We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a bargain price”

The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class
Ranked #15 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Kitchen Restaurant, Kata Beach is a great place to grab a bite to eat, while enjoying our one of a kind open kitchen atmosphere. We offer great service and even better food. You can order traditional Thai food, or go with a cheeseburger if you like. Come check us out, a good dinner, we in the kitchen restaurant has a wide selection of the one that suits both before, during and after dinner! We also offer free pickup in the Kata-Karon area, So give us a call if your in the area and we will come pick you up! A warm welcome to the kitchen restaurant!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food at a bargain price”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Having read other good reviews on TA decided to try the Kitchen Kata during our recent visit to Kata Beach. We were picked up on time at our Resort (Avista Phuket Resort & Spa) and delivered to the front of the restaurant which was clean and well presented compared to others we had seen during the day. Ordered some drinks, starters and mains. Ordered some traditional Thai dishes Pad Thai which were beautifully prepared and had great flavour with a bit of spice/bite but not too much! When we finished our meal we were offered complementary transport back to our hotel. Whilst at the restaurant also found out they operate a tour desk and transport business which was great as we were able to organise a driver to take us from Kata to Ao Nang (Krabi) at an excellent price (considerably less than our hotel and others had quoted). The tour/transport business is called "Phuketbesttours" which is operated by Chai - he is great and speaks good English!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    226
    69
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good portion size and great taste”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We had 'Western' food for a change during our trip and the Kitchen exceeded our expectations. We have tried other cheese burgers and pastas else where but didn't come close to this. Then to top it off, the service was excellent as well with the waiters being very intuitive and was there just before we needed them. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE2travel20052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food and atmosphere in Phuket!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely my favorite place of the entire 2 weeks in Phuket! They drove us home afterwards (Give them a Call if you're staying in kata or Karon and they can pick you up/drop you off with their free shuttle). Went to a few very fancy and expensive restaurants in Patong a few nights in a row. Wish we discovered this place earlier! The whole fish was my
Favorite meal. So reasonable for such quality food and service. Can not fault this place!

Helpful?
Thank Romy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst service in phuket”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

After reading trip advisor reviews we decided to go to The kitchen for dinner one night. Pick up was great, the place looked great and we were excited to try the food. Place our order, which was aspring rolls for starters then a pad thai dish and sweet n sore pork plus bowl of rice.
After some time we were wondering where our order was when we was a table that had arrived and ordered after us start receiving their food.
Asked the waitress how long order would be, next min we had our sring rolls put in front of us, one word......cold
a bit disappointing but they tasted nice
now for the mains......
They bought over the pork dish and thats where it ended, we waited a while, but no one came 2 check on us nor did the rice turn up that went with the sweet and sour pork or the pad thai.
so we ate the pork, we were hungry, then after time we just give up waiting, time to move on......asked for the bill, oh the pad thai turned up then, sorry to late by then, also on the bill they charged us for rice, which never arrived, so they did get the orders right to start with, just bad service.
would i go again, NO.
We have eaten all kinds of food while we were in thailand and experienced wonderful service, but this was not one of those times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great price, good food.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Enjoyed a dinner with 3 others in June. It is low season so it was quiet. The food was tasty- we had Massaman beef, a prawn stirfry, red duck curry and chicken chilli basil. No frills place, with fast and efficient service. Quite cheap for food and drinks (beer @ 80 B & a glass of wine @120 B)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing