangkok directly to Phuket, where an air conditioned hotel taxi picked us up on time. Arriving at the Andaman, we realised what previous reviewers on tripadvisor had meant about the steep hill up to the hotel.. but after our stay there and walking this at least twice daily.. if anything it got us fit and wasn't bad AT ALL, so don't be put off. I could understand if you have children with you that they may moan about climbing the hill.. but the hotel isn't really for children anyway, and would be perfect for couples or groups of friends who are a bit older.
The swimming pool here was the best we had all holiday. Big, clean and with a volleyball net and jacuzzi. There is also a poolside bar.
The room was clean and spacious with a GINORMOUS bed, and A/C always at the right temperature. As it was monsoon season, when it rained, inevitably we had the TV on for a while, which showed about 10 western channels.
We called the hotel beforehand and asked for a seaview room, which upon arrival, we were happy to have been allocated, and the view from the balcony really was beautiful.
Breakfast was different every day with a selection of continental, thai and american items, and an egg bar, where you could chose how you wanted your eggs cooked.
All staff were so friendly and hospitable and arranged taxis for us, and quickly replaced little things we phoned to have sent to our room like toilet paper or towels. The staff are also so happy to work because they enjoy their job there, and it felt a professional but friendly atmosphere between staff all the time. We saw on some afternoons the staff dancing on the patio as part of their health programme that they benefit from as a gesture of thanks from the company who own the hotel, and its sister hotels.

The onsite spa was relaxing and serene. I had a voucher as a goodwill gesture from the hotel to redeem off any treatment so chose a 1 hour Thai massage. I would liken it to a sports massage, although i did specify that i preferred quite a strong pressure, so if you prefer it softer, it would be just as good.
The whole experience was positive at the Andaman Cannacia, it is close to the beach, nearby shops and restaurants. It is clean, friendly and completely relaxing. At 4.30pm every day they also bring you complimentary iced fruit smoothies and canapes and will ensure they deliver it to you whether you are in your room or by the pool!

Phuket as an island was more focused on tourism and therefore prices were pretty high on everything which was a shame, but i think prices have increased everywhere since we came in 2008. Also bear in mind that we made our trip in low season, so it is possible that in high season you may not be able to specify which room you want, or vouchers may not be given at the spa?

We really enjoyed our experience at this hotel, and would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Cannacia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Cannacia Resort

Property: Andaman Cannacia Resort
Address: 212 Kok Tanod Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaman Cannacia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaman Cannacia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Cannacia Hotel Kata Beach
Andaman Cannacia Kata
Andaman Cannacia Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing