We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service , Great Food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class

The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class
Ranked #15 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Kitchen Restaurant, Kata Beach is a great place to grab a bite to eat, while enjoying our one of a kind open kitchen atmosphere. We offer great service and even better food. You can order traditional Thai food, or go with a cheeseburger if you like. Come check us out, a good dinner, we in the kitchen restaurant has a wide selection of the one that suits both before, during and after dinner! We also offer free pickup in the Kata-Karon area, So give us a call if your in the area and we will come pick you up! A warm welcome to the kitchen restaurant!
Kata Beach, Thailand
1 review
“Great Service , Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a party of 11 (3 generations of one family) and there was not one person unhappy with their food. We ordered a variety of dishes , the prices were reasonable and the food was very fresh and authentic. The staff were friendly and after dinner the restaurant delivered us back to our hotel free of charge. It really is a hidden diamond. We will definitely be returning before we depart , a positive experience for all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marineboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    219
    67
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service, pick up and drop off from hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staying at the Mom Tri's Royal Villas up the road. Called the restaurant and had a pick up arranged within five minutes. Also driven back to our hotel in the restaurant's van. Food was very nice. In particular we enjoyed the chicken satay, Pad Thai, and beef filet. The green curry was just ok. Atmosphere and service were both very nice. We'll return for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcyemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing... Got food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had seen the solid reviews on trip advisor so we were excited to try this restaurant for dinner to get some authentic thai food off the resort. We appreciated the pick-up/drop-off and the overall friendly service, but the food was horrible. We ordered several dishes (pad thai, green curry, tom yum soup, pineapple fried rice, stir fried morning glory, and beef stir fry) and they all ranged from average to poor. The beef was really tough and didn't taste fresh, the tom yum soup was really "tomato-y" and oily, and the fried rice tasted old. We were very disappointed and honestly we've had better thai food within a 5 minute walk of our condo back in Toronto. 3 of the 4 people in our party ended up with food poisoning that night, the fourth person being smart enough to avoid eating much of the food when she saw it presented at our table. Unfortunately, we had to cancel our day trip to Phi Phi the next day :( :( :(
We're really confused why this place has such high ratings and how more people don't end up sick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingBearMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somkid, Owner at The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello
We very sorry and apologize in your case. I trying to understand. our foods very good sale in this time. We buy everything today sale all in same day. However thank you for every customer to visit her here.
My name Chai i garantee my product and foods all new and fresh. Over food one day in fresh. i cook for all staff.
However i will never want a gain for our lovely customer.
Chai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved their food, very tasty & prices are reasonable :) they also provide pick ups & drop off when you eat at their restau! Also, the owner is veryyyyy nice & friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlenars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cheap but NOT excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I have read the reviews and cannot understand why this restaurant is rated so high.
We shared a tempura prawn dish starter - small prawns with lots of deep fry - very ordinary and definitely NOT tempura style.
Then a pad thai seafood - dark noodles, with very little seafood and poorly presented, followed by Thai beef salad which for me was dominated by chilli. Perhaps we selected badly.
I am wondering if previous reviews are genuine or whether others are confusing CHEAP with GOOD?
The staff were very friendly and we were driven back to our hotel.







Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank geebob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somkid, Owner at The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi
Thank you for come visit my restaurant. I am sorry to make you with not enjoying with our foods.
chai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen Restaurant Kata Beach & Thai Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing