We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scam! And Terrible food”
Review of Grand Restaurant

Grand Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scam! And Terrible food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

For the love of god, don't go here. After spending 20 min wandering kata for a decent local thai meal, we unfortunately gave up and went here. I'll keep this short: food was bland and extremely over priced. 30 baht for a scoop of white rice?? I'm writing this review waiting for food poisoning to strike. To top it off, they scammed us with their "10%" of Thai food sign. Yes, it's a matter of a few dollars, but it's the principle. Don't lie to make an extra buck off tourists. I was kicking myself for going there in the first place and I'm kicking myself now. There is a great local place across from the flea market/ fruit stand. Not sure of its name, but the prices and food were great.

Helpful?
3 Thank EricAndSarahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Maybe the Worst restaurant in Phuket.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Worst restaurant, worst staff and worst food I have ever eaten. Staff are lazy, slovenly and just don't care. The service was awful and the food was tasteless and not fresh. If you want to enjoy your vacation do not take a gamble by eating here. It is not a clean looking restaurant. Poor hygiene and a could care less attitude make this one to avoid at all costs. Kata has many good restaurants to spend your money in don't waste it in this place. Not grand at all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Abysmal service, complimentary fly in meal, and scam with bill”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We ended up going here because we had been walking for a while and it was getting late for lunch. There were two waiters on, the older guy at least tried to provide basic service. I am lost for words with the younger waiter, I have never experienced such a woeful level of service before, this guy made Manuel from Fawlty Towers look like a Michelin star waiter! I must admit when the food was ceremoniously dumped on our table, it tasted ok......that is until my wife found a dead fly in her Pad Thai. I didn't even bother complaining, it would have been a waste of time and got me even more annoyed. The icing on the cake was when the bill arrived, the price for the beer was incorrect by 50bt. The waiter looked disappointed when I pointed that error out and I'm sure he had planned to pocket this little bonus. Coincidentally, the people on the next table also had a higher bill than expected. I cannot stress enough how poorly run this place is, if you are in the lovely resort of Kata there are lots of other nice places to eat, do not waste your precious time with these jokers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
487 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Avoid it!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were called in from the street. Most restaurants do the same fare so we thought why not? Turned out we had the worst meal of our trip. We bought a snapper but we were both pretty sure it was not the same as the one they weighed for us at the street.

It was tasteless and far from fresh, the Tom Yam was terrible too: no chili's and the wrong vegetables and spices. None of the staf spoke Thai, toilets were dirty, avoid it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A plenty of much better places nearby”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The food was more or less okeyish, however the service was just appalling. The staff is trained to attain customers from the street, but not to serve (It took them 5 minutes to bring us the bill - that's after the 2nd request I'd made) The place looked a bit dirty with very noisy background.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constantine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing